We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The innkeeper makes this already excellent inn , a wonderful experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallowell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We enjoyed our trip to Augusta and especially enjoyed our stay here. The animals on the farm , the backwoods hike to the local pond , the great breakfast and a wonderful innkeeper Scott , who was witty and helpful and vigilant. I never have been to a bed and breakfast , as successful as this one appears to be , and had the owner work as hard as this man did. He checked us in , he gave us tips on dining and kayaking , he served us a few drinks one evening, and served us breakfast every morning...I wouldn`t be surprised if it was HE who cleaned the rooms.
We left him as he was replanting his garden and came back at night to find him working on the computer and doing paperwork. The industry of this man is amazing and he deserves every success this wonderful inn will bring him. I highly reccomend staying here.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank kasualkafe_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scowger, Owner at Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

This wonderful review is what makes our jobs as innkeepers enjoyable -- and that is wonderful guests. I cannot take all the credit for all the work around the inn, as co-owner Vince works just as diligently as does our dedicated staff, but we very much appreciate the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2009

What a find!! I hardly know where to start. This inn is nestled away in the Maine countryside, and as you pull up the drive, you know you're somewhere special. You might pass a grazing cow, a frisky llama, a chicken in the barn window, and a few sheep and goats on your way to the parking area. All are "retired" from other farms, and are living out their golden years happily and comfortably. (Such a treat to see farm animals without worrying about how they are being treated!) From the parking area, you can see the huge array of solar panels and the windmill that, together, provide about half of the power used by this inn! What a great feeling to have a vacation that feels like a splurge, yet is also good for the planet.

This place combines the best parts of a B&B and a hotel, without the bad parts. Scott and Vince, the inn keeps, are friendly and helpful without being the least intrusive...nor do they make you feel that you are intruding on them. They are happy to serve you a quality wine, beer, or spirit from the bar (including many local selections!), and you can help yourself to a variety of yummy baked goods and tea or coffee throughout the day. The room we stayed in (#8), was so comfortable and clean, and none of the fussy, flowery decor you get with most b&bs! We had a giant jacuzzi tub with wonderful bath salts and aromatherapy oils. We felt so pampered! I woke up to the view of sheep grazing in the pasture. Then we popped into the dining room (which doubles as a gallery for local art) for a wonderful breakfast, with CHOICES from a menu (again, unlike most B&Bs). The eggs were fresh from the barn. Just lovely!

Scott and Vince can provide great dinner suggestions in the quaint, friendly town of Hallowell. Check out the back of the antique/junque store in the alley! Such a quirky delight! Lots of live music the night we were there, and friendly people on the streets!

The inn hosts conferences and is a great venue for groups, families, couples, or individuals. We wanted to LIVE there! Vegetarian friendly. GLBT friendly. Planet friendly. Just plain friendly. Leaves you with a good feeling.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indysoygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

My stay was brief, but it was the most wonderful, restful and relaxing night I have had in recent memory. The ecological mindfulness means all the luxury is guilt free and there is plenty of luxury. The room was charming, the bed beyond comfortable and the gas fireplace added that special extra touch. I regret not having the time to take advantage of all the Inn had to offer and hope to return soon for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

We have just returned from a great relaxing weekend at Maple Hill Farm B&B. We enjoyed the great home cooked breakfast each morning. It gave us a jump start to our adventure of snow shoeing along their property down to Jimmie Pond. We came back from snowshoeing and enjoyed a nice cocktail from the bar and relaxed in the living room by the fire playing a game with another guest at the Inn. We walked down to the barn and saw the farm animals including Llamas. The rooms where very nice, ours included a jacuzzi tub which was very relaxing. The accomodations are nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. They also do weddings and other functions that we have been to and they have been great. The Inn keepers are very personable and are right there if you need anything. We would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rtedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

What a wonderful location, this was a superb place to stay. The owners were very friendly and accommodating and our room was very cosy, with a wonderful large tub. I think this was one of the best nights sleep we had on holiday. We also had a tour of the barn in the morning and got to meet the farm animals, which really added something special. Breakfast was a variety of choices and was delicious. I would definitely recommend this place for rest and relaxation and romance.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fleur123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

During a leaf-peeping tour of New England, my friends and I stayed at the Maple Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is a country farm that has expanded into a bed and breakfast and an event location. The rooms were big, with fluffy beds and hot tubs. Breakfast was made to order with choices from a menu. One of my friends, this was her first B&B experience and she got the full treatment! Recommend this place, in a quiet off-road spot, to anyone going to this area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Lovely property, clean, tasteful, comfortable bed, warm, friendly and accommodating staff. Notable also for special committment to environmental responsibility: they have a windmill, photovoltaic panels, and solar hot water. Snacks and tea/coffee/beverages (including bar) available to guests and lovely living areas to sit, read, talk, etc. Gorgeous grounds with lovely trails. Not over the top with kitsch and no smelly "air fresheners" - not needed in this lovely place. And the water, which must be from a well or spring, is delicious!

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank mnmcleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallowell
2.4 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
820 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
489 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
19.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center

Address: 11 Inn Rd, Hallowell, ME 04347-3241
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Hallowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallowell
Price Range: £83 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our reviews say it all. Serving the Augusta Maine area, Maple Hill Farm is a small boutique hotel (an intimate country inn, if you'd like to call us that!) that perfectly combines true eco-consciousness, country serenity, relaxing comfort, and fine amenities. Surrounded by acres of rolling fields and woods, including an active bird feeder and a barn full of llamas and chickens, we were named "One of the Best 5 Green Hotels and Inns" in New England by Yankee magazine in 2017, and also Maine's first certified "Environmental Leader" green lodging establishment with a huge solar electric array plus solar hot water and its own wind turbine. Huge double whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and private decks accentuate some guest rooms. A sauna and outdoor hot tub beckon the guest to truly relax, along with full bar service, a full breakfast cooked to order, and personalized attention. EV charging stations, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing