We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Countryside Eco-Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maple Hill Farm Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallowell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Countryside Eco-Getaway”
Reviewed 19 July 2009

What a find!! I hardly know where to start. This inn is nestled away in the Maine countryside, and as you pull up the drive, you know you're somewhere special. You might pass a grazing cow, a frisky llama, a chicken in the barn window, and a few sheep and goats on your way to the parking area. All are "retired" from other farms, and are living out their golden years happily and comfortably. (Such a treat to see farm animals without worrying about how they are being treated!) From the parking area, you can see the huge array of solar panels and the windmill that, together, provide about half of the power used by this inn! What a great feeling to have a vacation that feels like a splurge, yet is also good for the planet.

This place combines the best parts of a B&B and a hotel, without the bad parts. Scott and Vince, the inn keeps, are friendly and helpful without being the least intrusive...nor do they make you feel that you are intruding on them. They are happy to serve you a quality wine, beer, or spirit from the bar (including many local selections!), and you can help yourself to a variety of yummy baked goods and tea or coffee throughout the day. The room we stayed in (#8), was so comfortable and clean, and none of the fussy, flowery decor you get with most b&bs! We had a giant jacuzzi tub with wonderful bath salts and aromatherapy oils. We felt so pampered! I woke up to the view of sheep grazing in the pasture. Then we popped into the dining room (which doubles as a gallery for local art) for a wonderful breakfast, with CHOICES from a menu (again, unlike most B&Bs). The eggs were fresh from the barn. Just lovely!

Scott and Vince can provide great dinner suggestions in the quaint, friendly town of Hallowell. Check out the back of the antique/junque store in the alley! Such a quirky delight! Lots of live music the night we were there, and friendly people on the streets!

The inn hosts conferences and is a great venue for groups, families, couples, or individuals. We wanted to LIVE there! Vegetarian friendly. GLBT friendly. Planet friendly. Just plain friendly. Leaves you with a good feeling.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indysoygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
164
22
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coastal Maine
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2009

My stay was brief, but it was the most wonderful, restful and relaxing night I have had in recent memory. The ecological mindfulness means all the luxury is guilt free and there is plenty of luxury. The room was charming, the bed beyond comfortable and the gas fireplace added that special extra touch. I regret not having the time to take advantage of all the Inn had to offer and hope to return soon for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2009

We have just returned from a great relaxing weekend at Maple Hill Farm B&B. We enjoyed the great home cooked breakfast each morning. It gave us a jump start to our adventure of snow shoeing along their property down to Jimmie Pond. We came back from snowshoeing and enjoyed a nice cocktail from the bar and relaxed in the living room by the fire playing a game with another guest at the Inn. We walked down to the barn and saw the farm animals including Llamas. The rooms where very nice, ours included a jacuzzi tub which was very relaxing. The accomodations are nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. They also do weddings and other functions that we have been to and they have been great. The Inn keepers are very personable and are right there if you need anything. We would recommend this place.

  • Liked — Relaxing Atmosphere
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rtedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

What a wonderful location, this was a superb place to stay. The owners were very friendly and accommodating and our room was very cosy, with a wonderful large tub. I think this was one of the best nights sleep we had on holiday. We also had a tour of the barn in the morning and got to meet the farm animals, which really added something special. Breakfast was a variety of choices and was delicious. I would definitely recommend this place for rest and relaxation and romance.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere, the hosts and the room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fleur123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

During a leaf-peeping tour of New England, my friends and I stayed at the Maple Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is a country farm that has expanded into a bed and breakfast and an event location. The rooms were big, with fluffy beds and hot tubs. Breakfast was made to order with choices from a menu. One of my friends, this was her first B&B experience and she got the full treatment! Recommend this place, in a quiet off-road spot, to anyone going to this area.

  • Liked — It is a real home, expanded for bed and breakfast use
  • Disliked — A little hard to find, but there are pretty good directions
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Lovely property, clean, tasteful, comfortable bed, warm, friendly and accommodating staff. Notable also for special committment to environmental responsibility: they have a windmill, photovoltaic panels, and solar hot water. Snacks and tea/coffee/beverages (including bar) available to guests and lovely living areas to sit, read, talk, etc. Gorgeous grounds with lovely trails. Not over the top with kitsch and no smelly "air fresheners" - not needed in this lovely place. And the water, which must be from a well or spring, is delicious!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank mnmcleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Beautiful, bucolic property, easily accessible to Hallowell. Our room (#5) was tastefully but not luxuriously furnished. The full-menu, cooked-to-order breakfast was superb. All in all, outstanding value.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike02852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallowell
2.4 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Hill Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hill Farm Inn

Property: Maple Hill Farm Inn
Address: 11 Inn Rd, Hallowell, ME 04347-3241
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Hallowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maple Hill Farm Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our reviews say it all. Serving the Augusta Maine area, Maple Hill Farm is a small boutique hotel that perfectly combines true eco-consciousness, country serenity, relaxing comfort, and fine amenities. Surrounded by acres of rolling fields and woods, including an active bird feeder and a barn full of llamas and chickens, this is Maine's first certified "Environmental Leader" green lodging establishment with a huge solar electric array plus solar hot water and its own wind turbine. Huge double whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and private decks accentuate some guest rooms. A sauna and outdoor hot tub beckon the guest to truly relax, along with full bar service, a full breakfast cooked to order, and personalized attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maple Hill Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing