We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect combination of Surfing and Yoga” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karma Surf Retreat Lisbon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malveira da Serra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Karma Surf Retreat Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Perfect combination of Surfing and Yoga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our stay at Karma Surf Retreat was excellent and the combination of surfing and yoga was perfect. Nice People, great accommodation, a superb breakfast, nice things to see and do, nice waves and last but certainly not least great instructors and hosts. If you’re looking for an active and relaxing holiday, look no further and book a week in Karma Surf Retreat

Bas en Annelies
The Hague, The Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bwieringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens K, Inhaber at Karma Surf Retreat Lisbon, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Bedankt! :-)
It was a pleasure to be your host. Hope to see soon again!
Kind regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
12
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Karma Surf Retreat Algarve Villa is a great place for a relaxing, fun but also active holiday. Nice location with beautiful pool, lovely rooms and good food. The yoga by Jenny and Igor is adapted to the needs of the group and really good after a day of surfing. And the surf instructors are fun, good teachers and very patient. Hosts Sabine and Jamie are super friendly and you can see they enjoy what they are doing. They make you feel very welcome!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Else H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens K, Inhaber at Karma Surf Retreat Lisbon, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Dear Else,
thank you very much for your good feedback! We will pass it on!
We are glad you enjoyed our second location in the south ouf Portugal (south-west Algarve)!
New dates for 2015 for Algarve villa have been released. Check our website if you plan on visiting us again this year. :-)
Kind regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

It's just all made with brain and lots of love: the accommodation, breakfast, lunch, the yoga and the funny surf lessons. Thanks to Jens and Timo, Jessica, Silvia, Annett and Leonor but also Luis and Rogerio I just had one unforgettable week which gave me plenty of power and good energy. Just on like this, guys! See you soon:)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssusong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens K, Inhaber at Karma Surf Retreat Lisbon, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Wow! Thanks a lot! We feel honoured and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Would be great to see you again!
Warmest, Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Probably the best way to experience yoga, surfing and amazing Portugal. Great instructors, amazing food, fabulous nature. Not a second to be bored – always in the move, always discovering something new about the world. Great people around you will make this experience even better. No time to hesitate, go to Portugal and experience Karma&Surf retreat. Looking forward to come back already.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0gaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens K, Inhaber at Karma Surf Retreat Lisbon, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Thank you very much! :-)
We will pass on all praise!
Looking forward to seeing you again.
All the best,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I had the pleasure of being here in early April. The owners, Timo and Janz share a dream of really creating a special place for people to truly retreat. They balance the activities of Surfing and Yoga with downtime well, and make sure you have space and time to truely relax. For me I became sore for a couple of days due to my upperbody being not in good enough shape so I had some sore mornings that were improved by the yoga of the morning. By the end I felt happy as I had overcome the soreness and surfed as much as I could. I highly recommend this retreat and wish I could go again but it is a bit far from Canada!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solotravellereurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens K, Inhaber at Karma Surf Retreat Lisbon, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Thank you! :-) We feel honoured you having stayed with us! Its true that both activities match perfectly and if not used to it (in most cases) make you feel your bodys muscles on day 3. Thats why we we offer also nice muscle soothing and relaxing massages on wednesday. Would be great to see you again. Best, Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I returned from Portugal few weeks ago where I had an great stay at the Karma Surf Retreat. Due to an injury I was not able to surf but still enjoyed the trips to the beach every day and was able to try body boarding for the first time (it seems to be a huge thing in Portugal.) I was also very pleased with the twice-a-day yoga lessons, half of which were in the Iyengar style and the other half vinyasa flow. There is also a ton of other stuff to do in addition to yoga and surf.

The accommodation is nice, clean and spacious with a huge garden and a great view to the sea - really a place to chill out after your surf lessons and before/after yoga. Food is great too and vast majority of it was vegetarian which I was happy about.

The best thing however were the people: Time, Jens and Alina run the place in a well organised, yet very relaxed, manner and I felt really well taken care of from start to end. I definitely see myself going back, especially now knowing how accessible Cascais is from the Lisbon airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElinaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens K, Inhaber at Karma Surf Retreat Lisbon, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Hi Elina,
thank you very much! Was a pleasure to have you staying with us! Next time you gotta try surfing though. ;-)
Best wishes, Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I went to Karma with two girlfriends and we stayed in the cottage. We had an incredible week of yoga and surfing (especially as relative novices)! Jens and Timo were fabulous hosts and the villa was tranquil and beautiful. We came back relaxed and ready to carry on with the yoga (surfing sadly isn't possible in London!). There was a great international mix of guests and everyone was fun and enthusiastic. One of our group re-visited a couple of months later and we would all love to repeat the holiday next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drifternix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens K, Inhaber at Karma Surf Retreat Lisbon, responded to this review, 1 April 2015
Allthough the cottage is not available anymore, we would be happy to have you here again!
Thank you for the nice words. We are happy you enjoyed your holidays with us.
It also is nice to hear people that come together at Karma Retreats meet afterwards and build friendships! Very nice!
Looking forward to seeing you again!
Kind regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malveira da Serra
2.7 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
3.4 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Salty Pelican Beach Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#1 of 11 in Colares
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.4 mi away
Penha Longa Resort
15.9 mi away
Surf Yoga Portugal
Surf Yoga Portugal
#7 of 53 in Ericeira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Surf Retreat Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Surf Retreat Lisbon

Property: Karma Surf Retreat Lisbon
Address: Caminho Uruguai, Malveira da Serra 2750, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Malveira da Serra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Malveira da Serra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer exclusive surf and yoga holidays in a villa with pool and sea view in Portugal.The Karma Surf Retreat is situated close to Lisbon in a small picturesque mountain village, Malveira da Serra, in the Serra de Sintra, a nature reserve. The Lisbon region and the Ocean offer many recreational activities (mountain biking, hiking, golf, water sports, culture, sightseeing, etc.). Yoga and surfing lessons are included. For families, we also offer child care. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing