We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful "Welcome to Maine!"”
Review of Harpswell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harpswell Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Harpswell B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 December 2007

My girlfriend surprised me with this trip in October and I didn't have any idea where we were going. We stayed at the Harpswell Inn our first night in Maine, on our way up to Acadia. We arrived late, about 1am, so I really wasn't expecting much service. Richard was there to greet us and show us around the Inn which was very nice. It had the feel of an old victorian house. I was surprised by how large it really was. Even while sharing a floor, it felt like we were in our own retreat. Richard and Ann had even left a bottle of champagne and cheese and crackers for us, as my girlfriend had requested.
In the morning, after a wonderful breakfast, we began to explore the nearby beach at the end of the street, and the water the property backs up to.
Some have argued that this location is less than perfect. Whatever imperfections there may be, Richard and Ann make up for it in genuine hospitality. I felt as though I had never left home.
Bryan and Kelly
Charleston, SC

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Minillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2007

My husband and I stayed at Harpswell Inn for our 12th anniversary. We are from Virginia and 1st time in Maine. The Inn was beautiful - very clean and I thought the Inn Keepers were friendly. The breakfast was also very good - small portions but good enough for us.

The problems were number one was location. We had to drive down a short road to the Inn that was working class and at first glance we wondered if we would be safe. Working class is fine but when you are a tourist it is nice to not see boats and junk cars beside the road. The next problem was that you cannot lock your door when you leave your room. We had to pack up our valuables everytime we left. We also had no tv or telephone in our room.

the last problem was Mr. Moseley told us that we had to stay 3 night min. stay and we wanted to leave after 2 nights. the website says 2 nights min. stay. He eventually aggreed to not charge us for leaving a night eariler than planned. The Inn is about 8 to 10 miles outside of Brunswick, Maine. If we return to maine we plan to stay south of Portland, Maine or either just stay in Freeport where there are great places to eat and shop and an Inn in town. Harpswell was too far out and Brusnwick didn't have much to offer tourists.

Overall the stay good. It would had been better if the Inn was closer to shops and things to do and our door would have locked. I don't want to return to Harpswell but at the same time will always remember how beautiful the Inn was.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank summerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

Stayed for a few nights in June. Owner/innkeeper didn't have a record of our reservation. In fact, reservations are simply written down on random bits of paper or a small calendar, not scheduled with the help of a computer. Herein lies the problem with the Harpswell: They don't take care of the basics. First basic need not met: The guest rooms of the main inn have locks that may only be locked from the Inside of the room, not upon leaving the room. Therefore, guests are required to leave their room unlocked upon leaving! Not only does this invite theft, it also requires that the room be thoroughly checked for unwanted visitors upon returning to the room. We kept our valuables locked in the glove compartment of our car. The inn doesn't have a safe for guests' valuables. Come on, now! No locks? Please.
Second basic need: Shower door didn't close, water all over the bathroom floor made for a dangerous, slippery mess.
Third: Garbage accumulates in see-through plastic bags by the back door of the inn near the parking lot. This must be the view that greets all those staying in the "carriage house" or garage rooms upon leaving. Garbage bags were accumulating there all day and night. A small covered dumpster would certainly be the common sense solution, but common sense seems to be missing here. The room was below par: No closet (not unusual for a B and B), but the only place to hang anything was on two bent wire hangars on the back of the bathroom door. Bed was creaky, mattress too hard and the pillows lumpy. Old sheets (albeit clean). Windows stayed open with wooden props (also not unusual for an old inn), but there weren't enough props to hold all the windows open! Breakfast was basic fare, truly nothing noteworthy or special. Generally an air of neglect rather than "shabby chic" about the whole place...light fixtures not attached, messy kitchen area, cluttered desk upon entering inn, filthy guest fridge, no flowers on the porch, etc. etc. Setting is lovely but there is a horrible septic tank stench around the garage building. From the other reviews written it seems the Harpswell is more welcoming in the winter, off-season, less busy months. Perhaps "high season" is simply too much for the owners to keep up with.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank fussyguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

We wanted to have a waypoint on a Maine trip between Kennebunk and Boothbay Harbor. Based on TripAdvisors we chose to stay with Richard and Ann, and the Harpswell Inn. The weather was spectacular, except for a brief torrential rain shower in the middle of the afternoon. We stayed in a cute little room at the top of the stairs, with a shower across the hall, which was no problem since we were the only guests there that night. This place was QUIET! No sounds except the frogs in the pond across the road and a few boat sounds. Richard cooked a great breakfast and off we went. I would come back. Very nicely appointed.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank grapdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2007

My husband and I booked the Look Out room at the Harpswell for his birthday. The room was beautiful, with a water view & a little balcony (though too much snow to enjoy!). The bathroom was very nice, with a jacuzzi tub, and a lovely bed and sitting area in front of a fireplace. We looked at a nice suite across the parking lot as well, which had a more direct water view (from the main house, you look at a little bit of parking lot before the water). The Mosleys were very welcoming, the breakfast delicious. If I had one small complaint it's only that the first week of April is considered "peak season," but the peak season prices are quite reasonable, particularly considering how lovely the inn is altogether.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hoppapoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2007

My wife and I have been visiting the Inn since our daughter attended Bowdoin College in the late '90s. We enjoyed our visits to Maine so much, that we still return every year, long after our daughter has graduated.

We became very close with the previous owners and have quickly come to love the new owners as well. Every time we point our car north to Maine, we know we'll be greated with friendly New England hospitallity when we arrive.

The breakfast is excellent and if you end up heading back to your room midday, don't be surprised if Mr. Moseley offers to whip up a quick lunch for you. One day, we even got to sample his famous fish chowder. While the Pot Luck Restaurant that the Moseley's owned has been closed for over two decades, the locals will still tell you stories about their favorite meals there.

The rooms in the Inn are quaint and historic, decorated tastefully with antiques... a real New England experience. If you are looking for more modern luxury, spring for one of the suites that offer modern construction and luxury amenities including fireplaces and even some jaccuzzis!

We love the location, you can see the ocean nearly everywhere you look. If you're looking to relax, bring a book and pull up a chair beneath their giant oak tree. If you're looking for more adventure, ask Mr. Moseley about his Kyak collection and head out on the water.

The only way you will ever be disspointed in the Harpswell Inn is if you call to late and they are already fully booked. We're not taking our chances, our reservation is already in for this summer.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank rock1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2007

My Wife and I stayed at this wonderful Inn this year. We were greeted very warmly. I must say that several of the unkind reviews WAS NOT the experience we had at all. We were most impressed by the service we recieved by the husband and wife team with an additional single attendant.

The location is absolutley stunning...like few others in the area--and it is easy to access the midcoast area from here. We found the antique B&B setting to be quaint and cozy, beautiful handmade furniture, cast iron bed, wood floors with braided rugs, an inviting living room and wireless internet access!

Breakfasts included a choice of several items. I noticed others did not mention this, I had a spinach omelet on one day, and pancakes the next. I had no complaint with the food--and I actually found the home-cooked family atmosphere and food to be refreshing--reminding of a B&B (which is the idea --to emulate being in another's home) For us we preferred this to a wand of garnish over non-local style sauce covering a tablespoon of fancy 'chef-ery'.

All in all I would tell anyone to stay at the Harpswell Inn if they want to experience a true Bed & Breakfast atmosphere of staying in a REAL antique Maine family-style surrounding. If you are looking for this you will not be disappointed. However on the other hand--if you want a Manhattan-style mimosa brunch and need a personal bellhop to help you to make you feel comfortable--you may want to stay in the nearest city's DoubleTree.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LosAngelesLAguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpswell
6.6 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
974 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
420 reviews
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Brunswick
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harpswell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpswell Inn

Address: 108 Lookout Point Rd, Harpswell, ME 04079-3036
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Harpswell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harpswell
Price Range: £72 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the sea on one of Maine's most famous finger peninsulas, historical Harpswell Inn at Lookout Point dominates a knoll overlooking a quaint cove which serves as a snug harbor for lobster boats. Only 8 miles from Bowdoin College in Brunswick, the 2 1/2 acres of expansive oak-shaded lawns offer an exciting and endless selection of sights, sounds and activities to delight our guests. Furnished with antiques, the Inn offers casual elegance and comfortable ambience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harpswell Hotel Harpswell
Harpswell Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing