We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect vacation spot”
other travellers have booked this property
View of Guest Rooms - Timberframe Room 1st floor, Gable Room 2nd floor.  Both overlook the harbor.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Guest Rooms - Timberframe Room 1st floor, Gable Room 2nd floor.  Both overlook the harbor.
Sunrise view from our shore Gable Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
View of Guest Rooms - Timberframe Room 1st floor, Gable Room 2nd floor.  Both overlook the harbor.
Sunrise view from our shore
Gable Room
Gable Room Bath
Timberframe Room
Timberframe Room Bath
East Side of House viewed from the water
Outside Deck, breakfast area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hancock, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vickie_G...
Lebo, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation spot”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a week at Three Pines, We found everything about our stay to be exceptionally pleasant. We stayed in the upstairs room, it was a beautiful setting and very comfortable. We were able to wake up in the morning and be able to see the sunrise overlooking Frenchman's bay from the bedroom. The room was very clean. My husband and I marveled at the architectural design of the room and whole house. So impressive to know that Karen and her husband had designed everything. Amazing concept for us to be living off the grid, yet knowing it never interfered with anything we wanted to do.

We started each day with a excellently prepared breakfast. The breakfasts were eye pleasing, healthy and very tasty. Us being from the Midwest and typically liking meat, we were uncertain as to whether we would be satisfied with vegetarian based breakfasts, but both my husband and I agreed that meat was never missed. We walked away full every day and seldom needed to have another meal until late afternoon or early evening. We enjoyed a variety of pancakes, French toast, omelets, quiche, muffins, yogurt and fruit, simply delicious.

Three pines was a great location. The bed and breakfast was close in proximity to the Acadia and Bar Harbor area, but without all of the touristy hustle and bustle. We got up in the mornings and drove to these places with ease, but at the end of the day was so happy to return to our quiet, serene, and simply stunning setting. Three Pines has an upstairs apartment and a downstairs room. There was seldom any noise other than nature, sea gulls, rooster, a real piece of heaven sitting on the deck overlooking the Atlantic! Life doesn't get better.

So to wrap this up, the setting couldn't of been better, the room and view were spectacular, the breakfasts far exceeded anything one would find in a restaurant, but by and far, the most remarkable part of the week was the hospitality of our hostess. Karen, Thank you so much for your hard work and attention to detail. Thank you for information and maps to local attractions. Thank you for giving us a tour of the farm and letting us meet your animals. Thank you for sharing your home and heart. The week will never be forgotten, you made it perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful setting, Delicious breakfasts and simply outstanding hospitality!
Liked least: Maine Mosquitos!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceofSa...
Saugus, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Emerald North of Acadia”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just north of Acadia N.P there is in Hancock Maine a hidden gem. Deep in the woods off a long dirt road you'll find a Bed & Breakfast that has chosen to go green off the grid.
Green energy supplies this B&B along with the wonderful charm of garden fresh herbs and
farm fresh eggs for your breakfast.
The proprietor Karen welcomes you with a warm smile and friendly conversation. She has
opened her home with adding two units attached by a porch with a beautiful view of
Sullivan Cove.
This has been our third year staying here and we look forward to many more as we try to capture the beauty of Acadia through my wife's paintings along with friends near by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: Peace and quiet a chance to fully relax
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maura1112...
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, relaxing location from which to explore Bar Harbor and the Schoodic Peninsula.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed five nights at 3 Pines B&B with my husband and teenage son. Karen prepared a delicious breakfast each morning using eggs from her farm, homemade yogurt, and in-season fruits and vegetables from her garden. An extremely thoughtful host, Karen lent us a variety of guidebooks and trail maps to use during our stay. In addition to the waterfront views, fire-fly lit nights, clean and comfortable accommodations; we mostly enjoyed the camaraderie around the breakfast table with Karen and a fellow guest. Lots of laughs as we shared our prior day adventures and made plans for the day ahead. Wonderful vacation - we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middleage...
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Off the grid...on the ocean”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This great B and B and farm has 2 rooms with fantastic views of a bay with the water less than 100 feet away. Rooms are modern and immaculate. You would never know you are off the electric grid. 40 acres of woods and farm. Follow a trail half a mile to the tidal (reversing with the tides) falls where ar saw 4 seals.
Great breakfast including eggs from Karen 's chickens. She is a warm and friendly host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location and view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maine
Reviewed 27 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Poland Maine
Reviewed 29 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing