We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Three Pines Bed & Breakfast and Farm
Ranked #1 of 5 Hancock B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend at Three Pines Bed and Breakfast! The rooms had a wonderful rustic Maine charm and a beautiful view of the ocean. Our hosts were warm and welcoming! Breakfast each morning was delicious and filling - a perfect way to fuel up before heading in to Acadia for a hike! If you call in advance and ask about pets, you may be able to bring your dog with you. We were able to enjoy our trip with our black lab! We will certainly be returning to this picturesque bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a view of the ocean, the top floor is the best spot. If you hope to have a T...
See more room tips
Green Features: Three Pines Bed and Breakfast was built to be off-the-grid lodging and is incredibly environmentally friendly. It is solar-powered and self-sufficient.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MA_6_22_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I live in Maine because of the ocean, the trees, the peace, the beauty and people. At Three Pines you'll find all of this. My husband, my dog and I stayed last weekend with friends and felt completely tucked away. Karen was attentive and friendly, breakfast was nourishing and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Their commitment to leaving a small footprint is admirable; I loved hearing the chickens just before delicious eggs for breakfast and enjoyed munching on kale from the garden. The B&B is a convenient distance from Acadia, Ellsworth and the Schoodic Peninsula. We fit in some wonderful hikes and delicious meals on our day trip and enjoyed returning to our cozy room at night. The price is very fair. Book your room now!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne, Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Took a quick weekend away to do some writing. This was a nice, tucked away location with a great view of the bay. I came just before a terrible weekend snow storm, but they were very accommodating with recommending that I get out and back to Bangor for the airport a night early before the major snow hit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was my first Bed and Breakfast experience.I found it to be a wonderful place to get away from it all and relax. We spent hours combing the secluded shores just steps away. Good, healthy breakfasts to get you started each day. The bed wasn't super big and comfortable as you might get at a luxury motel. We also had a unique problem with our visit to Maine in July. They had a heat wave and we found no air conditioning relief here or in restaraunts, etc.

Green Features: The best! They grow their own food and serve healthy, delicious vegan breakfasts.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendab25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My partner and our dog Curtis spent four magical, relaxing and delicious days here. We came to celebrate our 1st anniversary with our dog. I chose right! Karen was the perfect hostess.
We've been to other B&Bs and this was by far our best experience ever.

There is beauty and nature every where your eyes rest. The views on the grounds were amazing. Karen saw a Bald eagle during breakfast and helped me get a great pic of it. OMG!! The breakfasts are incomparably delicious, fresh and nutritious! Everything was made with whole foods from their farm or local. Everything Karen put in front of us on the table was gone in minutes!

We stayed in the room upstairs with Curtis. It was very cozy and so warm. I was really happy with it every time we came in from the chilly outdoors. Yes you can hear the guest downstairs mumbling but we couldn't make out any words. Not sure if they could make out what we were saying. I'm a big mouth native NYer.

The farm was great and a nice part of our morning walk. I believe most if not all of the animals are rescues.
Having Three Pines as our home base to explore the area was perfect.
We didn't want to come back to Brooklyn!

We look forward to coming back again soon!

Room Tip: Upstairs has a great view and a separate entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasgo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Karen's breakfast are outstanding, with much of the food raised or gathered right on the premises, including homemade maple syrup. The views were outstanding and breakfast on the deck, even on chilly mornings, was a warm and friendly event.
Three Pines is a bit out of the way, which we knew going in, but the half hour drive to Mt Desert got old by the fourth day (we stayed six nights). The farm itself makes up for that.
If your fellow guests are noisy, you will hear them, as we did the first couple who also stayed here, but the second couple were quiet and not a problem at all.
Overall we were very happy with our stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I, along with our 2 dogs vacationed for the second time at the Three Pines Bed & Breakfast & Farm. We have a male Rhodesian Ridgeback (Taki) and a female Rhodesian/Doberman mix (Lily). All of us were once again greeted so warmly by Karen. This time, we had an added surprise - Ms. Magoo, a lovely pug with an enchanting personality (see photos).

One day Karen graciously took us to Little Long Pond where dogs are allowed off leash. This is a privately owned property within Acadia National Park. It was wonderful to see Ms. Magoo and Lily exploring and getting some great exercise - and so did I. The scenery was lovely and Lily enjoyed the water!

We stayed in the same room on the first level since it works well with two dogs and dog beds! Both rooms are very clean, cozy, and tastefully decorated. As with our last visit, we felt so special and at home. Karen prepared her usual scrumptious breakfasts made with natural and farm fresh eggs, produce and fruits from their own farm. We enjoyed our meal on the deck overlooking the lovely backyard and bay and engaging in pleasant conversations with Karen.

If you are looking for a vacation that is relaxing, but also offers the opportunity to bike ride, hike, or visit the wonderful natural beauty of Acadia National Park, then the Three Pines Bed and Breakfast is the place for you!

Our only regret is that we waited too long before returning. We will be back and much sooner!
Many thanks to Karen, Ed, and Ms. Magoo for your hospitality!

Doris, Dennis, Taki & Lily :-)
Vermont

Room Tip: The second floor room is small, but it is very cozy and has a lovely view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeAnnVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
8.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
9.6 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
8.0 mi away
White Birches Motel
White Birches Motel
#1 of 1 in Hancock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
7.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
6.8 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Pines Bed & Breakfast and Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Pines Bed & Breakfast and Farm

Property: Three Pines Bed & Breakfast and Farm
Address: 274 Eastside Rd, Hancock, ME 04640-3921
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Hancock
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, Three Pines Bed & Breakfast and Farm is located on the east side of Hancock Point, overlooking Sullivan Harbor in Hancock, Maine. Our 40 acre, off-grid homestead is the ideal environmentally-friendly get-away. We are a certified "green" lodging. Each guest room has a private entrance, private bath, cozy sitting area, and spectacular views of the water. Simple cottage style decorating completes the Maine-coast feel. A full, vegetarian breakfast, using local/organic produce is included.Children and pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Pines Bed & Breakfast And Farm Maine/Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing