We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harpswell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harpswell Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Harpswell B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marion, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a great place to stay without being in a tourist mix and with the help of a Facebook friend, we found it.

We stayed in one of the cottages right on the cove and loved it! Great scenery. The cove is a great place when the tide is in to wade in and explore.

The town is small and source so it's about 15 minutes to drive into Brunswick for restaurants or shopping. It is about 45 minutes north of Portland and LL Bean and an hour north of Old Orchird Beach (which is awesome).

The service at the Inn was great and the food was wonderful. This is a "must stay".

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    10
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
14
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

The majority of my travelling experience has been in traditional hotels and I have not been in a lot of Bed and Breakfasts, but this one was the best overall experience I have had yet. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. The house and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The setting was very peaceful and private. It is true that you have to drive to any attractions other than the water, but if you want someplace that has a lot within walking distance, stay in the city. This place is a great secluded retreat. There was quite a bit of noise starting about 7:30 or 8:00 each morning as the other guests were getting up which really did not allow sleeping in. The breakfast was good, the best I have had, but still nothing to rant about. They typically had a good fresh baked pastry and would have two basic breakfast food options to try. The coffee and juice were average.

In general, the hospitality and friendliness we experienced in Maine was the best we have experienced on the East coast so far. This place is a perfect example. I don't think anything about it will blow your socks off, but you will have a very nice and pleasant experience at a price point typically a little lower than everywhere else around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

What a special place...and just an half an hour outside of Freeport. We spent a day in freeport shopping and another day out on the kayaks. If you like spending time outside, you will love this place. We celebrated our anniversary here and couldn't have asked for a better place to do so. It was very quiet, quaint, and peaceful. Just roaming around the grounds of the Inn was wonderfully relaxing. The view from our room was spectactular..We would get up in the morning grab a coffe and just relax on the deck outside our room. The owners were very helpful and engaging and made us feel right at home. We enjoyed great conversation with both Dick and Ann. We just can't wait to go back collapse.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Lovely location, host full of advice on things to do, Nice Old Town kayaks to borrow. Lobster boats landing their catch a short walk away. Great breakfast, Clean and nicely decorated, All and all, just was a great place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

What a thrill for me. I loved soaking up the history and furniture styles, maybe more than the locale.

The date on the front says 1761. It was a summer hotel back then, lanterns and candles. It was renovated in 1928 and then converted to a B&B in the '80s. The upgrades were modern and inconspicuous. Our room, though looking like a room from a previous era, had a wonderful bathroom with overhead heat lamp on a timer, hair dryer, three-prong outlets you might not expect, nice shower and separate tub. To our delight on our cool visit, our room had a gas fireplace controlled by a thermostat in the room. Still the thing you notice isn't the amenities, it's the wonderfully decorated rooms and halls.

Some of the furniture clearly comes from way back closer to colonial times, genuine antiques in top condition. Anything purchased since then for the B&B was very well selected and fit in nicely. Bed linens were top shelf with comfy down pillow.

Anyway, I was thrilled with the furniture. There's a nice open yard for walking around, chairs and rockers on the porch, and just down the road about 50 yards is a working waterfront with lobstermen at work and a public boat launch. A real joy was three nearby cranes who flew so gracefully. They fly like they're in slow motion. Beautiful. Also, there's a spectacular view of the islands. There's not much else in the area besides natural beauty and the Inn.

Breakfast was made to order and cheerfully served. To get dinner or anything else you've got to get in your car and drive.

Anne and Dick were gracious hosts.

Room Tip: Rooms vary a lot; some in different buildings. Call ahead and discuss your options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mango_kayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montauk, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Also, large rooms - very clean - and walk in shower as well as tub. Bed very comfortable. Free bottled water and soda. Breakfast is excellent and Hosts are both charming and very informative about local area. This is about a 25 minute ride from Brunswick and well worth the ride.

Room Tip: I think all rooms equally good as I have stayed in two different rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elibill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Agree with others in terms of the Inn overall, so will focus on our room, the Coveside suite. It has two open floors. The upper is the bedroom with full bath (although there is no door, it is visually separated) and the lower contains the kitchen, living area and 1/2 bath (with a fold-out sofa). It is one of the most spacious "rooms" I have had at a B&B. The suite is at the far end of the building, so completely private, with large windows looking across a lawn through birches to the cove. We were there on a cold weekend, but a gas stove heated the space nicely. Furnishings are simple, but detailing of woodwork is extensive, making it an attractive space. It was lovely for our family of four (two girls shared the fold-out), and it would also make an attractive romantic retreat for a couple.

One comment about the breakfast, which some have criticized. Perhaps not the best ever, but pretty good, and served quickly (presumably partially pre-prepared, which might explain both aspects).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpswell
6.6 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
7.0 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harpswell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpswell Inn

Property: Harpswell Inn
Address: 108 Lookout Point Rd, Harpswell, ME 04079-3036
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Harpswell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harpswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the sea on one of Maine's most famous finger peninsulas, historical Harpswell Inn at Lookout Point dominates a knoll overlooking a quaint cove which serves as a snug harbor for lobster boats. Only 8 miles from Bowdoin College in Brunswick, the 2 1/2 acres of expansive oak-shaded lawns offer an exciting and endless selection of sights, sounds and activities to delight our guests. Furnished with antiques, the Inn offers casual elegance and comfortable ambience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harpswell Hotel Harpswell
Harpswell Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing