We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oak Hill Farms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hiram
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oak Hill Farm and Cottages
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Oak Hill Farms is a quiet, lovely setting away from the daily hustle and bustle...My friends and I stayed in Wolf Cottage and found the accomodations to be comfortable, affordable, and peaceful. Capt. Art and Sue Melanson are very knowledgeable about the area and will do anything to make you feel at home!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klbumpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Staying at Oak Hill Farms is a great place to get away from it all. Capt Art and Sue Melanson Are the best host and hostess in the world. They will do whatever it takes to make your stay very pleasant. With a short drive you can get whatever you want so don't worry. Cool crisp mornings and a star filled sky at night are breath taking. Everyone should vacation there at least once in your life. I can promise, you will want to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This gem is sweet for reasons that go way beyond maple syrup. My wife and I stayed in Bear cottage, which has a great porch, cute daybed and a sprawling king. But the real treat is Sue and Art, the owners. Sue is a renaissance woman: she is an herbalist, a shaman, and a great innkeeper. Art is a retired ship captain whose pride in his maple syrup shines through. The place is great value, and provides a logical base to explore Cornish and Sebago Lake.

Room Tip: Bear cottage is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATL_JCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

These beautiful cottages in the hills of Hiram, Maine are the perfect place for a family get-away or romantic trip for 2. There are 3 small cottages with 2 or 3 beds, a full bath and microwave, fridge and coffee makers. There are spacious sitting areas as well, and plenty of books, games and movies, although we are usually too busy outside to use those. There is a larger cabin which sleeps 5 or 6 (3 double beds) and has a full kitchen. When we stay, it is my grown siblings and I and we each have a cabin and convene in the bigger cabin for meals.

The cottages are spotless, the hosts gracious and the surrounding towns quite quaint. You'll want to bring cream for the coffee if you drink it, and food if you are staying in the larger cabin and want to cook. Otherwise, they supply you with menus of the local restaurants. The inn owner makes her own teas and stocks the rooms with them, and they provide bottle openers and wine glasses.

The smaller cabins are closed from Thanksgiving to April 1, but the larger cabin is open year round. The farm also makes their own maple syrup!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElleMeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

This was the greatest vacation my family has gone on! There was no TV stations due to location, so we watched movies that were in the room on a DVD Player and VHS Player(also in the room). We had a great time, there was a great ac in the room! The water was from a spring, it tasted great! The maple syrup tasted amazing too! It was just a great stay, we wish it could've lasted longer!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 37Shawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

What a wonderful place to stay, when you want to see Maine's glorious fall foliage, enjoy the endless woods, rivers and streams, and dine on the best seafood you can imagine.

This property has three spacious lodges, each with pine beamed ceilings, open plan concept and comfortable ambience. Every detail has been considered, and although television reception is non-existent in this location, they allow for it and provide multiple movies on DVD.

Breakfast is not included, but there is Krista's right in downtown Cornish, only a couple of miles from the lodges. For an excellent seafood dinner in casual comfort, try the Bay Haven. The lobster BUN is amazing.

The hosts were friendly and available as needed, but not intrusive by any means. We would return to their pine cottages.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Quality1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oak Hill Farm and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Hill Farm and Cottages

Address: 14 Husky Hvn, Hiram, ME 04041-3548
Region: United States > Maine > Hiram
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hiram
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at Oak Hill Farm consist of three open floor plan lodges with screen porches, heat and air conditioning. Bear Lodge offers a king bed and twin alcove bed. Wolf has two queens and a twin alcove bed. Eagle has two queen beds and a queen sofa bed. Our housekeeping cottage has a queen bed in the private bedroom, a queen bed in the open floor plan bedroom and a queen sofa bed in the living room as well as a fully equipped kitchen and three-season porch. We are located on a 120 acre wooded hillside with spectacular views from the top of Oak Hill - a 45 minute hike from your cottage door. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing