We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aunt Donna Place. She makes you feel Welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Harpswell B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Aunt Donna Place. She makes you feel Welcome”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

Hello every one. It's been a few day since we got back from Maine & I thought I would start with my reviews. Our first night was in Harpswell. We stayed at the Captains Watch Bed & Breakfast. The drive up from Portland International Jet Port was under a Hour. Once we landed , picked up the rental Car and got moving, we were running a little late. I called Donna to let here know that we wanted to go out for dinner, before we checked in. She recommended a local Place on Bailey Island. Morse's Cribstone Grill. She even called and got us a reservation for 2 which they usually only reserve for 4 people. Her recommendation for dinner was perfect, as this was our first Maine Lobstah, that we had in Maine....We had a great time and did not get check in until 10 pm. Donna was very accommodation on the late check in. We stayed in the Slate Room on the first floor. With a view over looking the water. If you want to sleep in make sure the window curtains are down. The bath room had a great shower in a cast Iron tub. Breakfast was great. I am not a big fruit eater but in joyed the fruit & pancakes

I liked breakfast because you are able to chat with all the other guest staying there.

If one wanted to spend a little time here in the Harpswell area Donna could keep you busy with local attractions...

As it was, we just stay here one night here, We were on a journey to sample the Maine coast..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint James, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The proprietors of this serene little B&B are absolutely fantastic. If you've never been to the area and you decide you want to "go it alone", you'll be missing out on Ken and Donna's sincere and detailed insight. Their sense of accommodation was beyond parental. The food and coffee is fantastic and perfectly portioned, the environment is void of awkwardness and tiptoeing, and the house itself has an eerily pleasant historic quality about it. You'll have the freedom of sitting on an outside deck, lounging in the front living room to read, and refrigerator access if you need to chill your wine or beer! I believe most of the rooms have a waterfront-facing window, so beware....when your hosts boast about the sunrise, they are NOT kidding! We are already planning our next trip to Harpswell.

Room Tip: We took the Slate Room, but, during our stay, none of the occupants of the other rooms voiced a sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7ascii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Hosts - Donna & Ken - do EVERYTHING they can to make your stay enjoyable. Besides the absolutely delicious breakfasts Donna prepares - Ken would just love to take you on a 3 hr sail on his own sailboat. They are the first source for local info - on such items as where to eat and not to eat - and ideal kayaking or canoeing areas.

The building is showing its age and the Cupola East bedroom can be very sunny in the early morning if you are trying to sleep in a little late and sits closest to the road. Fortunately Donna has a sound proofing curtain and traffic is rare on this part of the island.

If you wish to visit this peninsula - I would strongly recommend this B&B. If you want the ultimate Maine coastal experience and can afford a longer journey North - I would recommend the other two areas I have reviewed in the past few years on Tripadvisor - Camden (Lincolnville) & Boothbay (Hodgdon Island).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotglueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Pros:
-Superb breakfasts! Fresh fruit, omelet, and blueberry crumb cake...Absolutely, delicious.
-Rooms were clean and historic (former Union Hotel)
-Great location (only 45 minutes to Portland). One can walk to the local wharf while BYOB'ing from the general store.
-Donna & Ken are very knowledgeable about the area and extended great conversation.
- No TV & AC in the bedrooms lets you shutout the outside world and enjoy the coast of Maine
-If you get a chance spring the extra dollars for the cupola rooms. It's just a great architectural feature of the house.

Cons
- City slickers may worry as there are no locks on bedroom doors (Don't fret -its not an issue).

Would definitely recommend to others. Had a great experience.

Room Tip: Spring for the cupola rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Lovely place, where Donna and Ken bend over backwards to be helpful and considerate. From freshly prepared traditional iced tea to making things easy for one of us with limited mobility, we couldn't ask for more. The view over Cundy's Harbour with the moored lobster boats is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I was delighted yet inspired by this beautiful place! Great place to relax and refresh the mind!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardner, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

As all the glowing reviews attest, this place is just the best you could wish for.

We were looking for a few days of quiet rest and casual touring/eating and the CW couldn't have been more perfect. Donna & Ken have obviously been at this a long time and know exactly how to treat their guests.

The first thing you notice is that the home is spotless from floor to ceiling. Beautiful sun-lit rooms with cool ocean breezes wafting in the windows.

I consider having no TV or internet a plus. It just encourages you to relax, enjoy the views from the cupola or read a book.

Donna's breakfasts were the greatest--- the Sour Cream Pancakes and Pain Perdu were better than any restaurant could offer.

Good experience with good people. It doesn't get better than that.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcthumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpswell
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
8.9 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
11.7 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
2.3 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
6.1 mi away
Stonehouse Manor at Popham Beach B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast
Address: 926 Cundys Harbor Rd, Harpswell, ME 04079-4511
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Harpswell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harpswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Captain's Watch Bed And Breakfast Harpswell, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing