We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Augusta Inn(Augusta)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
316
35
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
35
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssolar panelsmaple hill farmb bthe barnhot tub and saunafull baraugusta mainebreakfast was deliciousblueberry pancakesbusiness travelwedding weekendfront porchfrench toastbaked goodsthought of everythingour room was spaciouscommon areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Our friends had their wedding reception at the Maple Hill Farm, and encouraged members of the wedding party to stay at Maple Hill Farm. There were some great points about the property and a few problems. Here was my experience

Staff: The owners were very pleasant at check in and while showing us the property and explaining amenities. There were several difficulties, as I explained in the "Problems" section.

Property: Beautiful Inn, with Llama farm and wild turkey flock on the property. Several rooms had in-room whirlpool. Additionally, the outdoors hot tub was well-maintained and comfortably seated 6 adults.

Amenities: On-site breakfast room with snacks and coffee available 24/7. Only local channels available on the TV, no cable. In-room DVD player with free movie rental at the front desk. Gas fireplace in our room. Library/Reading room with lots of books available to borrow.

Problems: Ourselves and two other couples stayed in 3 ajoining rooms. Each room had a unique bug problem (ladybugs, grasshoppers and flies). When we were shown our room, the proprietor did not seem to notice the multiple lady bugs and flies circling the main lighting fixture inside the bedroom. That made me curious about the cleaning staff, but it had been a long day of and we decided to get some rest and hope that housekeeping would eliminate the bugs when they checked in on the room. I do not believe that housekeeping attended to our rooms because at 2pm the next day, and after after eliminating 5 insects myself, I brought my concerns (very politely) to the attention of the proprietor. He said that he would fix the problem. Six hours later, when I dropped a few wedding related items in the room, the bugs were still circling our light. I understand that it was a busy day on the property, however, when I asked again about when the situation would be resolved, he responded rather shortly "at some time before midnight." To his credit, the bugs were removed from our room before 11:00pm, however I did not appreciate being made to feel like my concern was such an inconvenience.

Also, the wedding reception ended at 10pm. Our wedding party had rented out the entire hotel, and there were no other guests in the inn. We asked if several members of the wedding party could stay and socialize in one of the hotel rooms after the reception ended, because the Inn was booked and they were staying at another hotel 15+ minutes away. The staff quickly told us that unregistered guests could not stay at the Inn after the reception, even if a registered guest invited them to visit their suite after the reception. When another member of the wedding party asked why, we were told that this was not in the contract. While I understand these concerns, most hotels and inns permit registered guests to bring unregistered guests into their rooms during their stay, so long as the unregistered guest does not stay overnight. Our group made it very clear that no one would be staying overnight, that we were basically going to talk, eat more wedding cake and socialize (not out-of-control partying by any means), but this was not permitted and was an unexpected disappointment.

Price: we paid $371 (tax included) for a 2-night, Friday-Saturday stay. For that amount of money, I'd appreciate an insect-free stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lavalamp316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott C, Owner at Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive and thoughtful review of your stay, and we take all feedback very seriously.

We’re sorry that it appeared that your television appeared to only receive local channels. We do have a full-range of cable television channels in each guest room and we were not aware of this problem during your stay. We have checked each guest room and they all receive a full spectrum of channels. We encourage guests to come to us with problems like this at any time so that we can attempt to fix it right away.

Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in their cleaning, and we are sorry to hear that you had some insects in your room. There is a week or so each year when the weather changes in the fall, and ladybugs (and the occasional fly) sometimes enter the original 1906 farmhouse, and they sneak by our attentive staff. We do not use insecticides in the guest rooms because we have many guests with chemical sensitivities, and we instead prefer to follow very thorough housekeeping practices. We have never seen a grasshopper in a guest room, but since all the guest rooms in the area of the house where you stayed have doors directly to the outside decks and stairways to the outdoor hot tub, it is possible one hopped inside when these doors were opened. We did go to the room to vacuum up any bugs that we were made aware of, and our housekeepers also remove any bugs they may find in the room during their daily cleaning. If we made you feel inconvenienced, we sincerely apologize and we will remind our staff that every concern of each guest is very important, even during a busy wedding reception.

We regret that you were disappointed that wedding guests could not go to the guest rooms after the six-hour wedding reception concluded at 10 pm. We do have a policy that is clearly stated in the contract for each wedding that only registered guests are allowed at the inn upon the conclusion of the wedding reception. This policy does not apply earlier in the day, and there are often visitors to the guest rooms throughout the day when there is a wedding reception at the Inn, but we carefully discuss with each wedding couple that only guests may stay at the inn upon the conclusion of the wedding reception. While we didn’t always have this policy, we have unfortunately had several bad experiences, including one non-guest injury at the inn after some post-reception partying in the guest rooms. The intimate 8-bedroom bed and breakfast lodging at our property is historic, and many of the antique furnishings and finishes do not lend themselves to group partying in the guest rooms. We provide areas for festive group gatherings, such as where the wedding reception was held, and we try to maintain our guestrooms as comfortable and relaxing spaces for our inn guests.

Thank you again for bringing your concerns to our attention, and we hope you’ll bring any concerns to us during any future stay so that we can address them to your satisfaction at that time. We regret that your stay did not provide you total satisfaction, and we will do what is necessary to make your next stay totally trouble-free, insect-free, and enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Scott Cowger, Owner-Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Some colleagues and I stayed here after a conference. Great facility for conferences, warm and inviting with great food and personality. Conference facilities can be very sterile and this truly green place was anything but. The rooms were immaculate, staff was friendly and helpful and the hosts cordial and unobtrusive. Would love to come back here to stay and explore the area a bit more. Highly recommend, and that is not coming lightly as we sometimes guest inn-sit for our friends B&B. It's got almost everything you need and would make a great place to get away from it all or as a base for exploring the area.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank bagoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We have had our company appreciation banquets at this facility for the past two years and I cannot say enough good things about the venue, the staff, the food and the overall experience. Both Scott and Vince are just great hosts and they make you feel right at home. No request is out of the question. From the warm greeting, to the individual care taken to show us our rooms, to the snacks in the frig and on and on and on. I would highly recommend this B&B for a meeting/conference or for just a weekend stay! Thanks again for making our events such a pleasure!

Linda

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice. It just depends on your physical needs. They even have a room for handicapped inviduals with a smaller bed for a caretaker. :)
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights here while touring the Belgrade Lakes area, and recommend it highly. Hosts Scott and Vince are welcoming and informative. Our spacious room was simply and comfortably furnished with none of the dried flower frou-frou that bedevils most B&Bs. The full made-to-order breakfast was excellent. And the surrounding scenery was beautiful and restful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rekacs2556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We only stayed here one night, but it was the perfect place to start our vacation. Scott & Vince are the perfect hosts and made us feel right at home. Our room was wonderful- spacious, clean, a fabulous view and lots of privacy. We loved relaxing and reading in the common living area and on the front porch. Dinner recommendations for restaurants in town were helpful.Breakfast was hearty and delicious. We highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor overlooking the front of the property.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews