We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty up on a hill in the countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallowell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Maple Hill Farm Inn is a gem outside the small town of Hallowell and city of Augusta. TA reviewers suggested this as a good alternative to places in Augusta and my wife and I are glad we landed here. Arrived around dinner time, for an overnight stay, from our couple of days riding bikes on Carriage Trails of Mount Desert Island (Bar Harbor area), Maine. It was previously a farm turned into a conference centre, where many organizations come for the day. The day we left was hosting pharmacists. Conference leaders might stay overnight. Saw other business people on their way somewhere, like us. There's still a barn on site with animals, including several hens, goats, and llamas. We went to visit them in the morning before we continued our trip to Montreal, where we were to stay one night, before heading back to Toronto. Breakfast was delicious. Two innkeepers are very friendly, and serve up farm fresh eggs, from their own hens. Pancakes and other things on the menu, which you get to pick from (included in price of the pom). Breakfast came really fast, which was great, because we wanted to make tracks. It's an environmentally-friendly establishment, sun-generated energy. Room was comfortable. Took a Queen bed (rather than King, which we prefer) because price was better and we were only staying one night. Ate a nice, tasty, dinner at Joyce's on main Hallowell strip. Nice patio out back overlooking the river. Across the street was Slates Rest, which also looked nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HipHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

It is hard to describe this lovely place. The stillness was the first thing that impressed us upon arrival. So serene. The rooms are small and clean. The bed a little squeaky. Vince cooked up a wonderful breakfast and Scott is a most charming host. We also were quite suprised by the effort to go green with solar, etc. The llamas and chickens...A must to stay when one is the Augusta, ME area.

Room Tip: You won't be sorry to have stayed in this lovely place
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Cutting our stay short in Bar Harbor due to Acadia being closed left us looking for a new place to stay. Lady Lucky smiled on us and we discovered Maple Hill Farm Inn. This charming Inn located atop a hill just outside of Hallowell filled our every need. The owners/hosts are knowledgeable and attentive. Our room was nicely appointed and spotless. Cooked to order breakfast was delicious. From the plush robes (needed after the 2 person in room Jacuzzi) to cushy bed. It is just fantastic. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I recently stayed for a retreat and the staff, food & accomodations were fabulous! Thanks so much to Scott & Vince for having such a great place to spend time at. The Lama's, horses, etc. are icing on the cake. By the way the deserts are wonderful as well!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with the large Jacuzzi!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thadvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Love, love, love the Maple Hill Farm Inn. Not only was this a great venue for the wedding I was recently in, but a wonderful spot to stay! Whether you're a couple enjoying some alone time or a family this is a great place to stay. I felt right at home. The owners do such a wonderful job making everyone comfortable. Breakfasts at the inn are amazing! I had french toast and blueberry pancakes. The farm fresh eggs were delicious too.

The farm aspect of this inn is what really made me happy. I love seeing the Lamas, goats, and chickens. In the morning we saw wild turkeys too. That was fun for my daughter!

I also liked the fact that there was a shared fridge for guests. I always have snacks and milk on hand for my toddler, so having the fridge available made it much easier for us.

The wedding venue was wonderful. The wedding was right outside the front lawn, so the animals were in the background which was really neat. The reception was in their main function room and it was great. Loved the lighting and set up!

I can truly say the Maple Hill Farm is an excellent place to say and great value as well!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our organization has schedule many meetings over the years at Maple Hill Farm Inn. From medium size to small staff retreats. It is a great location to hold meetings. The food is really good and the staff and owners take care of everything for you! Maple Hill is one of our favorites! Thank you Scott and Vince for providing great service and accommodating many area businesses and organizations like ours.

Laurie,
Maine Mathematics and Science Alliance

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

What can one say about a PERFECT place in a little Heaven on Earth. Our first experience at a B&B & in Maine. The room was perfect & the breakfast WONDERFUL. The llamas, whom I called The Girls, the chickens, the turkeys.....the nature walk.....AWESOME!!! Vince & Scott made it sooooo perfect for all. The wedding & reception were fantastic & so special!!!! I know exactly where we'll stay the next time were in Hallowell Maine. Thanx again for a most enjoyable time. XO Marty & Gary

Room Tip: Our room was #6....it was the perfect size for us. Next time I think I'd like the room off of th...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boyzmema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallowell
2.4 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
803 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
461 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
416 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center

Address: 11 Inn Road, Hallowell, ME 04347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Hallowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallowell
Price Range: £95 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our reviews say it all. Serving the Augusta Maine area, Maple Hill Farm is a small boutique hotel (an intimate country inn, if you'd like to call us that!) that perfectly combines true eco-consciousness, country serenity, relaxing comfort, and fine amenities. Surrounded by acres of rolling fields and woods, including an active bird feeder and a barn full of llamas and chickens, we were named "One of the Best 5 Green Hotels and Inns" in New England by Yankee magazine in 2017, and also Maine's first certified "Environmental Leader" green lodging establishment with a huge solar electric array plus solar hot water and its own wind turbine. Huge double whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and private decks accentuate some guest rooms. A sauna and outdoor hot tub beckon the guest to truly relax, along with full bar service, a full breakfast cooked to order, and personalized attention. EV charging stations, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing