We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

We chose this motel because it was close to the water and because it was a few minutes drive to Bar Harbor.

We rented 1/2 a cottage that had a double bed, two chairs, TV with cable. Price was very reasonable compared to other motels in the area; however, it reflects the fact that this establishment is old and needs updating (furniture & linens expecially). Bathroom was very clean.

Staff was very nice and had good recommendations when we asked about restaurants.

  • Liked — Price, location close to the water, private
  • Disliked — No extras in the room - i.e. blankets, pillows
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blueeyetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    59
    21
    9
    19
See reviews for
65
65
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

The Motel is a little out of the way from Bar Harbor, however very accessible by car. Check-in was quick and we were able to get a room with two doubles. Took advantage of the pool which was excellent, and the motel has a patch of beach just across the street which seemed nice. There are views of the ocean from most of the complex. Asked about wireless and was told since our room was close to the office we should be fine...I guess we must of been close because the wireless worked perfectly. Room was completely outdated....the most outdated I have seen in quit a while. This did not bother me at all as the room was clean and extremely large. Overall, it was defiantly worth driving from Bar Harbor, as the price was a lot less then what they were charge close to the center.

  • Liked — Grounds were very well kept
  • Disliked — Very outdated room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nevets_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
309 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

I stayed at The Colony with my boyfriend for four nights in a housekeeping cottage. The property is located on the main route through Mt. Desert Island, as many of the cottages and hotels are, but it is set back from the road so you can hardly hear traffic noise.

The Colony is located just a couple of minutes from the entrance to Acadia National park and the CAT Ferry to Nova Scotia, and it's only a short drive past that to downtown Bar Harbor. The property has its own rocky beach right across the street, and there are a couple of restaurants within walking distance.

Check-in was very simple, staff was pleasant. each cottage has its own parking space right next to it. Our cottage was very clean, but some of the decor was outdated. There was a living room with cable TV, a small kitchen with apartment size fridge/freezer, oven, and some dishes and silverware. There was a sleeper sofa as well. The bathroom was cramped and unattractive with a small stall shower. Be sure to bring your own bath products, as there is only soap. The bedroom had a double bed, two dressers, and closet. The bed linens were pretty dated.

Our cottage came with housekeeping, which seemed to include emptying garbages, replacing towels, a quick cleaning of surfaces, and making the bed. The room was not made up after we returned to the cottage on our second night, but a staff member brought over towels when we asked. There were no other housekeeping problems for the next two nights.

The Colony advertises WiFi, but it was sometimes hard to get a signal without having to put the computer in odd places in the cottage.

Overall, this is a great place to stay if you want affordable accommodations in a very convenient location, and don't care too much about decor or luxury.

  • Liked — Price, location, beach access
  • Disliked — Decor needs some updating
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nyllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2007

I would not recommend this place at all. When my family walked into the cottage, (which was held up by cinder blocks) we immediately sensed a damp, musty atmosphere. The windows and mirrors were fogged and the toilet paper was literally damp. Even the sheets were slightly wet. When we left the cottage, I felt the need to wash all of my clothes. I was also severely dissapointed by the total lack of tidal pools, which were advertised on the site. The only enjoyable part of my stay at the cottage was the talented bagpipe player, David Weeda, who performed a charming concert on the nearby rocks. Although Maine is well known for its rainy weather, I believe that The Colony could have done a much better job keeping the facilities sanitary. I hope you find this review helpful.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2007

The Colony is well located near both Bar Harbor and Acadia. Also convenient to all other Mt. Desert Island locations. The folks are friendly and caring. Excellent view of Frenchman's bay from the facility. While the facilities are not new, they are clean and comfortable. Excellent value. Our preferred location to stay when we visit the area.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank RPGJDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton,N.B
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2007

The owner was upset because she said we had booked for the previous day, anyway we ended up getting a cottage. The cottage is very well divided, livingroom with a love seat, chair, small fridge, microwave, TV and a double bed, a separate room with 2 single beds, adjoining door for the bathroom which was really nice... the furniture is very old and somewhat dirty, terrible musty smell, you had a little deck with 2 chairs..10 minutes from Bar Harbor, next time I will spend a little more money to get a cleaner smelling place..

  • Liked — Sitting outside
  • Disliked — The musty smell coming out of the furniture and carpets.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank T-Bo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2007

We stayed here in July, 2007 to see Acadia. We were only a few miles from Acadia and directly across the road from a typical Maine beach (gravel) that is owned by the Colony. At low tide you could walk the beach. We stayed in a two room cabin with double bed (or queen-don't remember) with a pull out sofa for our two boys. It's furniture was quite old but parts were remodeled. Plenty of closet and dresser space, air conditioning and a full kitchen with microwave and full refrigerator. Enough dishes and cooking pots to truly cook dinner with everything provided to clean up. Single shower no tub. Everything was very clean and for a family trying to save on the very expensive meals up in Maine, it was ideal. We'd stay there again. Easy access to all places of interest.

  • Liked — Kitchen
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulls Cove
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
1.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
2.0 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony on Frenchman's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Property: The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Address: # 20 rr3, Hulls Cove, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor > Hulls Cove
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Colony on Frenchman's Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Colony on Frenchman's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony On Frenchman`s Bay Hotel Hulls Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing