We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to leave”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Harpswell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The proprietors of this serene little B&B are absolutely fantastic. If you've never been to the area and you decide you want to "go it alone", you'll be missing out on Ken and Donna's sincere and detailed insight. Their sense of accommodation was beyond parental. The food and coffee is fantastic and perfectly portioned, the environment is void of awkwardness and tiptoeing, and the house itself has an eerily pleasant historic quality about it. You'll have the freedom of sitting on an outside deck, lounging in the front living room to read, and refrigerator access if you need to chill your wine or beer! I believe most of the rooms have a waterfront-facing window, so beware....when your hosts boast about the sunrise, they are NOT kidding! We are already planning our next trip to Harpswell.

Room Tip: We took the Slate Room, but, during our stay, none of the occupants of the other rooms voiced a sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7ascii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Hosts - Donna & Ken - do EVERYTHING they can to make your stay enjoyable. Besides the absolutely delicious breakfasts Donna prepares - Ken would just love to take you on a 3 hr sail on his own sailboat. They are the first source for local info - on such items as where to eat and not to eat - and ideal kayaking or canoeing areas.

The building is showing its age and the Cupola East bedroom can be very sunny in the early morning if you are trying to sleep in a little late and sits closest to the road. Fortunately Donna has a sound proofing curtain and traffic is rare on this part of the island.

If you wish to visit this peninsula - I would strongly recommend this B&B. If you want the ultimate Maine coastal experience and can afford a longer journey North - I would recommend the other two areas I have reviewed in the past few years on Tripadvisor - Camden (Lincolnville) & Boothbay (Hodgdon Island).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotglueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Pros:
-Superb breakfasts! Fresh fruit, omelet, and blueberry crumb cake...Absolutely, delicious.
-Rooms were clean and historic (former Union Hotel)
-Great location (only 45 minutes to Portland). One can walk to the local wharf while BYOB'ing from the general store.
-Donna & Ken are very knowledgeable about the area and extended great conversation.
- No TV & AC in the bedrooms lets you shutout the outside world and enjoy the coast of Maine
-If you get a chance spring the extra dollars for the cupola rooms. It's just a great architectural feature of the house.

Cons
- City slickers may worry as there are no locks on bedroom doors (Don't fret -its not an issue).

Would definitely recommend to others. Had a great experience.

Room Tip: Spring for the cupola rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Lovely place, where Donna and Ken bend over backwards to be helpful and considerate. From freshly prepared traditional iced tea to making things easy for one of us with limited mobility, we couldn't ask for more. The view over Cundy's Harbour with the moored lobster boats is beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I was delighted yet inspired by this beautiful place! Great place to relax and refresh the mind!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

As all the glowing reviews attest, this place is just the best you could wish for.

We were looking for a few days of quiet rest and casual touring/eating and the CW couldn't have been more perfect. Donna & Ken have obviously been at this a long time and know exactly how to treat their guests.

The first thing you notice is that the home is spotless from floor to ceiling. Beautiful sun-lit rooms with cool ocean breezes wafting in the windows.

I consider having no TV or internet a plus. It just encourages you to relax, enjoy the views from the cupola or read a book.

Donna's breakfasts were the greatest--- the Sour Cream Pancakes and Pain Perdu were better than any restaurant could offer.

Good experience with good people. It doesn't get better than that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcthumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Our family (two daughters, son-in-law and 5-mo.-old granddaughter) went to celebrate a graduation. Nice accomodations: each room had its own bath and the beds were very comfortable. Two of the rooms had a great view of the harbor, and there was a great view from the cupola. Donna was very hospitable with great suggestions and makes delicious blueberry pancakes :). The location was great and we took many scenic hikes along the coast. A fun time was had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 926 Cundys Harbor Rd, Harpswell, ME 04079-4511
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Harpswell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harpswell
Price Range: £106 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Captain's Watch Bed And Breakfast Harpswell, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing