We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No place like this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivey's Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ivey's Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Houlton
Certificate of Excellence
Gorham, ME
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No place like this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2007

This place is my home from home!! The staff is great. The owner is great. And the rooms are the best in town!!! I am in town twice a month, always have the same room. I would never stay at those other places......

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank welovethisplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    77
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
60
63
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nova scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2007

We stayed at this hotel on our way down to New York and our way back. We had a different room each time and both rooms were a good size, very clean and comfortable. Check was quick and easy but the staff working the Reception desk each time could have been more pleasant.

The Continental breakfast the first day wasn't too bad but 10 days later, it wasn't as good. By 9:00 there really wasn't anything left.

Other than the reception ladies (maybe they were both having a bad day?), I would absolutely stay again. Houlton is quite small and there isn't many choices but this place always seemed to be full. Another indication I guess that it's a popular place to stay in the area.

  • Liked — Rooms were large and very clean
  • Disliked — The Reception staff weren't nice
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank haligonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shapleigh, ME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2007

We stopped at the property directly. I went in and asked if they had a room for 2 adults 2 children. She hestitated and then looked at the book and said do you have a reservation I said "no" well we are booked. My husband then called from our cell phone. He was told they have a room and asked for credit card information, then someone in the background said to ask if there were kids, and we were told no kids in the queen rooms. They have just redone all the queen bed rooms and do not want kids in them. We have stayed there before and it is very nice, but will not go back after this experience. How much damage can a 2 year old do?

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelerfromMaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holden Ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2006

We went to Houlton because of a family death.. Our stay at Iveys was a big help to our funeral arangements and places to eat, town offices and all other needed info.. We now go there to get away from the stress here in Massachusetts. Great staff, very clean rooms and a lounge to relax in. We also stay in the same room, its like our 2nd home. We highly recomend Iveys

  • Liked — It is a great stay
  • Disliked — all was fine
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank olratso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2006

I've stayed in a lot of motels during the past year, and this was by far the nicest. The check-in was friendly, and when I opend the door to the room, I couldn't believe how big it was. The decor looks straight out of the 60's, which in this case is a compliment because everything is meticulously maintained and sparkling clean!
For example: there are switches next to the headboard that control the lights throughout the room without leaving bed (that actually work) and 'sanitized for your protection' wrappers on the toilet seat! The room featured coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge and DVD player.

If life takes you to the Houlton area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank H.Krustofsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburg new hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2006

Ivey's is a great place. It is very clean and the entire staff is friendly and goes above and beyond to be helpful.

We've stayed here repeatedly over the past couple years and have never been sorry or even considered looking into another facility.

Ivey's has just put on a new addition to accomodate more guests. They have a cozy lounge. It's not a "bar" atmosphere that will interfere with your quiet time. It's a friendly, intimate setting. More like a "Cheers" atmosphere.

Ivey's is also easy on/easy off Route 95 and everything you need is close by.

Do yourself a favor....stay at Ivey's. You won't be sorry!

Best regards,

forvieremd

  • Liked — Everything. Seriously can't think of a complaint to share with you.
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about -- wow! That's a first!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank forviere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornish, Me
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2006

I have been going to the Houlton area for a few months, working on a nearby camp. I was staying at another motel in the area while during my stay the motel changed the price of the room. I decided to try one of the other properties when i happened upon Ivey's. It is a very comfortable motel with a great deal of amenities that you would find in one of your larger more expensive chains. The staff is absolutely a pleasure to chat with and the price was even better than what I had been paying. I personally will stay there whenever i return to the Houlton area.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tangledsheets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houlton
0.2 mi away
Shiretown Motor Inn
Shiretown Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Houlton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
11.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Woodstock Hotel & Conference Centre
10.8 mi away
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB
11.4 mi away
Knights Inn Woodstock
Knights Inn Woodstock
#1 of 1 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Peak Sunset B&B
The Peak Sunset B&B
#1 of 1 in Grafton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey's Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey's Motor Lodge

Property: Ivey's Motor Lodge
Address: 241 North St, Exit 302 I95, Houlton, ME 04730-3545
Region: United States > Maine > Houlton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Houlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ivey's Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ivey's is located at exit 302 just off I-95. It is the closest property to the US and Canadian border. Offering a variety of room types and sizes Ivey's provides a pleasant nights rest. Now with a complete breakfast to get any traveler started. Ivey's has it all, from a hot breakfast in the morning to a hot bowl of soup. Stop by O'Kelly's for a night cap before you turn in and meet some of the locals for a good time. All rooms are serviced by interior corridors with a complete video security system both inside and out to protect your property. The staff at Ivey's not only leaves the light on for you, but they also wait up for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Ivey's Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey`s Motor Hotel Houlton
Iveys Hotel Houlton
Iveys Motel Houlton
Ivey's Motor Lodge Houlton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing