We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Three Pines Bed & Breakfast and Farm
Ranked #1 of 5 Hancock B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was my first Bed and Breakfast experience.I found it to be a wonderful place to get away from it all and relax. We spent hours combing the secluded shores just steps away. Good, healthy breakfasts to get you started each day. The bed wasn't super big and comfortable as you might get at a luxury motel. We also had a unique problem with our visit to Maine in July. They had a heat wave and we found no air conditioning relief here or in restaraunts, etc.

Green Features: The best! They grow their own food and serve healthy, delicious vegan breakfasts.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendab25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My partner and our dog Curtis spent four magical, relaxing and delicious days here. We came to celebrate our 1st anniversary with our dog. I chose right! Karen was the perfect hostess.
We've been to other B&Bs and this was by far our best experience ever.

There is beauty and nature every where your eyes rest. The views on the grounds were amazing. Karen saw a Bald eagle during breakfast and helped me get a great pic of it. OMG!! The breakfasts are incomparably delicious, fresh and nutritious! Everything was made with whole foods from their farm or local. Everything Karen put in front of us on the table was gone in minutes!

We stayed in the room upstairs with Curtis. It was very cozy and so warm. I was really happy with it every time we came in from the chilly outdoors. Yes you can hear the guest downstairs mumbling but we couldn't make out any words. Not sure if they could make out what we were saying. I'm a big mouth native NYer.

The farm was great and a nice part of our morning walk. I believe most if not all of the animals are rescues.
Having Three Pines as our home base to explore the area was perfect.
We didn't want to come back to Brooklyn!

We look forward to coming back again soon!

Room Tip: Upstairs has a great view and a separate entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasgo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Karen's breakfast are outstanding, with much of the food raised or gathered right on the premises, including homemade maple syrup. The views were outstanding and breakfast on the deck, even on chilly mornings, was a warm and friendly event.
Three Pines is a bit out of the way, which we knew going in, but the half hour drive to Mt Desert got old by the fourth day (we stayed six nights). The farm itself makes up for that.
If your fellow guests are noisy, you will hear them, as we did the first couple who also stayed here, but the second couple were quiet and not a problem at all.
Overall we were very happy with our stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I, along with our 2 dogs vacationed for the second time at the Three Pines Bed & Breakfast & Farm. We have a male Rhodesian Ridgeback (Taki) and a female Rhodesian/Doberman mix (Lily). All of us were once again greeted so warmly by Karen. This time, we had an added surprise - Ms. Magoo, a lovely pug with an enchanting personality (see photos).

One day Karen graciously took us to Little Long Pond where dogs are allowed off leash. This is a privately owned property within Acadia National Park. It was wonderful to see Ms. Magoo and Lily exploring and getting some great exercise - and so did I. The scenery was lovely and Lily enjoyed the water!

We stayed in the same room on the first level since it works well with two dogs and dog beds! Both rooms are very clean, cozy, and tastefully decorated. As with our last visit, we felt so special and at home. Karen prepared her usual scrumptious breakfasts made with natural and farm fresh eggs, produce and fruits from their own farm. We enjoyed our meal on the deck overlooking the lovely backyard and bay and engaging in pleasant conversations with Karen.

If you are looking for a vacation that is relaxing, but also offers the opportunity to bike ride, hike, or visit the wonderful natural beauty of Acadia National Park, then the Three Pines Bed and Breakfast is the place for you!

Our only regret is that we waited too long before returning. We will be back and much sooner!
Many thanks to Karen, Ed, and Ms. Magoo for your hospitality!

Doris, Dennis, Taki & Lily :-)
Vermont

Room Tip: The second floor room is small, but it is very cozy and has a lovely view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeAnnVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The scenery and quiet was well worth the little drive to get there. We enjoyed listening to the water, the birds and...nothing. After reading the website and seeing the options of using the kayak and canoe, my husband was really looking forward to doing that. But it didn't seem it could happen due to trying to figure out the timing of the tide, so that was a little disappointing, as we REALLY looked forward to that. Too bad it couldn't have been worked out to happened some how.
Breakfast was good and the host was very kind and the resident four legged friends were enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose the upstairs room. Not only is the scenery much better, but the bottom room was not sound pro...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally conscious. Ed and Karen have done a great job to minimize the carbon footprints of them and their guests. Kudos to you!
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancock, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013; I was treated like an honored guest. You cannot fail to be soothed by the amazing views and the soft ocean breezes--and check out the newly-built Adirondack chair on the beach; divine. The breakfasts--made with produce provided directly from their land--were delicious and healthy (eggs from their hens; vegetables and fruit from their gardens (and a most amazing current preserve made from currents growing 30 feet away!). I was very happy to only use internet when they turned on the router (which Karen happily did, anytime I asked)--routers are a huge energy sink. I would not call this 'limited access to internet', but rather internet on demand. This B & B is a shining model of sound environmental practice; combined with the quiet serenity and absolute comfort, it is the perfect example of green lodging.

Room Tip: Lower room feels a bit bigger (and with great view); upper room has a truly spectacular view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Completely amazing! Carbon-neutral, as far as I can tell.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skippygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August and didn't want to leave! The hospitality was wonderful, the views were awesome, it was very relaxing and peaceful. We loved it there and would definitely stay again. The morning breakfasts were very tasty and Karen is a wonderful hostess. Our room was very clean and comfortable, couldn't ask for more! Karen was most helpful talking with us about the surrounding areas and what all was available. A definite 5 star B&B

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
8.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
9.6 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
8.0 mi away
White Birches Motel
White Birches Motel
#1 of 1 in Hancock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
7.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
6.8 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Pines Bed & Breakfast and Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Pines Bed & Breakfast and Farm

Property: Three Pines Bed & Breakfast and Farm
Address: 274 Eastside Rd, Hancock, ME 04640-3921
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Hancock
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, Three Pines Bed & Breakfast and Farm is located on the east side of Hancock Point, overlooking Sullivan Harbor in Hancock, Maine. Our 40 acre, off-grid homestead is the ideal environmentally-friendly get-away. We are a certified "green" lodging. Each guest room has a private entrance, private bath, cozy sitting area, and spectacular views of the water. Simple cottage style decorating completes the Maine-coast feel. A full, vegetarian breakfast, using local/organic produce is included.Children and pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Pines Bed & Breakfast And Farm Maine/Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing