We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improved over the past few years”

Joyce's in Hallowell
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Hallowell
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Indoor and Outdoor Seating on two levels overlooking the Kennebec River in Historic Downtown Hallowell. Casual Dining with a full menu and Daily Specials. Full Bar. Function Rooms Available.
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Improved over the past few years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our first experiences at Joyce's were just okay, the food being average. However, the menu keeps improving and we return because of that AND because it is one of the few Hallowell restaurants with a quiet, relaxing atmosphere. Summertime bonus: the deck overlooking the river is great!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bdwyer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food in comfortable setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Had dinner at the bar. The restaurant has several small booths and a long bar. There is an upstairs for functions i think. I had the shrimp app. that was excellent, came with 3 sauses. The wine menu is ok, kinda limited. The scollop stuffed haddock was good, but not great. It came in a cassarole with sauce which was a little too much, not bad just good.

I would reccomend

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SALEM_JOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Afternoon brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Stopped for a couple of beers and a snack. The items we ordered off the appetizer menu were great! They should have more Maine beer offerings, my wife wanted Shipyard Pumpkinhead and they didn't have it, and from what I have seen that beer is the hottest beer this fall.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joey j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food and great ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a pleasant place for lunch or to meet friends after work! In the warmer weather their riverside patio and deck are great for kicking back. The food is good and reasonable. I've eaten there several times and have never been disappointed in the food, or the service. I look forward to many more visits!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthasville, Missouri
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unwind with a drink on the patio overlooking the Kennebec River.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stopped here to take advantage of the open air seating while relaxing with a drink. The White Russians were yummy. Others in our party opted for the Mexican Marguerita, served with a side of Patron splashed ice cubes. We ordered the Brie fondue to share and it all added up to a perfect cocktail hour (maybe two!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joyce's in Hallowell also viewed

 

Been to Joyce's in Hallowell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing