We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcomed back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Ranked #2 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
483 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Welcomed back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We booked the Bear Room for a second time, to enjoy the private deck - unfortunately the weather wasn't good enough to sit out for long, and the seat cushions were sodden from the rain! However, we received a warm welcome back and a half bottle of fizz as a thank you for our 4th stay - a nice touch. The room was lovely, with plenty of space and storage. Our three breakfasts were German apple pancake, broccoli cheddar & bacon fritatta and blueberry pancakes: all excellent. And we saw 19 moose in the area!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    27
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
169
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We only stayed two days but we will definitely go again. My husband and I were very comfortable in our room. The inn was clean and charming not to mention the views of the lake were spectacular. We took a Moose safari and we were very pleased with the guide Linda booked for us - and yes we saw Moose! I think we will go back in the fall next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Lodge and had a lovely experience! When we arrived, we were greeted by the owner Linda, who welcomed us in and immediately showed us around the Lodge. We got to our room (we stayed in the Trout room) and there was light classical music playing and the lamps were on giving the room a nice, friendly glow. Linda was also helpful in giving us advice for where to eat dinner that night since the Lodge wasn't open for dinner. They also provide lots of information on local trails, waterfalls, etc. The Lodge really puts effort into the details! Breakfast was wonderful! And if you are there when the Lodge is serving dinner, you are in for a treat (Lobster Mac & Cheese...yum)! My husband and I enjoyed going down to Chloe's Pub at night to play pool or shoot darts. Both Linda and Dennis were very hospitable! My only complaint is that I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcr6fd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

accommodation was superb for the 2 nites that we had the mt kineo suite, every nite the turn down service was very nice and handed out chocolates.breakfast was delicious and the chocolate chip cookies in the panty area made our kids wanting more..lol the view of the lake was magnificent from our private deck. room was clean and so was the bathroom facilities. it was a long ride to get there but it was worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We had a nice visit. Very clean, quiet, decor was interesting, breskfast was well prepared, and in general the owner tries real hard to please the guests. I wanted to take the little dog home with us. Saw some deer in the yard. No moose as this was not a moose area.

I want to point out some things to consider. The beds were very comfortable but they are QWEEN size beds. My mistake.This is stated on the web site etc. The beds are just to small to get a good nights sleep. We are average sized people( whatever that is) and we had to sleep touching each other all night. Hint--They have a few rooms with king size beds.

The following happens in resort towns. It leaves a bad taste.

Another guest had a private moose canoe trip just like us. Same lake. Same time. Same area. etc. We met them out on the lake with our guides.We paid $150 for the trip. Direct booking They paid $225 for the same trip booked thru the Moosehead Lodge. ??????? We were told about this when we were planning the greenville trip. We stayed at another B&B/lodge during this visit to Greeneville and they booked a last minute moose trip for us and the price was as advertized on the interNet.

I felt that the price of the Baxter room was to expensive for the value received.

In general it was a nice B&B but not as rated in past years.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bostonjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lbortis, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
We always appreciate what guests have to say. We listen to every guest and weigh it against other input to continually improve what we believe to be a great, luxurious North woods experience.

We are converting more of our beds from queen to king. This year the Loon was upgraded, more conversions are scheduled for this fall. Please note our website descriptions to be sure you get what you are looking for.

While most moose look alike, not all guided trips are created equal. The Lodge was the first to offer private guided trips in the area. We continue to use only specially selected guides for all of our outdoor adventures. The Lodge provides a first class experience and concierge service in addition to the trip. We take care of ALL the details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Our first visit to the area, we found this interesting and very comfortable lodge. We arrived around 10pm for our two night stay. Two things struck us on arrival: the quietness of the area, and, looking up, the amazing night sky with stars lighting up the entire sky. Also greeted by the resident dog, Chloe, a really friendly little girl who adds to an already relaxing setup. We stayed in the Totem Room, which entirely lived up to expectations and has a great view of the lake and mountains - it's exactly as the photos suggest. Very nicely sized room and a bathroom that is above the norm in terms of fixtures and appearance. Everything in the building is in great shape and very well maintained. It's not like a hotel - everything is personalized but you still have all the privacy you want. Nice touches include the nightly notes addressed to us by name, left in our room, showing the weather forecast for the next day, both in Greenville and our home town - produced on high quality paper, like a wedding invitation. After our canoe trip to see moose (we saw five), Linda, an owner, presented us with a photo of us in the canoe, with a moose in the background. Breakfast was really excellent both mornings, in terms of the well prepared and healthy food, the personal attention from Linda, and the setting. You look out over the lake and the mountains as you have breakfast in a large room that could pass for a top-notch restaurant anywhere. And you listen to great, soothing classical music in the background. If you're lucky, you'll have a quick visit from Chloe. Linda and Dennis, the owners, are ever-present, working very hard to ensure that every detail is attended to, including organizing our personal guide and canoe trip to see moose, nearby. It's rare to get the kind of genuine personal attention you'll get here, and it's also rare to be able to stay in a setting like this, where, from your bed you can look out and see an amazing, uninterrupted view of a pristine lake, and mountains - relatively untouched (maybe two or three houses are in view well in the distance, several miles away). No airplanes fly around here, other than local seaplanes that you may see if you venture into town. We never saw or heard any from the lodge. No man-made noise here and very little traffic. Just the sounds of birds chattering and the breeze blowing in the distance. We stayed a little too early in the season to experience evening dining at the lodge, but our experience at breakfast suggests it would be something special. After just two nights here, it was difficult to leave, but we hope to return, perhaps for the Fall foliage, which, given the terrain, would probably be spectacular if viewed from one of those seaplanes that take off from the lake nearby. And it would be nice to see Chloe again!

Room Tip: Best to be at the back of the building, facing the enormous garden area and lake. At front of build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeAndGrainne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lbortis, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
You certainly noticed all our details, some of which we use to provide what we consider to be "unexpected delights." Like you, we have traveled a lot and try to provide our guests what we enjoyed most. Our Moose Safari trips provide the best guides in the area and we never have a disappointed guest. They are hand selected. The guide you had has worked with the Lodge for almost 20 years. We do hope you will visit us again. Thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sound Beach, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My friend and I loved the tasteful furnishings throughout the lodge. The guest rooms are beautiful, and the view fr the dining and sitting rooms as well as from our room, The MooseRoom, was splendid.we awoke to see a pink full moon setting behind the hills on the far side of the lake.
Our inn keeper was gracious, informative, and successful as the cook for our delicious breakfast that we enjoyed lingering over as we enjoyed the view of the frozen lake amd listened to classical music Piped into the dining room.
All in all, this is a wonderful place for a tranquil stay surrounded by beauty everywhere you look.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisacricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
2.3 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
16.0 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#3 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
20.9 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
16.1 mi away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Moosehead Lake

Property: Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Address: 368 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Moosehead Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy breathtaking lake and mountain views at our romantic Greenville, Maine inn. Relax in masterfully decorated rooms and suites at our Moosehead Lake lodging with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, private decks, and luxurious linens and robes. Sit back in our pub with full bar and games, or enjoy our complimentary snacks, DVD library and Wi-Fi. Don't miss out on unforgettable breakfasts and sumptuous weekend dinners at this Moosehead Lake adventure lodge. Activities galore - many exclusive to the Lodge at Moosehead, a Select Registry Property. AAA 4 Diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Lodge at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Hotel Greenville
Moosehead Lake Hotel
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing