We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tonic for the Biz Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maple Hill Farm Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallowell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
East Greenwich, RI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Tonic for the Biz Traveler”
Reviewed 20 January 2007

I am a frequent business traveler to Augusta. Instead of the usual chain hotels, I started staying at Maple BB once a month for the past three months.

This past trip, it snowed and the wind howled. I was up in "room number one" looking down over the front porch to the small pasture and barn nestled below. In the rocking chair by my gas stove, with coffee in hand, after a true breakfast (just wonderfully cooked to order) I sat staring out the big windows. Fat squirrels and full bird-feeders. Chickens in the window of the red barn.

Answered email on free wireless (a little quirky sometimes) and made calls for about five hours. Long nap. Dinner downtown at LIberal Cup. (Also rates an "A" for service, food and friendliness.) Another work jag til 10 pm. Jacuzzi'd in built-for-two jet tub; slept in black silence.

Verizon cell phones don't work here for reasons unknown to all who are reasonable. (All the other cell companies seem to work just fine.) At the desk, 2-hour phone cards are available for eight bucks.

This place is a tonic for the winter weekday business traveler. Just don't crowd me out.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Palexan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
164
22
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2006

We loved this Inn. Tom made us feel very special- even putting name cards in our door! (to identify our room). The service was excellent, and the hospitality superb. The inn is quite charming, and very clean.
We definately plan to visit again.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — softer bed than I like
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thewaterqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2006

I was looking for an alternative to staying in a motel. Maple Hill Farm is a most pleasant departure from motels. The farm is country charm in action and provides excellent vistas. The rooms are not just cozy and inviting, but loaded with modern convenience, yet not losing their charm. Their are a living room, library, kitchen and a very relaxing porch complete with rocking chair and a loveseat swing. It was so nice sitting there in the morning with a great cup of coffee. Scott and Vince do everything possible to make your stay feel like being at home. I,my fiancee, and another couple were ready to move in and stay there. So the next time you decide to travel to this wonderful part of Maine, do yourself a favor and book a memorable stay at Maple Hill Farm.

  • Liked — Country charm of the room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Expect a great breakfast
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Owlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2006

If you are looking for a charming, quaint, out of the way location to relax and sit on a porch and rock your cares away, well look no further than the Maple Hill Farm Bed & Breakfast and Conference Center located in Hallowell, just outside of Augusta, Maine. You can park your car under the new Portege' while you enter the office area just inside the door and are greeted by Scott, one of the innkeeprs. You get to see some of the items sold right there on the farm, delicious locally made maple syrup, bath salts, oils, etc. all displayed in a glass case beneath a beautiful, polished slab of granite which used to be one of the stairs entering this post and beam structure. Scott and Vince the co-owners of this beautifully restored and period furnished inn have owned Maple Hill for about 14 years and have done a remarkable job of restoring and creating the lovely rooms in which to stay. Scott enthusiastically toured us around the main floor of the inn pointing out some of the restorative details they've done over the years. The dining room is adorned with paintings done by local artists all for sale. There is a guest kitchen area where one can help themselves to coffee, tea, hot chocolate and homemade chocolate chip cookies, and Maine blueberry mufffins 24/7! There is also an ice machine with buckets to bring to your room. We were delighted to find a homey touch of our first names written on little placards on the doors to our rooms. We met Maxine, the farm cat. She is very friendly and roams the entire downstairs area of the inn or outdoors, but does not go to the guest rooms. Scott was very helpful in giving advice on where to go eat dinner in town. There's a fat binder at your disposal which holds menus from many of the local eateries. We ate at the "Liberal Cup" and were filled on their comfort food repast - delicious! Vince is the chef and we were amazed to find such an array of cooked to order choices for breakfast. The coffee was freshly ground and delicious; pitchers of fresh orange juice, baskets of muffins, and a big bowl of fresh fruit salad awaited guests as they walked into the dining room. There were fresh from their own chicken eggs cooked to order with sides of sausage or bacon, Maine wild blueberry pancakes, with locally made maple syrup, toast made from on-site homemade wheat or white bread, and also a local oatmeal-type porridge, but made from a wheat-free grain called Spelt. My friend said it was delicious. Every room is tastefully decorated and unique unto itself with period furnishings, all rooms are air conditioned and have t.v.s and dvd's at your disposal in the room. Some rooms have jacuzzis and fireplaces (ours had both!) The entire inn and conference center are beautiful to look at and meticulously maintained. We will always return to Maple Hill Farm B&B whenever we are visiting Maine. It is centrally located and found with great signage right off I-95 from Augusta.

  • Liked — The room, the jacuzzi, the bed, the food.
  • Disliked — Not a thing
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank owllover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new haven, ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at Maple Hill Farm. I was married in the area and had my reception at their Gathering Place. Scott and Vince are the owners and they went out of their way to make it a great evening. I won’t go into the details of the reception, but the space was beautiful, the food was terrific, and the service was excellent. The wedding party occupied all the rooms of the inn. Each room is unique, quaint, and clean. I highly recommend the rooms with the double whirl pools. The breakfast was another highlight of our stay. The blueberry pancakes are fantastic. They also have baked goods available any time to take from the kitchen area. My fiancé and I were also drawn to Maple Hill because they have their own windmill to generate a portion of their power. All in all, I didn’t want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mcrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2006

If you're looking for a peaceful, warm, loving place to unwind and forget about the daily pressure, then don't miss this fantastic place. This Inn is situated on 135 acres of Maine farmland and has an excellent offering of rooms with all the ammenities a traveler would need. A great farmhouse with comfortable common areas and the owner and inn keeper are very friendly. The breakfeast is superb and the sunsets are to die for. A great opportunity to relax and enjoy yourself or your family and friends.

Helpful?
3 Thank bpaul19341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2006

I was so surprised I decided to stay at an inn verses the chain hotel. After working a tradeshow in Augusta, ME the hours were much longer than expected I finally got to the inn it was 6:45pm on Sunday evening. I called Scott the inn keeper to say I was going to be late, he said that was fine. When I got to the inn I was checked in, Scott got me a beer from the bar, and then sat down with me to help me figure out where to go to dinner.

He directed me to down town Hallowell and adorable New England town filled with a bunch of artsy shops and restaurants. I went to a great little brew pub and had a great dinner.

I had to get up very early in the morning 5:30am to get back to the show, I had told Scott that I would not be at breakfast which I had heard was awesome. When I noticed the check out slip a note told me they had packed me a to go breakfast and left it in the fridge. What a nice way to start the day a great fruit salad and muffins.

The inn was clean, comfortable, with all of the amenities you need when you travel. I tend to stay in a full service hotel, but this inn takes the extra time to make you feel comfortable and feel like you are at home.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joshmatteson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallowell
2.4 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Hill Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hill Farm Inn

Property: Maple Hill Farm Inn
Address: 11 Inn Rd, Hallowell, ME 04347-3241
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Hallowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maple Hill Farm Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our reviews say it all. Serving the Augusta Maine area, Maple Hill Farm is a small boutique hotel that perfectly combines true eco-consciousness, country serenity, relaxing comfort, and fine amenities. Surrounded by acres of rolling fields and woods, including an active bird feeder and a barn full of llamas and chickens, this is Maine's first certified "Environmental Leader" green lodging establishment with a huge solar electric array plus solar hot water and its own wind turbine. Huge double whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and private decks accentuate some guest rooms. A sauna and outdoor hot tub beckon the guest to truly relax, along with full bar service, a full breakfast cooked to order, and personalized attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maple Hill Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing