We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great buffet on fri and sat nights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucky Garden Restaurant

Lucky Garden Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 24 Restaurants in Hallowell
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minot, Maine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great buffet on fri and sat nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Some of the best Chinese food in the area! Go on buffet nights for the best, freshest, and most value.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sofemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best chinese buffet I've been to.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

It's not the largest, but it's certainly beats all others for freshness and taste. The dining room has great views of the river and the owners and staff people are very friendly. This is always my 1st choice for lunch in Hallowell.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, Maine
Level Contributor
183 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SERVICE & GOOD FOOD!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

This restaurant has excellent service, and their buffet is very good! The prices are very fair for being situated in the typically over-priced Hallowell, Maine. The restaurant was clean, children friendly, and had a great view.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, ME
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be, but still better than anything around here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I like most all of it. the buffett is good if your in a rush, the Moo Shoo is good for take out, (Ask for extra pancakes),

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Maine
1 review
“Greasy, Cold, Stale, Inauthentic”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

I share another reviewer's opinion that Lucky Garden has seen better days. I've had magnificent meals there in the past...not this time. I ordered just 3 appetizer items for take-out lunch 12/5/12; Vegetable spring rolls (2), crab rangoon, and hot & sour soup. The spring rolls were the smallest I've ever seen, barely 4" and very thin, though it was just as well, as they were cold, grease-laden, and the inside ingredients (cabbage, bean sprouts, etc.), were dark brown, significant for unfresh vegetables being used and/or that they had sat around for an undue amount of time. The rangoon filling was somewhat tasty, but again, the greasiness and temperature of the food detracted from that. The soup contained a lot of sliced mushrooms (all floating on top, a sign of age), just the regular kind you get at the grocery store, not the Chinese black mushrooms usually found in authentic versions of this soup. They were covered with brown/black spots and indentations of decay that I believe they thought cooking would mask. It didn't. They were so rotten that I would not even taste them and removed them from the soup. There were also TRACE amounts of egg, tofu and sliced bamboo shoots, but no pork and no green onion, staples for this soup. It was mostly a starchy, thick, sweet/hot broth with the occasional bit of crushed red pepper. The Pièce de résistance for the soup was a packet of dried wonton noodles to crumble into the soup, though this was impossible as they were moist and chewy, not hard and crunchy and crumbly as they ought to have been. I can only imagine how long they'd been sitting out. I will not be returning, nor will I recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BKliban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucky Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lucky Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing