We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring trip in search of Lobster”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quahog Bay Inn in Harpswell, Maine
Ranked #3 of 4 Harpswell B&B and Inns
Berlin NH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spring trip in search of Lobster”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Saturday morning the sun was peeking out and we decided to search out a new coastal town. Spoke with Jane and she had availability. Arrived md afternoon and we were greeted by a wave and a smile by Marcie. She was awaiting her guest. She was very informative and was ready to help in any way possible. I was in search of lobster and by the looks of the bay lobster was their life. Fishing boats and a huge cooler that said Quahog Lobster and Crab Company. Marcie took to hand pick our lobster down on the docks. Gave a lobster pan and we settled in for a quiet evening overlooking the fishing village. Breakfast was fresh baked blueberry muffins a nice assortment of cereals and toasting breads. We will return!

Room Tip: We toured many of the suites and stayed in the Gulls Nest or #2. All rooms have views of the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronbernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    5
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrensburg, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

If you are looking for a restful beautiful place to vacation this is the place to be, Homemade muffins every morning. great and friendly owner, Lobsters cannot be fresher, If you are not satisfied here, then save your money and stay home you won't be happy anywhere

Room Tip: Any room is great the views may be better from the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband and I stayed five nights at Quahog Bay Inn and it is definitely the best place to stay. I compared it to some other places and every time, there was no doubt that we had chosen the right place. The accommodations and views were amazing! Jane, the owner, was very gracious and helpful. There was not a negative thing about our stay. From the moment you step out of your car and inhale the air and see the beautiful water, you know why the sign entering Maine states, "The Way Life Should Be." The apartment was very clean and spacious. We really enjoyed the private deck for sunrises and sunsets. Also, having fresh lobsters and crabs delivered to our room was an added bonus! We cannot wait to go back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank REAgent1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Quahog Bay Inn last May for our anniversary. We only stayed one night, but it was so wonderful, we are going back again this year. We stayed in the Crow's Nest, and it was just beautiful. The views were lovely, and the suite was more like an apartment than a typical hotel room. I have yet to stay in a cleaner place! You can tell that the owners take great pride in their establishment. We had lobster for dinner that night in our suite. It was cooked right on the premises and delivered hot. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brubarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The Quahog Bay Inn is located right on the water in Harpswell. The inlet has lobster boats, a dock, picnic tables, and kayaks and boats for guests' use. During our trip (mid-October), we stayed in the Gull's Nest Suite, and it was absolutely perfect. More like an apartment, the Gull's Nest has a full kitchen, living room, dining area, bedroom and bath, plus a deck off the back overlooking the water. In the morning, breakfast is served in the open kitchen in the Inn's check-in office.

All in all, our stay was spectacular. The Inn is family-run, and the cozy feel of the rooms, as well as the property, make you feel as though you are right at home. The area, though quiet at night, is incredibly beautiful and quintessentially "Maine."

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
173 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights, in Crow's Nest. Our living room and dining room overlooked the bay, complete with lobster boats docked in front of the Inn. It was a full apartment that felt very private, even though it was right above another suite. It had all the amenities- a full kitchen, a comfortable living room perfect for lounging, and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was also top notch, stocked with plenty of tolietries. The best feature of the suite was the large, very private balcony. It overlooked the water, and it offered a place to get a clear view of the Maine skies at night. The whole suite was truly peaceful- most of the time. The only issue we had during our stay was that one of the lobster boats started its engine around 6am and it kept on running at the dock for hours. I'm a pretty light sleeper, so it was hard for me to sleep. But that was no fault of the hotel- maybe just keep a pair of ear plugs handy. Also, do be sure to bring snacks and such, as there aren't really many shops around, especially that are open in the evening.
For a trip to the Eastern coast of Maine, this Inn's location is perfect; close to Portland and the Portland JetPort, and also Boothbay Harbor and Bath- both excellent cities. For a taste of real Maine, book a trip at the Quahog Bay Inn.

Room Tip: Book a room with a deck- and be sure to book far in advance to get the room you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matanda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, N.J.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

't This inn was better than their photos which were great. If you want to go back to what Maine was before tourism hit ,this is the place to stay. Quiet, restful and unspoiled with lots to see and do. The owners are delightful, friendly and helpful. Jane or Hallie made fresh muffins and cookies every morning. I was ready to stay until the snow started. The in is on the rocks at the edge of the bay with 2 working lobster docks. I am almost afraid to let any one know about this gem for fear that they will be full the next time we go back. I am eagerly looking forward to going for 1-2 weeks next year. A real treasure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful with balconies and are immaculate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melisande_inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpswell
8.0 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
14.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
3.9 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quahog Bay Inn in Harpswell, Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quahog Bay Inn in Harpswell, Maine

Property: Quahog Bay Inn in Harpswell, Maine
Address: Lobster Lane, Harpswell, ME 04079
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Harpswell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harpswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean front one and two bedroom suites on a deep water dock overlooking a small working lobster pound. Conveniently located 20 minutes from Bath and Brunswick and 30 minutes from Freeport Maine. All suites have amazing views of Quahog and Casco Bay along with private decks, private baths, fully equipped kitchens, and living areas. Canoes, kayaks, and boats available on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quahog Bay Inn In Harpswell, Maine Hotel Harpswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing