We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, Great Breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Harpswell B&B and Inns
Houston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great setting, Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

4 of us stayed at this B&B just prior to Memorial Day on a recommendation from a relative who had been there. It is located near the end of the road in Harpswell/Cundy's Harbor about 8 miles out of Brunswick, ME. It is a beautiful and serene setting with wonderful proprietors, Donna and Ken. They are very friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable about things to do in the area. The views from the cupola are gorgeous.
Donna's breakfasts are first rate, especially her sour cream blueberry pancakes. There is fresh fruit at every breakfast. It is a restful beautiful house with easy access to Brunswick and the rest of the Maine coast. We look forward to returning here to escape the Texas heat in the near future!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardr801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a most wonderful time during our weekend stay at The Captain's Watch. I am delighted to let you know that I had selected The Captain's Watch as a very special B&B for the weekend that I proposed to my fiance. The Captain's Watch is a magnificent space and Donna was such an excellent host and made our stay extremely special and memorable. She was very knowledgable and spent time with us to help us to plan out our days. The breakfasts we consumed were fantastic and we had the pleasure of staying in The Captain's Quarters where we had access to the cupola. Might I just state how incredible the vantage point is to observe coastal life from the cupola!!! Fantastic! Cundy's Harbor was glorious and I can't see how I would ever not stay at The Captain's Watch whenever back in the area. We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: The Captain's Quarters is a great choice if available. Access to the cupola is key!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorneNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington DE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The delay in reviewing our two night September stay at Captain's Watch in no way diminishes our enthusiasm and raves. Donna and Ken are the most gracious of hosts, welcoming, comfortable and involved with guests and their requests without being intrusive. The relaxing drives to restaurants, small galleries, shops and other attractions are what a coastal ME experience is about. They know the Harpswell area well and are available to make suggestions. Our next visit will be for longer with time to include a sail on Symbion. As sailors in our younger days, there were many sailing tales to share. We didn't take advantage of the cupola but had a wonderful harbor view from our room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyWilmingtonDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very enjoyable stay at The Captain's Watch. We stayed for three nights; first two in the Captains Watch Room and the last night in the Harbor View Room. Both were very nice. We loved the access to the cupola for wine and cheese that we had brought the first night. Donna and Ken were delightful hosts! They had great suggestions for dinner (Morse's on Orr's Island; so good we ate there two of our three nights in Maine!) We didn't have time to go sailing with Ken on his boat this time, but will next year for sure! They did allow us to use their dock to put in our rental kayaks that we had picked up and transported on our car. We had a great time paddling around the bay and exploring the litlle islands and coves.
All in all, a great mini-vacation and one we would love to repeat. We highly recommend the Captain's Watch B&B. Wonderful breakfasts, great accomodations and delightful hosts! A truly winning combination!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at the Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast. We had traveled to the area with my sister and brother in law, both avid Maine travelers for many years. Through those years, I had heard my sisters opinions of the various Inns and Bed and Breakfast establishments they had visited, and there were many. Always, The Captain's Watch was their favorite in all ways. Naturally, it was on top of the list of establishments they wanted to share. Expectations where high, and they were certainly met. The Captain's Watch is perfect in our opinion. It's location at Cundy's Harbor is amazing, as is the 1860's era inn itself. Add the personal touch of Inn Keepers Donna & Ken, and Donna's amazing breakfasts, and you simply have the perfect Maine destination.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rmcdermid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed two nights at the Captain's Watch and enjoyed it very much. Normally, we have either stayed with relatives in Freeport or rented a house in Harpswell but this time we chose a B&B as we had limited time to travel. Donna and Ken are fun hosts and know a great deal about the area of Harpswell and surrounding towns with excellent recommendations of things to do. I felt very much at home by her welcome. Next time, we plan on sailing with Ken on his sailboat! Donna's breakfasts were excellent and filling which left us with no desire for lunch!
Accommodations very comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: We were showed several rooms on the 2nd floor. The one we chose had views of Cundy's Harbor. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bqbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Not a thing to complain about. We wish we had discovered the Captain's Watch years ago. Very clean, quiet (well, there are lobster boats puttering about in the harbor, but not very noisy... and it's a working harbor after all), very clean and excellent, varied breakfasts. Noteworthy was the conversation at breakfast with some fascinating guests; this place attracts some very nice people!

Donna is ready early each morning with good coffee and seems to enjoy having people in her kitchen. Ken pitches in when not taking out a sailing charter. Library and several wharfs just a short walk away. The view from the cupola is quite nice.

Lastly, their "sitting room" has comfortable couches and chairs and a fine stock of reading material to augment the strong internet wifi signal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brits4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpswell
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
8.9 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
11.7 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
2.3 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
6.1 mi away
Stonehouse Manor at Popham Beach B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast
Address: 926 Cundys Harbor Rd, Harpswell, ME 04079-4511
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Harpswell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harpswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Captain's Watch Bed And Breakfast Harpswell, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing