We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Words”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Ranked #2 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely the most beautiful place we have ever stayed. The moment you arrive you feel at home. The views are breathtaking and ones we will cherish. You never feel like a stranger. Linda arranged a Moose Safari with Mark and wow. What a great guide and person. That afternoon Linda arranged for our massages with Linda, who I have to say have the best massage ever. The room was exquisite. Fresh Blueberry Pancakes for breakfast and Dennis's homemade hot fruit filled pastries were scrumptious. Absolutely recommend. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lodge. Our room was beautiful and very large. The room was clean, the owners were friendly, and the other guests were kind as well. We signed up for a couples massage that ended up being two hour-long back to back massages because there was only one massage therapist available. This was not what we expected but the massages by Lisa were excellent. We would stay here again but wish that it was not quite as expensive! Overall, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Lodge! We loved the beautifully appointed accommodations, the view every morning and evening, and the delightful breakfasts each morning. We really appreciated Linda's help in setting up our excursions with the Moose Safari, Fishing, and Whitewater rafting! The Sunday night campfire meal was also very special! Linda and Dennis (and Chloe) made us feel welcomed and cared for each day!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our stay started brilliantly when we were upgraded to the Baxter Suite, which was perfect because it gave us access to a deck to sit out on. The room was big, with a separate sitting area with a fabulous swing seat, fireplace and chairs,and french doors out to the deck. The bedroom had a huge and comfy bed, with a wardrobe. The bathroom/kitchenette behind had a fridge, coffee m/c, huge spa tub and a separate shower.
Housekeeping were very good - they did our room whilst we were at breakfast on the first day.
WiFi was patchy but free.
We had dinner on the terrace one night, with great views: the tomato bisque was excellent and salmon cakes / beef fillet were both very good, followed by strawberry pie and coffee.
Breakfasts were also very enjoyable, served on the terrace.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lbortis, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Welcome back. It's so nice to see you every summer and it was our pleasure to be able to provide an upgrade to such loyal guests. Six of our nine rooms have private decks and the suites are of course the largest with great outdoor space to enjoy the view and the sunsets.

WIFI is difficult in the North woods of Maine. It is good in the main Lodge but becomes weaker in the suites. It also depends on your equipment. If this is a priority, we always recommend you come to the main building. We depend on Fairpoint communications for our WIFI and have a booster tower as well.

When weather permits we enjoy providing dining on the lodge deck - always with a great view.
Hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had never been to Maine before so we decided to do a "taste of Maine" which included Bar Harbor, Camden, Moosehead Lake, and Portland. We picked Moosehead Lake because I saw the website for the Lodge. The website represents the Lodge very well. This stop and Camden was where we pampered ourselves. The rooms cost a bit more than I typically spend but I thoroughly enjoyed the Lodge. We stayed in the Loon room. The room was bigger than I had expected from seeing the pictures on the website. The balcony looked over the lake. It was so beautiful. Linda (co-owner with her husband Dennis) was watering plants when we arrived. She was so welcoming and inviting. We felt at home right away. She also bakes amazing chocolate chip cookies. Dennis also cooks. We got to try his delicious blueberry muffins, scones and Belgian apple pancakes.

We took the Moose Safari because one of my goals for the trip was to see a moose. Mark was our guide and he was very informative. It had rained heavily the night before. We were unsuccessful in seeing any while we were out but we went back out on our own later to do some hiking and we saw one (a cow). My Maine vacation was complete.

We really enjoyed Moosehead Lake and the Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I were vacationing for the week in Maine and Quebec. We were traveling with our motorcycle (in a trailer) and going to areas that looked of interest to us, or to areas that offered better weather forecasts. We ended up choosing this location, as the weather was predicted to be great; and it was. Unfortunately there are not great roads in the area for motorcycles, otherwise we would have definitely spent 2 nights. The Lodge was top notch! Linda has an amazing B&B that we felt honored to have been able to enjoy. We stayed in the Loon Room. It is very clear that she truly cares about her guests from all that is provided in the room for your comfort. To mention only a few things-the luxurious king bed, the mini fridge area offering coffee, the balcony with the very comfortable patio furniture, the amazing view of the lake (especially at sunset), the bathroom with a great custom vanity. We would definitely recommend this location for your stay if you are looking for a high end B&B that offers superior views and an extremely quiet setting; although we did feel it was a little on the pricey side.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Moosehead Lodge was chosen because of in part the view but also because of the information on the website. We decided to treat ourselves as the price was a little more than we would normally look to spend on such a vacation. The website was inviting and indicated that you would be staying in luxurious surroundings overlooking the spectacular Moosehead Lake.

Despite some of the other Trip Advisors reviews Linda our host was welcoming, friendly and informative and spoke with pride of what she is trying to achieve at The Lodge. The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped and there are some lovely touches included such as the evening information sheet detailing the weather for the next day on vacation and at home as well as a nice and turndown service.

We stayed in the Bear Room and whilst comfortable the bathroom was tired and needs bringing up to date with the rest of the bedroom. The outside space was a big let down with a very small balcony viewable on three sides providing no privacy and a uncomfortable bench as furniture and a small parasol but that could be due to the space available. Compared to our travel partners in the Loon Room we certainly got the poor end in balcony space and privacy.

We arrived after a drive from Bar Harbor so on the first day of our stay we decided to take advantage of the dining option on offer, in the main this turned out to be a very good decision sat on the balcony overlooking Moosehead Lake in the evening sun watching it set was an memorable experience. Given the shortage of places on offer nearby to eat this is something I think The Lodge could make more of if it wishes to be taken seriously as a boutique style lodge.

However there were negatives associated with the meal, first the meal was booked for 7pm however it was 8.20pm before our main course was served and as one of our group didn't partake in an appetiser this delay was too long.

It was not as if the place was busy.

Secondly one of our group is vegetarian and we had pre arranged with Linda a vegetarian option to be served. This was described by her as something special the chef had prepared but turned out to be anything but, it was basically the vegetables from a meat based main. In all honesty the vegetarian option appeared to have caused more of a problem to the chef than it should. The vegetables themselves were nice but certainly could not be considered special. In order to assist in the meal preparation we were asked to give two days notice of the menu choices which we did by email however when we arrived the choice of dessert was no longer available although the alternative was very good.

Breakfasts are more than adequate with a reasonable selection on offer and a different daily cooked course.

The Lodge hire overseas students to assist in the serving and room maintenance and I must say that both were very pleasant and attentive.


Would I say that The Lodge was value for money - No
Would I return if I'm the area - Probably Not
What was the best part of the stay - it has to be the view, but it is a lot to pay for.

If The Lodge is to be taken seriously in achieving its Luxurious Boutique status then it needs to up its game, I have stayed in better Bed and Breakfasts and have paid no where near this amount.

Verdict disappointed overall

Room Tip: Poor outside space in Bear Room opt for Loon if any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank David-and-Theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lbortis, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review. The view is, indeed, an important part of any visit to The Lodge at Moosehead Lake. As you noticed while here, the location of The Lodge offers a unique vantage point on nature’s wonders simply not available from any other location that is open to the public and accessible by paved road. But the view is only one factor in the total experience. The Lodge is not simply a boutique hotel or bed and breakfast. We take pride in offering guests private, individualized opportunities to “interact with” rather than simply “view” the Maine north woods, its beauty and its abundant wildlife. A visit to The Lodge, for most of our guests, entails much more than a superior quality room, incredible views and thoughtfully prepared “up north” cuisine. We are an “adventure lodge” and the total experience is what spurs many guests to return to The Lodge after their initial visit.

While your meal experience was “on the main a very good decision” and proved to be a ”memorable experience”, the delivery of the food was late and the vegetarian dish disappointing. We agree. A large party of guests (an extended family helping its ninety year old patriarch revisit boyhood memories of fishing trips at Moosehead Lake) was also dining with us on that evening. The gentleman caught a pair of salmon on his afternoon’s outing and the family made a last minute request for the chef to prepare his catch as a special treat in addition to their previously ordered meals. When it became apparent that preparation of your meals would be delayed, the hostess explained the situation to your table. The planned, especially prepared vegetarian dish also fell victim to the delay. We did not meet the expectations of all of our guests nor did we meet our expectations.

You considered the deck off of the Bear Room to be small. Again, we agree. Enlargement of the deck to the standard of the Loon Room deck that your travel companions enjoyed was scheduled for this spring. When the north woods winter persisted well into the month of May (the month that our “guest season” begins), those construction plans had to be rescheduled to this fall or next “spring” as mother nature will dictate. As return guests recognize and appreciate, the process of physical improvements to The Lodge facilities never ceases.

Should you change your mind and revisit the Moosehead Lake area, we invite you to at least stop in and view the changes that your comments have helped to spur forward. Thank you and safe traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
2.3 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
2.8 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
77 reviews
16 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#1 of 5 in Rockwood
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
18 reviews
25 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
70 reviews
22 mi away
Inn by the River
Inn by the River
#1 of 1 in The Forks
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Moosehead Lake

Address: 368 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range: £244 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Moosehead Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy breathtaking lake and mountain views at our romantic Greenville, Maine inn. Relax in masterfully decorated rooms and suites at our Moosehead Lake lodging with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, private decks, and luxurious linens and robes. Sit back in our pub with full bar and games, or enjoy our complimentary snacks, DVD library and Wi-Fi. Don't miss out on unforgettable breakfasts and sumptuous weekend dinners at this Moosehead Lake adventure lodge. Activities galore - many exclusive to the Lodge at Moosehead, a Select Registry Property. AAA 4 Diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Lodge at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Hotel Greenville
Moosehead Lake Hotel
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing