We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn. Lovely experience. Very pet friendly.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crocker House Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hancock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We found this to be our best inn experience ever. Traveling with pets can be very stressful and the inn employees went out of their way to make ours feel welcome and right at home. This allowed us to relax and take in all Hancock Point has to offer. Additionally, the room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the food was of excellent quality. We will definitely stay at the Crocker House the next time we're in Hancock area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msf66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our group sampled the lamb, veal, seafood pasta and steak.The seafood pasta was liked the best. My steak was drowning in a salty sauce. The potato was also very salty.
Restaurant owners, please instruct your servers never ever ask the customer if they want their change back!!! So very tacky. Instead, instruct them to say "I'll be right back with your change" .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I visited here in the Spring with my sister. The Inn is really well kept and the rooms were very nice. The food was great. The area is so pretty and you can explore to your hearts content. There is history here and the Innkeepers are keeping it sacred!

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and it was convenient and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyBMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there this summer. Our room was very good - we were in the detached house as we needed a very large room. It was clean and homey. Breakfasts, which were included, were delicious and top notch. We also opted to have dinner there one night, which was terrific. All of the staff members were knowledgeable, friendly and fun to talk with. I actually cannot think of a negative. I recommend The Crocker House.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snappyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The Crocker House has been our favorite place to dine in Hancock. However they need to put LOBSTER on the menu for goodness sake! Their entrees are good but we have tried everything. They need to change up the menu seasonally and let us locals try something new. On our last visit our server was slow, lacked personality and ignored us more than once. Please, "a little out of the way and way out of the ordinary" needs to refresh their menu. Good food ...but we need different choices now and then.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 111coastal111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Upon the recommendation of a local source, my husband and I set off to the Crocker House restaurant for a romantic night to share our anniversary. Upon arrival, we thought the exterior of the house was quaint. We entered the restaurant only to stand awkwardly in the doorway for about 15 minutes without anyone even noticing that we were there, despite arriving right on time for our reservation. Once we were (finally) seated we had fairly slow service. The bread was excellent, and the salad was quite tasty. They had a small menu of entrees, but we both managed to find something that we liked. My husband chose the seafood pasta. I wanted a lighter meal, so I went with the crab stuffed shrimp. When the food arrived, it was absolutely bland. No flavor to either of our meals whatsoever. Even the escalloped potatoes which looked so interesting ended up tasting like the kind from the box. We tried in vain to add a bit of salt, but the holes to the salt shaker were closed. Getting the attention of the waitress was impossible. We ate as much of our meal as we could, and took the rest home. Once back in our own kitchen we added a little white wine and seasoning, and finally we could eat it. Why did we need to reheat our food in order for it to taste good?

Needless to say, it was not the experience we were looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

A Boston Whaler took us across the bay from Lamoine State Park for a Birthday Dinner on invitation by friends. This was our 4th visit to the Crocker House, years ago we even stayed over night. Food and drinks have been great, with portions well above average, actually too much.
More or less every dish comes with a heavy sauce. I would prefer less sauce and served on the side. Otherwise, enjoy your meal .....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scherte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
5.4 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
8.4 mi away
White Birches Motel
White Birches Motel
#1 of 1 in Hancock
94 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
10.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
3.8 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crocker House Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crocker House Country Inn

Address: 967 Point Rd, Hancock, ME 04640-3723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range: £83 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Hancock Point, this 130+ year old inn offers fine dining and comfortably appointed guest rooms in a relaxed setting. We cater at the inn and away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crocker House Country Inn Maine/Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing