We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shiretown Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Houlton
Charlotte
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Rates”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This Motel is family run and they do try to help you in all that they can. However, stay in the NEWLY renovated part and pay the little extra as the older section really need work. No smoking rooms have smoke smell that hits you like a brick when you walk in and are not really up to par with the new section. The new section is very nice and everything is comfortable. The staff is very helpful but little things do pop up like toilets not flushing.

Room Tip: Rooms in the NEW section are very nice. The older section not so nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
20
14
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our car broke down and we had to get towed to here. The desk clerk was very kind to us. We were traveling with 2 adult dogs and a puppy we had just picked up.She did not charge us for the 3 dogs and, the next day, when our vehicle was not ready at checkout time, she allowed us to stay as long as it was going to take. I know the cleaning crew were trying to get our room done and get home, but, they too, told us not to worry. We were so very grateful. I would highly recommend them for these acts of kindness alone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It was snowing, we were tired from driving for many hours and found this motel on the main road, it was the only place we saw in this remote area. We went in to get a room, the lobby wasn't bad so we took a room. I'm not big on motels anyway but when we walked around back to our room there were about 25 people standing about 30 feet from our door. There was a bar right in the back of the hotel we didn't notice until we got to the room which is why the people were hanging around. I'm normally a live and let live, have fun, but I was a little afraid there. The clerk never mentioned the bar. Being so tired, I just wanted to sleep, I propped up the luggage rack against the door and tried but it was loud until late.
The price of the room was ridiculous $90. The beds were like rocks everything was old, even the TV was the old big box and didn't work well. I was wondering if this was normally a rent by the hour type of place. We decided to stay because we were so tired and got up and out early in the morning even though there was a raging snow storm. If I ever go back to this area you can bet I will plan better and won't be stopping for the night.

Room Tip: The only tip I have is avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Houlton hotels

Belfast, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Clean and pretty up-to-date rooms. I really enjoyed the pool area, towels could be a bit bigger. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Hotel is right on the trails and in close proximity to pretty much whatever Houlton has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainetraveler8810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorham, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

It had been years since I had stayed here but found myself in town again for work. I was satisfied with this stay, my room was in the remodeled section and I found it to be adequate, clean, warm and a comfy bed. The Wi-Fi worked well and I enjoyed the microwave and refrigerator. Would stay here again in the future. Just make certain you ask to be in the renovated section.

Room Tip: Ask for the remodeled section
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 753 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We used to stay here every year on our way up to Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia. The Motor Inn was fine for a night's stay - nothing special, but a place to put your head down and get some rest, especially if you get a room on the side away from the road. Free wi-fi is good. And, there's an Irving Big Stop across the street for dinner. Not good food, but food and close. Shiretown offers a complimentary breakfast in the tiny lobby, the standard quick fare but enough to satisfy without having to stop at Tim Horton's before continuing your journey

This year, however, we learned that it is just as easy - if not easier - to cross the border at night (after a 9 hour drive) and spend the night in Woodstock at the Howard Johnson.

The Shiretown has a good location if you want to stay in the US and make the crossing in the morning. But we found on this trip that crossing the border at dinner time was quick and easy, easier than in the morning, allows you to have a good night's sleep without worrying about the crossing, and gives you a leg up on the next day's drive.

Room Tip: Select a room in the block that faces away from the road. #146-154 have direct access from parking...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hfot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

On the last night of our Girls Trip to Maine we decided to stay in Houlton. We enlisted the help of Google to find out which hotels were in the town. We stopped at the Shiretown and liked the price so we decided to check it out. The building we were given a room in was a rebuild after a fire a couple of years ago. I could find nothing wrong with the room. It had two double beds, a full bathroom and an additional sink outside the bathroom. Flat screen TV mounted on the wall, big mini fridge, microwave, two chairs and a nice sized table in the corner as well as a writing desk. The room was clean and well kept. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

They also had a complimentary continental breakfast that had english muffins, toast, cereal, coffee, tea, juice, yogurt. I can't remember if they had bagels or not. I think there may have been bananas too.

The hotel also had an indoor pool as well as a bar by the pool. We didn't get a chance to check out the pool or bar. Within walking distance there is a Wal-Mart, grocery store, Tim Horton's and a couple of service stations. A short drive there is a MacDonald and a Pizza Restaurant.

My friends and I were very happy with this hotel and would have no problem recommending it to others. The town of Houlton is also a nice spot to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer front building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissKittyNemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houlton
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Woodstock Hotel & Conference Centre
11.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB
11.0 mi away
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ivey's Motor Lodge
Ivey's Motor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Houlton
202 reviews
11.4 mi away
Knights Inn Woodstock
Knights Inn Woodstock
#1 of 1 in Jacksonville
72 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Peak Sunset B&B
The Peak Sunset B&B
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiretown Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiretown Motor Inn

Property: Shiretown Motor Inn
Address: 282 North St, Houlton, ME 04730-3530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Houlton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Houlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shiretown Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Intersection of I 95 and Us Route 1, The Shiretown Inn and Suites offers 57 clean comfortable rooms and suites, an indoor pool and poolside lounge, Sports Pub, fitness center, and banquet rooms to accommodate 300 guests. All rooms are equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, Flat screen cable TV with HBO. Newly renovated. Free continental breakfast. Snowmobiling and ATV trails at our door. Only 3 miles from the Canadian border. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Shiretown Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiretown Hotel Houlton
Shiretown Motor Inn Houlton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing