We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owner operated with pride” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stardust Motel

Stardust Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Houlton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stardust Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Houlton
Haneyville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Owner operated with pride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We came to Maine for various reasons, and we needed a reasonably priced room for our purposes. We reserved with StarDust Motel and loved it. The place is clean, quite, and well taken care of. The owner takes pride in his motel, and is so nice to deal with.

We will stay here again when we pass through the area next time.

Room Tip: Seem to be all the same and all very nice from what we could see....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    11
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
8
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just completed a week at this motel as part of an annual fishing trip in Maine. The motel is owned and operated by a great guy (Richard) who lives on the property. It is an older property, but has been well maintained. The rooms are spacious, clean, and reasonable for the area. I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to travelers passing through the area...ATV and snowmobile enthusiast will find this property accommodating with access to local trails.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMcNulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We only found 3 options for overnight accommodations in Houlton, Maine. This motel was a couple miles off rt. 95. Rooms were neat and clean, no frills. They did have a refrigerator, but no ice machine. Fine for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papergirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Not only were the beds hard but believe it or not the pillows were actually hard as rocks too! The sound of traffic going by is pretty unbearable. This motel is located right along the main drag and the sound of tractor trailers all night made this stay pretty miserable. It was just an overnight stay but between the hardness of the beds and pillows and the noise we would have been better off continuing on to a more populated area.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there being a good room as this is a one floor motel and right along the main hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NB
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

There isn't much options for hotels in Houlton but this was good for one night for my mom and I. We just wanted a clean place to stay for the night at a good price and for $70, it was great for us. This place was actually cleaner than a Holiday Inn I've stayed at, at an even higher price. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Halifax, Vermont
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were on our way to PEI and needed a place to stay on our way from VT. The room was large, spotless and very well maintained. The rug was pristine, the beds quite comfortable, the bathroom easy to maneuver. The owner recommended a nice restaurant in the downtown area less than a ten minute ride away.
We'd stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgsvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houlton, Maine
Level Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stopped here when other motels were full in the area due to a large community function.I had a cat in a carrier who is very old and no trouble.I was rudely told NO pets except service animals
(there was a small sign indicating this)I had to sleep in my car as a result in terrible weather conditions.I confer often with people crossing the border and who need accommodations in the area.I would never send them here whether they had pets on not.I wish someone would reopen the Scottish Inn.Houlton desperately needs this location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houlton hotels
1.9 mi away
Shiretown Motor Inn
Shiretown Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Houlton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ivey's Motor Lodge
Ivey's Motor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Houlton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Motel

Property: Stardust Motel
Address: 672 North Street, Houlton, ME 04730
Region: United States > Maine > Houlton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Houlton
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel Houlton
Stardust Motel Houlton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing