We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful find - quite by chance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kineo View Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kineo View Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A wonderful find – quite by chance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had been recommended a B&B in Greenville by the Tourist Information Centre, but when we arrived there was no one there. We returned a couple of times, but still no one around. We tried a couple of other places, but everywhere was full, so we headed out of Greenville back to the TI Centre. It had closed. Just beyond it, heading out of Greenville was a sign for the Kineo View Motor Lodge. We turned in, and headed along the long, unmade road, and eventually came across the most beautifully positioned lodge with fabulous views of Moosehead Lake and Mount Kineo. My parents took the Overlook Suite, which was gorgeous – a huge private balcony, fully equipped kitchen, working fireplace, sofa, dinning table and chairs. We could have stayed in the small bedroom in the suite, but it was tiny and the bed a bit rickety, so we opted for a double room next door which was large and comfortable, also with wonderful views. We spent two nights in the end, and ate in, making use of the fully fitted kitchen in the suite. The owner, George, was most helpful and friendly. A complimentary breakfast was served in a downstairs room, but we opted to have our own breakfast in the suite. All in all, a fabulous place, views to die for, and one of the most beautiful and peaceful places to stay. Also fantastic for stargazing being far enough out of town to avoid light pollution. HIghly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are great having the same stunning views, but if you can stretch your budget to the Overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    40
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
65
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, Maine
Level Contributor
189 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed on the first floor of this motel, and that was a mistake. The soundproofing/construction of the place allowed us to hear every sound from the room above. It was very distracting, especially when the couple in the room had a bout of romance on their very squeaky bed. If you stay here get an upstairs room. The staff is very friendly, and the view is great! Amenities are average.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our group had 4 rooms here for a week as we day-hiked local trails. It was nearly ideal for our needs.

The owners were often around, and very friendly. Rooms were nice, with all of them having views (including views of Mt Kineo in the distance, which gives the place its name).

Of course, it is not a fancy operation. For instance, the breakfast was a bit basic compared to some the costlier chains. On the other hand, breakfast did include home-baked goods likeblueberry muffins and zucchini bread.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We came to Maine to see some Moose. We are travelling from California and have 2 dogs. This motel was great. The view was awesome. There was a huge lawn area to exercise the dogs. The room was spotless with a microwave, fridge and Keurig coffee maker. The TV and WiFi worked fine. We had a private balcony. The breakfast was adequate with OJ, cereal, bagels/English muffins and in a nicely decorated room. The homemade blueberry muffins were so delicious. Normally, I wouldn't eat something so sweet for breakfast. The property is up on a hill away from all the other motels but only a few minutes from the center of town. I could find nothing significant to fault.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed two nights over Columbus Day weekend. I was grateful to have found a place with vacancy that weekend, and the rates weren't unreasonable although there was a two-night minimum. It was adequate as a motor lodge ... A little worn, but clean enough. My major complaint is the thinness of the walls - could easily hear normal conversation from next door, normal TV volumes, etc. Room below us had a dog that barked intermittently throughout the night so that didn't help either. The view is awesome and the place is located five easy minutes from Greenville, so if that's your destination this place will do. Just don't arrive with resort expectations.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTraveler1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

What an unexpected treasure. This is a small motel/motor lodge on a hill outside Greenville. The views from each room are spectacular. Each room has a private balcony which overlooks Moosehad Lake, Greenville and mountains. It is very small with only a few rooms. Our room was clean. It was very quiet. Very nice and helpful hosts at check in and departure. Room had a small frig and a microwave. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanfrank2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
186 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our first time here proved to be a nice experience--even has a K-Cup coffeemaker in each room! The place was very nice and clean and the view from the room cannot be beat--especially those on the second floor. Even had WI FI--in Greenville Maine!! We awakened to a low fog hanging over the valley and then watched as the sunlight moved across the fall foliage.

Room Tip: Upstairs have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
5.2 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
16.1 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.9 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Sterling Inn
The Sterling Inn
#1 of 1 in Caratunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
22.5 mi away
Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kineo View Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kineo View Motor Lodge

Property: Kineo View Motor Lodge
Address: 50 Overlook Drive, P.O. Box 514, Route 15, Greenville, ME 04441
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have their own private deck, air conditioner and thermostat. Every room is equipped with refrigerator, microwave, WiFi, flat screen tv, coffee maker, iron & ironing board, and private bathroom. Daily housekeeping service is included in room rate. Free continental breakfast is available Memorial weekend through Columbus Day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kineo View Motor Lodge Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing