We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View perfect, host not so much” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge at Moosehead Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Ranked #2 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Springvale, Maine
1 review
“View perfect, host not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Me and my new husband stayed there for a few nights on our honeymoon. The rooms were amazing, with incredible views. However, the hosts were very hard to find! I couldn't find either one of them when i needed them. When i did find them they acted like I was a bother to them. I expect that when i spent that much money almost $400 a night on a room that i would be treated a little nicer. That's alot of money for us especially when my new husband has been out of work for three months. The maid was nicer to us than any of the hosts! The portions at breakfast were tiny, and even though they had some pastries and bagels those options were sparse as well. We opted to go to a local restaraunt for breakfast the next morning and were very satisfied. Im sorry but i was not happy at all, except for the views!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    27
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
169
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

There is only one thing to say - PERFECT!

The host were the best. Linda gave us recommendations for dinner. The breakfast was a very good large hearty breakfast and a bonus of excellent pastries. We stayed in the Moose Room for 1 night and the host were able to accommodate us for a second night in the Katahdin Suite and both were absolutely amazing. The views were spectacular! Very relaxing and inviting Lodge. Dennis lit a fire for us in the firepit and we ate S'mores under the moonlight. It was PERFECT, could not have asked for anything better!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DTMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 30th Anniversary at the Lodge. Our experience was much more than expected. We were in the Loon room WOW what a view and having a private deck was awesome. The room was very clean and the room was kept very clean while we were there for 3 days. The extras of chocolates at turn down was fun. The massage was perfect. We did the Moose Safari and Mark was fantastic very knowledgeable and it rained so he gave us a education on trees and history of the area it was relaxing and interesting. Yes we saw Moose! The Katahdin Cruise is a must the lake is so beautiful and the history is awesome to learn. The restaurants in town are casual but the food was amazing. Its the country not New York! Dennis and Linda were fabulous as were the staff. The breakfasts were awesome the variety on the self serve bar was great and always a fresh pastry. Breakfast it self was delicious! The view would make up for any thing you don't like and if your not happy with that then maybe a different vacation is what you want. PS Chloe the pup is a Hoot! she has attitude! PSS the night time treats in the pantry were Devine! (who doesn't like warm chocolate chip cookies!)

Room Tip: The Loon room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Pond, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Katahdin Suite. It was a great room with a wonderful view of Moosehead Lake. The Lodge is very comfortable and Linda and Dennis were very welcoming. Our only disappointment was that the restaurant was not open during the week; however, Linda made reservations for us at a very nice location in Greenville.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLH00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent a week at the Lodge at Moosehead Lake in mid-August. All three generations of our family had a fabulous time. We stayed in the Moose and Bear Rooms, both of which had spectacular views (the Bear Room with a private deck including a sitting area). Linda, one of the owners, was an incredible host. She arranged our activities including a moose safari, guided hikes, and a sunset cruise. It could not have been more fun or easier thanks to her careful and thoughtful planning and knowledge of the area. We look forward to returning, which is the highest compliment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Trout Room. Although the least expensive room, it was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The lodge is so picturesque and just what you'd expect from a Maine lodge. The breakfasts were impeccable and the staff friendly. Linda, one of the owners, was very kind and helpful. We went on the Katahdin cruise and were provided with a lovely tote full of goodies for the trip. It was very special. Our only complaints were minor, the drain in the tub would not stay open and we had to do a temp fix on it so it would drain. Also, the chain inside the toilet broke off, but my husband also fixed that. It got cold on our second day but the fireplace in the room did not work. We figured they just hadn't turned on the gas yet, we didn't complain about it. We thoroughly enoyed our stay and would love to return. Their dog Chloe is a cutie as well. They also provide a great DVD library and pantry of goodies for your enjoyment. We've stayed at many B&Bs and this was a keeper!

Room Tip: We chose the cheapest but would highly recommend those rooms with views if you can afford it. The wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBurton423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The room, the view, the lounges and the food were all first rate. We took comfort from the small size of the menu as it told us that the meals would be freshly sourced and prepared. If you're looking for up-market tranquility in a stylish and characterful place, give yourself a treat and book this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
2.3 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
16.0 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#3 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
20.9 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
16.1 mi away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
22.0 mi away
Inn by the River
Inn by the River
#1 of 1 in The Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Moosehead Lake

Property: Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Address: 368 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Moosehead Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy breathtaking lake and mountain views at our romantic Greenville, Maine inn. Relax in masterfully decorated rooms and suites at our Moosehead Lake lodging with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, private decks, and luxurious linens and robes. Sit back in our pub with full bar and games, or enjoy our complimentary snacks, DVD library and Wi-Fi. Don't miss out on unforgettable breakfasts and sumptuous weekend dinners at this Moosehead Lake adventure lodge. Activities galore - many exclusive to the Lodge at Moosehead, a Select Registry Property. AAA 4 Diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lodge at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Hotel Greenville
Moosehead Lake Hotel
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing