We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place, Beautiful guests, Beautiful stay!”
Review of Birch Point Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birch Point Cabins
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, Beautiful guests, Beautiful stay!”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My husband and I stayed there in the K1 cabin for 2 weeks this september and we just loved it! The place is quiet, the lake is just outside and the cabin is cozy, sparkling clean and plesantly decorated. Pete and Elizabeth Labrecque are the perfect hosts, friendly, helpful, discrete and full of useful tips. We are definitely looking forward to go back!
Small flaws: There is no wardrobe in the K1 cabin
and, as other people suggested, it would not be a bad idea to cover the bbq area so to allow people to eat outside also during rany days.
And if you are planning a bbq ask Pete where to buy the meat! (Graves restaurant: Delicious!)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Miciola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed in the larger K2 cabin during the fly-in weekend. The cabin was incredible; perfectly decorated, very comfortable and inviting. The lakefront location was terrific with great views. Guests have their own outside seating area with picnic table, fire pit and gas grill. The wonderful owners, Pete and Elizabeth, live in the house next door and are the perfect hosts. They were always available for suggestions and directions, and even some great conversation. It was a very memorable stay; can't wait to go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bax_Delmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east coast
Level Contributor
375 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We recently spent 4 nights at the Birch Point Cabins, Cabin K1. The cabin was very cozy and beautiful woodwork etc. The location was great, for me--right on the lake but close enough to town. My friend, was hoping for something a little more remote but was happy with the cabin. The bunkbeads were comfy even though I'm not used to sleeping in one so I bumped my head a couple times. The loft was nice although I did not attempt the stairs to get up there more than once (and I only went halfway up). My friend stayed up there.

Pete and Ellizabeth were very helpful; recommending places to eat and go. We saw a bull moose based on his recommendation of going on the back roads in Kojodo.

Unfortunately during our stay we never once got a sunny day so the lake was not as beautiful as it could have been. It was always gray, and cold looking. Although we did put our feet in and it felt comfortable. And the clouds made for some interesting pics and scenes. Also it got a bit cold so we could not really sleep with the windows open so did not get to hear many loons. We did hear a loon when we were canoeing in lake near Kojodo on moose safari with Northwoods Outiffiters (Bill the guide was fantastic). We also saw 5 moose on that trip and bill got us up close. On our last morning before leaving we did walk down to the lake to say goodbye and a loon called out a couple times. Was like it was bidding us goodbye.

A couple recommendations for the cabin - to provide a bit more access to view the lake on rainy cool days...put on a small 3 season room or at least a covered area so we could sit outside and not get wet. Also a bit larger TV would be cool. Since it was rainy we resorted more to tv than we would have and it was very difficult to see the screen from the couch. But all in all a very nice place. If I get back, I will probably opt for K2.

Room Tip: Try to get K2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodfancierEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Wow Moosehead Lake. What a wonderful vacation destination it was for my family. The activities included what seemed like unlimited hiking possibilities, riding in a seaplane, sailing on the Katahdin, shopping and just carrying on conversations with the locals who take such pride in their area. There was so much more we didn’t get a chance to do. But what added to make our vacation so memorable was our hosts at Birch Point Cabins, Elizabeth and Pete. Their accommodations were beyond our expectations. The K-1 cabin was so meticulously clean, beautifully decorated (Elizabeth did all the sewing, what a job!) and equipped with anything you might need. We utilized the kitchen and brand new barbecue grill to be economical and there was never a time I wished I had this or that to help prepare a meal. It was well thought out. In fact, every aspect of this cabin was well thought out. It felt like we were staying with family. The cabin location was great only a mile into Town. The views are tremendous. At dusk we would stroll down to lake and light a fire in the fire pit and watch the sun go down. Heaven.
Words do not do this location justice you have to see it for yourself.
One more thing, if Pete recommends the best place to get pizza or an ice cream cone don’t doubt him. He knows!

Room Tip: K-1 cabin was well suited for our family of three, although it easily sleep and fit the needs of fiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knowltonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Staying here was one of the best decisions I've ever made. The LaBrecques have made a restful wonderland by the shores of Moosehead Lake.
My husband and I were travelling to Maine to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary- In the middle of our trip we wanted to find a lake where we could relax for a day, maybe even have our own cottage, before heading off for more sightseeing. We arranged the reservation with Elizabeth based on the pictures we saw. We arrived late in the evening, and couldn't have been more surprised. I think many people expect a little cottage to have some cobwebs, some dust in the corners of the cabinets etc. This house is absolutely sparkingly clean and feels like it was built brand-new just before we arrived. Not even a spider! The decor is modern and fun, my favorite touch is the vintage framed Maine Fishing poster in the bathroom. The beds are very comfortable, the pillows are not lumpy and even the dishes are cute!
The lake is just outside the cottage, and is huge and deep blue with gorgeous healthy trees all around and happy little ducks by the dock. You can watch the steamboat Katahdin puff by when they run cruises, and watch seaplanes land and take off. We sat in the adirondack chairs by the shore wrapped up in blankets against the unseasonably chilly, but very sunny, weather. Heaven!
Greenville is just down the road, and was so much fun for poking around the stores and buying some Maine blueberry ice cream. Our favorite store downtown was Kamp Kamp, they had arrowheads, toys and Native American style jewelry in the front, and then really interesting lodge-style antiques in the large back room. Another fun activity are seaplane trips which are frequent on Moosehead Lake- you can go to other lakes, see the moose or just fly around as I understand it. We'll do that on our next trip. If you don't feel like cooking in the (beautiful, modern) kitchen, there are many fun places to eat in town. I'd especially recommend Auntie M's, we ate there every morning for breakfast. It was delicious, inexpensive, and early in the morning you see a lot of plaid flannel. :)
The LaBrecques were fantastic guides for us, directing us to the best moose-spotting sites and to delicious restaurants off the beaten path. With their help we saw total 4 female moose and one bull moose.
I really cannot recommend the Birch Point Cabins enough. There is so much to do, the folks in the village are so friendly, and the owners are new friends. Don't pass this up.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachelareva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
igoldffrank
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2010

took me a year to write this review! went on a valentines day snowmobile trip weekend, and what a weekend it was! everything possible could go wrong (bearing on trailer blew, i got extremely sick, windchill stayed at -20 the entire weekend), but is stil soooooo memorable. Pete and Elizabeth were friendly and welcome-able, cabin was very clean and comfortable, no complaints and a great time to be had. no other place we will stay except here for our next vacation at moosehead!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igoldfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2008

We stayed in the smaller K-1 cabin as the larger cabin was booked, but Elizabeth kindly showed us the interior before the people arrived and it is fantastic. K-1 cabin is also great and so wonderfully equipped and decorated. We were so cozy with the efficient gas firestove and made use of the magazines, books, and puzzles. The location couldn't be more relaxing with big chairs, a fire ring, and even marshmallow sticks down by the lake. The fall foliage was gorgeous and Peter and Elizabeth gave us great info on where to watch for moose. We were lucky enough to find an entire family of moose both days there in different locations. Also great recommendations on where to dine out if you don't want to fix your own meals in the wonderful cabin kitchen. Slight downsides in the small cabin are that there is no bed large enough for a couple unless you want to sleep on the livingroom futon (although I did have fun climbing up to sleep in the loft twin bed); small shower that has a very limited hot water supply; and bath towels (extra charge) that were very old and scratchy. We still felt that Birch Point Cabins are a great find and we look forward to spending a week in the future in the larger cabin.

  • Liked — well equipped, scenery
  • Disliked — old scratchy bath towels
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Birch Point Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Point Cabins

Property: Birch Point Cabins
Address: Greenville, ME
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Greenville
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Birch Point Cabins Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing