We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have stayed ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Would have stayed ...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I was referred to this location by a local realtor who recommended this and Eden Village. While researching, I tried to call The Colony several time, but the hotel would not answer the phone. When they did, I was hung up on. Thought it was a fluke, so I tried -- two other times. Same result.

What a shame. We will look elsewhere for our upcoming stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amybindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    59
    21
    9
    19
See reviews for
65
64
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

The Colony was a perfect location for our hiking holiday in Acadia National Park. We stayed in cottage #2 for 5 days. The view of the bay was lovely in the morning. The cottage decor was dated but that really didn't matter, the bed was firm for a restful sleep, the a/c worked great, the shower pressure was excellent plus the room and property was very clean. It is a peaceful place to stay instead of the crowds in Bar Harbor. In summary, next time we will stay for a week.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

Nice little cottage. Clean bathroom. They take dogs which is was why we chose it. The grounds are nice. The pool is very clean. The bathroom is clean. The dog path is nice too. One drawback is The blanket on queen bed is shredded on the sides hanging down. Makes it look run down. The othr thing was, no one was at the office when we arrived at 530. There was a note on the door addressed to us about which cottage was ours and where the key was. But checkin is after 3 so why no one in office at 530? One other item we founding odd was paying for the ice from the ice machine. But other than that good value for what it is.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We spent 2 nights in cottage no. 2 in early August. The cottage was large for a one bedroom and had everything you need, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The furniture was rather large and did not quite match the setting but it was fine. The location is great with a private beach just across the road. We walked to the nearby general store for breakfast sandwiches and coffee and ate it on the beach with a great view down the bay toward Bar Harbor. Bar Harbor is a short 8 minute drive so you really can't beat this spot.

Room Tip: Closer to the road is actually better since you have a better view of the water from you porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olean, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Colony was just what my wife and I wanted. Close to Acadia National Park, yet far from the noise and crowds of Bar Harbor. Also we had our own cottage with a view of the cove that was an exta bonus. Got into Bar Harbor around noon and stopped by the office for a map of the area and to let them know we were there. They suggested a place to eat that was close by, but we wanted to walk around Bar Harbor that was just down the road. After a visit and lunch in Bar Harbor we checked into a very clean and quaint cottage with a king bed, private bath, porch with chairs, and Internet to catchup on e-mail. After check-in we went for a walk on the cove at low tide, then back into Bar Harbor for dinner.

The next morning we made our way to Acadia after a stop for breakfast sandwiches at the general store down the street. Did the park loop and was able to come back to freshen up before going to dinner at Jordan's Pond. Did Cadilac Mountain the next morning for sunrise which is a short distance and worth the experience.

If you are looking to see Acadia, Bar Harbor, have privacy, and stay on a budget then The Colony is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfwelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We rented both sides of the duplex #28, it was basic, clean, had everything we needed. good location near park and Bar Harbor but out of town, across from the ocean, nice views. On the main drag but we were far enough away you don't even hear it. For my needs I chose just the right place. Family run, they were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

The place is nice for the price and the owners were polite. For anyone that whats to visit bar harbor or Acadia stay here. I will say that the rooms never have any hair or dirty sheets and bed bugs are never seen. I hope that others can enjoy this The Colony too.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulls Cove
1.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
1.9 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.5 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony on Frenchman's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Property: The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Address: # 20 rr3, Hulls Cove, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor > Hulls Cove
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Colony on Frenchman's Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your The Colony on Frenchman's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony On Frenchman`s Bay Hotel Hulls Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing