We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memories created”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Ranked #3 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
aurora, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Memories created”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed at the Inn on the front and back side of hiking part of the AT with two of my boys, ages 9 and 16. Arrived at the greenville airport and were picked up by Terry, one of the Inn Keepers. Could not have been nicer. Stayed in Cottage 2 with a great view of the bay and landscape beyond. The food (breakfast) outstanding. Jeff and Terry were kind enough to share their almond french toast recipe as my youngest considered it the best meal ever. Immaculate and well maintained main house. Hiked for three days and returned for a night and again were treated exceptionally well. Another great breakfast after which Jeff drove us to the local airport. The boys loved the Inn as did I. VERY close and an easy walk to town. Worth the extra $$ over other local Inns. Will be back. Can't say enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgilmore8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    24
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
83
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, PA
Level Contributor
297 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed in cottage 2 - kids loved it, I liked it, husband not so much. I thought the cottage was adorable and I appreciated the thoughtful touches. It was a bit buggy but I think that is Maine in August, not overwhelming. The location was nice - easy walk to town. Breakfast was OK - not great. Inn Keepers were helpful had a package delivered during our stay. Cottage was a good choice for family with kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brice2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in Cottage 5 up on the hill. It was peaceful and relaxing, just what we were wanted. The room was immaculate and very tastefully decorated. The bed was super comfortable and cozy. And if you want quiet - this is the place!!!
Breakfast was included and had to be about the best breakfasts I have ever eaten. There was a spinach and potato four cheese quiche the first day and wonderful blueberry pancakes the second day. The cinnamon rolls were wonderful as was the apple bread and raspberry white chocolate scones. There was also fresh fruit, dry cereal.

Greenville is a wonderful area, just to relax and forget all your cares and worries. Small quaint little downtown beautiful Moosehead Lake and surrounding mountains. I would go back in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dracut, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just got back from spending 2 nights at the Greenville Inn. Wished we had stayed longer. The Inn is just beautiful. Our room was just amazing. Terry and Jeff made you feel so welcome and couldn't do enough for you. The dinner was outstanding. Jeff does an amazing job preparing breakfast and doesn't look to bad in an apron. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We just returned from a long weekend at the Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake and it was absolutely magnificent!!! Greenville is a quaint little town with many summer and winter activities to offer in such a beautiful area and this wonderful Inn just puts the icing on the cake. The Greenville Inn has a great location as it is set up upon a hill with a small view of the lake but still close (walking distance) to the town shops, lake activities and restaurants and it is a place where you can do as much (kayaking, hiking, moose safaris, etc) or as little (just meander thru the shops, sit on the porch with a book or enjoy the comfort of the Inn) as you chose. The Innkeepers, Jeff and Terry, are incredible, we can not say enough about how friendly, helpful and accommodating they were from the moment we walked thru the door until our weekend came to an end. Jeff is very knowledgable about the Inn and the area in general and he was always more than willing to take the time to provide information, suggestions or directions. Jeff was so kind and helpful!!!

The Inn is very clean and is beautifully restored and each and every room is exquisitely decorated. We stayed in room 25 which was a perfect size and was very clean and very comfortable with a king bed, gas fireplace, tv and an air conditioner and which is located a bit separate from the other Inn rooms allowing for quiet and privacy.

We enjoyed dinner on the evening of our arrival and it was delicious (the short ribs could have been a bit more tender but the flavor was wonderful), the wine selection was quite nice and the service very kind and efficient. The portions were not huge but they proved to be more than enough to fill us up, The dessert tart (we ordered rhubarb tart but got apple tart which was not a problem) may have been better if it had been warmed to go with the vanilla ice cream but it was still pretty good with the ice cream. Breakfast (which is included) was amazing and far more than a continental breakfast. The breakfast changes daily and also includes homemade breads, pastries and scones (the raspberry white chocolate scones were sooo delicious). We had breakfast on the porch the weather was perfect and it was so peaceful.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I recently spent three days at the Greenville Inn and were impressed with not only the character of the Inn itself, but also with Jeff and Terry, their staff and Chef Bear! The Inn takes you back in time of the lumber baron's yet provides you with the wonderful hospitality, friendliness and charm of it's present owners. Great room, five star meals in the middle of the great north woods overlooking Moosehead Lake. We went on a moose safari with a local guide and were lucky to have had a very close encounter with three beautiful moose! The fresh mountain air presented us with a clean pine aroma, we canoed beautiful hidden ponds, hiked deep into the woods and witnessed nature in full glory! Then back to the Inn for fabulous dinner of short ribs and fresh Maine lobster...treat yourself to a great experience at the Greenville Inn.

Room Tip: Let Jeff and Terry know exactly what you want and they will work hard to meet your needs. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Me and my fiance stayed two nights at the greenville inn for a friend's wedding. And it was just wonderful and beautiful. The couple that owns it is so nice and accommodating. The building is breathtaking and the room was stunning. Not to mention the incredible (free) breakfast that was served every morning made from local fresh foods. Considered a continental breakfast was more of a buffet that kept us full through the day. My only con about this place is that there was no air conditioning. During the morning getting ready or day it was almost unbearable to be in the room. However sleeping was fine once that cool Maine breeze came blowing through the windows. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bshorne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville I, Owner at Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words about our inn. We rarely get weather that you experienced (90F), but for those very few days, we DO HAVE AC in 10 of our 14 accommodations and our main dining room. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the inn and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
2.3 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
17.7 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#3 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
18.8 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
23.9 mi away
Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort
17.8 mi away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake

Property: Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Address: 40 Norris Street, At Moosehead Lake, Greenville, ME 04441
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moosehead Lake's most historic inn, just one block from downtown Greenville & Moosehead Lake, this 1890 restored lumber baron's mansion offers luxury & family suites, king/queen guestrooms & private cottages. The inn features upscale amenities and breath-taking views. Choose from accommodations offering a two person whirlpool tub, marble shower, spa robes, flat screen TVs, A/C and free WIFI. Your stay includes a scrumptious breakfast at your private table in our two dining rooms or wrap-around verandah...all while taking in magnificent views. Perched on a hill overlooking the town of Greenville, a one block stroll has you dockside at the historic steamship Katahdin and at the shops of downtown Greenville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenville Inn At Moosehead Lake Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing