We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect retreat in the Moosehead Lake region”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Ranked #2 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2008

Looking for a beautiful Lodge? You can't beat the hospitality and accomodations at the Lodge at Moosehead Lake. A perfect place to stay. Wonderful Inn Keepers....delicious food....great drinks....a really cute dog to sit on your lap....and a great central location to see the surrounding country side. We loved it!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marsha_Born_To_Talk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Lodge at Moosehead Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2008

My goal was simple - I wanted to find a nice property in the Moosehead Lake area so that my fiance could get his wish - he had always wanted to see a moose. The Lodge looked lovely in pictures, and the reviews were good, so I booked it with high hopes but moderate expectations - I am quite spoiled, as my guy tends to book us into exceptional properties and fabulous trips (think Palace Hotel, Four Seasons, Seabourn cruises, Backroads Adventures). Can't tell you how pleased I was when we drove through the charming town of Greenville and arrived in the driveway of the Lodge, beautifully landscaped with a decorative Moose in the frontyard and lots of flowers. We were met at the door by Linda (the lodge owner) and Chloe the French Bulldog - they had us at "hello". Linda and Dennis are warm and wonderful hosts, chock full of recommendations on things to do in the area and places to stop for a drink or light bite (don't miss the Stress Free Moose) and great hikes. The lodge is decorated perfectly - overdecorated in true B&B fashion, but think forest rather than floral, Eddie Bauer rather than Laura Ashley. Lots of moose, bear and fishing motifs. The setting is breathtaking, with a huge lot leading down to the lake, and windows everywhere so you can see it wherever you are. The lodge itself has everything you could ask ... computer and printer available to all (with wireless available throughout), books, videos, pantry with cookies and popcorn and hot tea. Our favorite part of the main house was downstairs in Chloe's Pub - a beautifully decorated game room (complete with pool table) and bar where Dennis pours generously while his guests interact, watch television, relax in front of floor to ceiling windows overlooking the lake. We enjoyed watching our Phillies play (even in Red Sox territory), and were cheered on by other guests during a particularly intense game of Jenga. Our room was lovely, the Baxter Suite, with every amenity you could ask for.. Huge, comfortable sitting area with fireplace, beautiful patio, electric blankets on the bed, plush towels and bathrobes! Chocolate truffles on the bed and candles lit in our room during turndown, beautiful deep jacuzzi tub and separate shower. We did not take advantage of breakfast (we were up and out very early every morning) but were impressed to find that the innkeeper had supplied a "to go" breakfast in our in-room fridge for us and our guide when we left at 6 am for a "moose safari" ... and the dinner we had in the pub rivaled any meal we could order in new york or philadephia's finest (and was far superior to the meal we had across the street at Blair Mill Inn - we were sorry we didn't eat at the Lodge again that night). The whole experience was warm, charming, and we'd recommend it highly to anybody - and YES, we did see moose! We hope to visit the lodge again (they tried to convince us to have our wedding there), and I have to tell you that we made special friends with Chloe - I am working on knitting her a sweater to keep her warm on frigid Maine evenings.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank terriandzach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We've stayed at this property at least three times and the most recent stay will probably be our last. Why? Based on this visit, the price is exorbitant for the value received. We love inns and b&bs and are pretty forgiving when everything isn't up to par but not at this price. The decor needs refreshing and the fall landscaping was basically nonexistent. The inn is clean, breakfasts adequate and yes, the lake view is fantastic. However, this isn't a place that comes close to competing with many other 4 - 5 star properties in the Northeast. Enjoy the lake, enjoy the region and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 3AngelsDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lbortis, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2010

We appreciate comments from guests that allow us to view the Lodge through their eyes. Our guests are indeed blessed with one of the most incredible views in the Moosehead Lake Region. However, Mother Nature also challenges us with a short growing season. By the time you arrived, we had had two frosts. We expend a great deal of effort during the spring and early summer on our flower gardens and seven acre “back lawn” which are at their peak in July and August. We continue to add new plantings that, as they mature, will ensure a colorful landscape during the later weeks of our short growing season when early frosts are common and most of the flowers must be cut back. Upon taking ownership of the Lodge in Spring 2007, we concentrated on outdoor walkways, parking areas, stairways, patios and decks. More recently, we have focused on window treatments, upholstered furnishings and fabrics and we continue to do so. We invite you and prospective guests to view the new pictures being added to our website, soon. We are disappointed that you felt your last experience was not on a par with prior visits. However, we hope you will decide to visit again and enjoy the many changes made each year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We spent four nights at the Lodge, and very nearly tried to extend our stay. We booked the Moose room, as I love Moose, and it was gorgeous. All the fixtures and fittings were superb quality, the room was huge, the bathroom also big (with a lovely deep bath), and lots of Moose stuff on the walls! We had fantastic views over the lawns to the lake beyond, and saw a deer on the lawn on our first night.

The rest of the Lodge is finished to the same high quality. The Pantry, where we could make hot drinks and grab snacks was brilliant, and the feel is very much like staying in someone's (posh) home.

Breakfast is a bit hit and miss, as there is only one entree each day (lobster quiche?), but the food is well presented and cooked. We ate in the "Pub" downstairs for two nights of our stay: again the food is excellent, and service very good.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

We stayed at the Lodge during Memorial Day weekend and it was wonderful. We arrived not knowing what to expect since it was pretty early in the season. We had been warned that not a lot of things were open since it was the first "real weekend" of the season. We were in for a treat.

We stayed in the Allagash Suite and were immediately impressed by the decor, the amenities and the details. Linda checked us in and gave us a tour and explanation of the room. The bed hung on giant logging chains so we had the option to "swing" or not. The bathroom was huge and luxurious and I could live in the jacuzzi tub. But then we looked out our window and saw the view. Absolutely breathtaking. We even had a hummingbird or two to keep us company. Everything was done with Moosehead Lake and surrounding mountains as the focal point. We could wake up to that view everyday and never get tired of it.

The main house was warm and inviting and totally keeping with the theme of the area - Moose! That was the reason we came and we weren't disappointed. We took a Moose Safari (booked through the Lodge) and had a very fun, exciting and successful adventure, seeing many moose, some very close and some not so, a great big beaver dam, and lodge, birds and lots of beautiful nature. Our gude Ed and his wife were terrific, knowing exactly where to find moose and telling wonderful stories. It was totally worth waking up at 5 am to see all the moose and the yearling moose.

We only had one warm breakfast (the first was a satisfying box meal given to us for the Safari) and it was terrific. The food, the atmosphere and Chloe - the lodge French Bulldog, made for a terrific start to our day. There were always cookies and drinks in the pantry and sweet chocolate treats in the different rooms in the main house. One of the nicest things is no sooner then had we returned from our Safari, but our picture was on the digital photo frame in the library. It made us feel welcome and at home.

The only negatives we found were that since it was so very early in the season, not everything was open in town and the restaurant and pub at the lodge were not open. We had read terrific things about the restaurant and were disappointed, but we also avoided the crowds and got a real feel for the people of the town. We ate at the Black Frog when the barge opened for the first day of the season and that was fun. Make sure to eat there and read the entire menu, it is great. We even had the treat of sharing the "Skinny Dip" sandwich experience with some of the townspeople and it made for a funny memory. Even though the town was not 100% open for tourist, there were no crowds, plenty of moose and wonderful hospitality wherever we went. I also recommend a relaxing drink and sandwich at the Stress-free Moose in town. Its a great way to start your Moosehead Lake experience.

Our intention was to get to Moosehead Lake and see some of its most famous locals, the moose and stay at a lovely bed and breakfast. What we didn't expect was to be embraced by such luxury, warmth and kindness, up in the woods of Maine. I can't stop recommending the Lodge at Moosehead Lake to anyone who will listen. It is romance, elegance and natural beauty tucked away in the woods. For anyone who loves nature, outdoor activities, tranquility, romantic sunsets, candlelit jacuzzis for 2, oh and don't forget the MOOSE, the Lodge at Moosehead Lake is for you. We can't wait to get back up to Greenville and see Linda, Dennis and Chloe again!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MooseLover08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

This was the 2nd stop on a Maine trip in May 2008, and the high point of our vacation. The setting is simply gorgeous: views of the lake which go on forever, and as much outdoor activity as one could stand. Our moose safari (booked directly with the outfitter, not through the Lodge) was excellent, and productive.

We stayed in the Moose room, which was charming and spacious, and I believe we were the only guests in the main Lodge during our 3 nights (so I can't attest to the quiet when other people are nearby.) We did hear breakfast being prepared downstairs, and as this room also overlooks the deck, in summer it would guarantee to be very loud, one would expect.

The restaurant, to our disappointment, wasn't open, and neither was the pub for a couple of our evenings. The night it was open it was jammed, and getting service was difficult - not what one might expect in an empty hotel. We nibbled, and fled back upstairs quickly. What food we sampled was excellent, as was breakfast (included) each morning.

Chloe, the lodge French Bulldog, was a sweetie, and added a great deal of charm to the surroundings. The owners were busy with their activities and left us alone, which suited us fine. Others might find that less accommodating. We were very early in their season. They are definitely set up for active people, with a selection of hiking poles, and meals for hungry, tired guests (when meals were available.)

In general, the Lodge is quite expensive, but perfectly situated for a gorgeous view and a pleasant stay. If this sort of thing is within your budget, it is worth experiencing.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank derring_do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2008

My husband and I enjoyed a three day weekend here at the Lodge at Moosehead Lake in February. "February?" you say...what an odd time! To the contrary! If you enjoy the beautiful, clean crisp air of Maine, playing in the snow (snowshoeing, X-country skiing, snowmobiling, etc.) and up scale inn comfort than the Lodge at Moosehead Lake is a great place to be in February. If you enjoy sitting in front of a fire, looking out over the snowy winterscape of the Lake followed by a night's sleep in a superbly comfortable bed...you would indeed enjoy this surprising little luxury inn. Back to the bed...without a doubt this is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I know this sounds ridiculous but the combination of soft pillow top(s) and the super soft linens made for the best sleeping (maybe the hours of playing in the snow helped too!). Our room was decorated in north woods Maine style (think: birch wood accents, pine trees, etc.); fun and not too much. Bathroom came with all the expected toiletries and then some...including multiple candles around the two person tub (!!).

The hosts are very accomodating without being overbearing. We dined two evenings in the pub downstairs (main restaurant is not open for dinner in the winter) and our meals were very good. The lobster pasta the first night was superb. Breakfast was perfect...cold buffet with amazingly fresh fruit and fresh baked pastries followed by a hot entree of the chef's choice.

And as dog people we were particularly taken with Chloe, who excelled at customer relations.

We look forward to returning in warmer weather to enjoy a glass of wine on the back deck as the sun sets on the Lake. Did I mention how wonderful the bed was???

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaseysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
2.3 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
2.8 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
73 reviews
16.0 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
17 reviews
25.0 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
67 reviews
20.9 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Moosehead Lake

Address: 368 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range: £261 - £595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Moosehead Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy breathtaking lake and mountain views at our romantic Greenville, Maine inn. Relax in masterfully decorated rooms and suites at our Moosehead Lake lodging with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, private decks, and luxurious linens and robes. Sit back in our pub with full bar and games, or enjoy our complimentary snacks, DVD library and Wi-Fi. Don't miss out on unforgettable breakfasts and sumptuous weekend dinners at this Moosehead Lake adventure lodge. Activities galore - many exclusive to the Lodge at Moosehead, a Select Registry Property. AAA 4 Diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lodge at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Hotel Greenville
Moosehead Lake Hotel
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing