We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet cottages hillside overlooking maple syrup farm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Hill Farm and Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hiram
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oak Hill Farm and Cottages
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Sweet cottages hillside overlooking maple syrup farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

This gem is sweet for reasons that go way beyond maple syrup. My wife and I stayed in Bear cottage, which has a great porch, cute daybed and a sprawling king. But the real treat is Sue and Art, the owners. Sue is a renaissance woman: she is an herbalist, a shaman, and a great innkeeper. Art is a retired ship captain whose pride in his maple syrup shines through. The place is great value, and provides a logical base to explore Cornish and Sebago Lake.

Room Tip: Bear cottage is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATL_JCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

These beautiful cottages in the hills of Hiram, Maine are the perfect place for a family get-away or romantic trip for 2. There are 3 small cottages with 2 or 3 beds, a full bath and microwave, fridge and coffee makers. There are spacious sitting areas as well, and plenty of books, games and movies, although we are usually too busy outside to use those. There is a larger cabin which sleeps 5 or 6 (3 double beds) and has a full kitchen. When we stay, it is my grown siblings and I and we each have a cabin and convene in the bigger cabin for meals.

The cottages are spotless, the hosts gracious and the surrounding towns quite quaint. You'll want to bring cream for the coffee if you drink it, and food if you are staying in the larger cabin and want to cook. Otherwise, they supply you with menus of the local restaurants. The inn owner makes her own teas and stocks the rooms with them, and they provide bottle openers and wine glasses.

The smaller cabins are closed from Thanksgiving to April 1, but the larger cabin is open year round. The farm also makes their own maple syrup!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seagirl545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

This was the greatest vacation my family has gone on! There was no TV stations due to location, so we watched movies that were in the room on a DVD Player and VHS Player(also in the room). We had a great time, there was a great ac in the room! The water was from a spring, it tasted great! The maple syrup tasted amazing too! It was just a great stay, we wish it could've lasted longer!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37Shawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 955 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

What a wonderful place to stay, when you want to see Maine's glorious fall foliage, enjoy the endless woods, rivers and streams, and dine on the best seafood you can imagine.

This property has three spacious lodges, each with pine beamed ceilings, open plan concept and comfortable ambience. Every detail has been considered, and although television reception is non-existent in this location, they allow for it and provide multiple movies on DVD.

Breakfast is not included, but there is Krista's right in downtown Cornish, only a couple of miles from the lodges. For an excellent seafood dinner in casual comfort, try the Bay Haven. The lobster BUN is amazing.

The hosts were friendly and available as needed, but not intrusive by any means. We would return to their pine cottages.

  • Liked — Loction and ambience of cottage
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Quality1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiram
12.6 mi away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Oak Hill Farm and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Hill Farm and Cottages

Property: Oak Hill Farm and Cottages
Address: 14 Husky Haven, Hiram, ME 04041-3548
Region: United States > Maine > Hiram
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hiram
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at Oak Hill Farm consist of three open floor plan lodges with screen porches, heat and air conditioning. Bear Lodge offers a king bed and twin alcove bed. Wolf has two queens and a twin alcove bed. Eagle has two queen beds and a queen sofa bed. Our housekeeping cottage has a queen bed in the private bedroom, a queen bed in the open floor plan bedroom and a queen sofa bed in the living room as well as a fully equipped kitchen and three-season porch. We are located on a 120 acre wooded hillside with spectacular views from the top of Oak Hill - a 45 minute hike from your cottage door. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing