We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great last resort property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Birches Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hancock
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We arrived in Bar Harbour, unbeknowest to us that Kenny Chesny was playing in Bar Harbour, and basically the city was sold out. Another property let us know that the Knights Inn still had rooms left and was kind enough to hold a room until we arrived.

The room had a musty smell to it. It looked like the fridge had a leak, and the smell from the wet carpet was still in the room. We le the front desk know of which the General Manager came up right away with a heavy duty deoderizer. It helped, as there were no other rooms left, we stayed.

It was a nice room after a day of travelling. The rooms do need a little updating, great wifi, with just a little more attention to the smaller items in the room.

Room Tip: As to see the room first to make sure it is clean and fresh
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k911_on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Best rate around on short notice and during peak season. I think I paid $80/night on three days notice in the middle of August. You can't beat that...

On arrival, check-in was seamless. I was a late arrival (as I usually am) - be aware the office closes at 10pm so call ahead if you'll arrive later.

The room was...a room. It smelled rank. It was like a mix between dirty dog and cigarette (non-smoking room). The carpet was gross. The comforter on the bed was questionable. The sheets and pillow cases smelled like bleach - a plus. The adjoining room door looked as though someone had attempted to break through it at some point (yikes!) and the toilet in the bathroom didn't flush with much vigor (actually required on more than one occasion some fiddling with tank innards to get some simple toilet paper down).

The cars in the parking lot were mostly out of state newer-model cars which to me was a plus. It didn't seem to be a hang out for low life locals. It seemed more like a place to sleep at night for the budget weary traveler. All in all my experience was "meh" and I'd probably spend a few extra dollars to stay somewhere else given the option again. But...I really doubt you'll get murdered or a communicable disease here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USMC076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Looks like an average hotel, nothing special, the parking lot is horrible very tight & hard to back out of as your close enough to hit the car behind you. We paid about $100 for the room and booked several months before, Our beds were comfy as could be, we had a mini fridge that worked just fine for our 3 night stay. The front lobby has a microwave that you can use at any time of the day, staff is super nice & recommends many places to eat in town. Also this is a Pet Friendly Hotel it says it on the sigh out front on the main road. Also WiFi worked great for us 3 bars all the time, didn't watch much tv so could careless how old the tv was.

Thought it was a great no traffic and about a 20 min drive into Bar Harbor with no traffic. Also when you have lights on outside every room a moth or 2 will probably fly into your room it's not going to kill you capture them and release, no big deal. We also had a tiny frog in our room but it's like any "tropical place" Mexico you have lizards, Florida too,etc..no big deal whatever get over it as long as these creatures weren't living in the bed & biting me we have no worries!

The main thing it was clean & convenient!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picture_Perch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I had been to worse so I'll give it a moderately fair rating. 75$ room special on peak season. Has a dorm size ref but no microwave. Carpet is dirty but beds are OK. Bathroom not bad although we found a pea size baby frog in the tub - surprise, surprise! Due to the location we also found a moth (small). An old crt Zenith TV. Coffee maker in the room. Ice bucket with ice machine a short walk by the office. Service is OK, will change sheets and towel promptly if you ask for it.

We were late to book at Bar Harbor so we got this place. You need to book three weeks before to get vacancy at Bar Harbor. The place is close to everything though - Walmart, LLBean Outlet, McDo, Dennys, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banuk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The picture on the website makes this hotel look like a castle, but it is far from it! Advertises free WI Fi but could not even get 1 bar. I was in town to run a Ultra Marathon and like to relax in a cool room before my run but I could not get my room below 85 degrees and got no sleep..my sister was in town from Fla. with my niece staying in the next room which was nice but had to move because their room would not lock ( not very safe ) Last thing, not sure if this place is pet friendly, but some kind of pet got friendly in my room, on top of the very hot room, the smell of cat urine was overpowering...would not recommend this place!

Room Tip: Skip it for the Hampton Inn down the road..I would have stayed there but it was full..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdinthehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Yea that picture is not the place that is the catering business across the street. No golf green like pictured. It was overgrown. No breakfast just coffee. Room was clean. Good location. Needs updating but basically a room with a clean bed and bathroom. Wifi was terrible used my mifi instead. No complaints aside From this was not as advertised. It is a typical motel not what is pictured. Easy trip to MDI Bar Harbor and Acadia National park. While it was not bad we will not be back. I am a bit snobby when it comes to hotels. So don't avoid it the staff is great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 31jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Everything was average. No bells and whistles. It's a place to lay your head at night. The rooms were clean minus the cobwebs behind the bathroom door and I kind of giggled when I spotted them. It wasn't that big of a deal. There really is no continental breakfast, only coffee that I saw. It's cheap and bed bug free so no complaints here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LILBonsaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
1.4 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Ellsworth
167 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
3.2 mi away
Twilite Motel
Twilite Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
318 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#8 of 10 in Ellsworth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Birches Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Birches Motel

Address: Route 1 & Thorsen Road, 17 Thorsen Road, Hancock, ME 04605 (Formerly Acadia Birches Knights Inn Ellsworth/Bar Harbor)
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Hancock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hancock
Price Range: £46 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — White Birches Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Birches Motel, conveniently located at the crossroads of Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor and Downeast Maine, offers clean and affordable accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your White Birches Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Birches Knights Inn Ellsworth/Bar Harbor Hotel Hancock
White Birches Country Hotel
White Birches Motel Maine/Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing