We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It fit the bill for me!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Reviewed 2 December 2009

I was just looking for a nice clean place to sleep after a long day of driving. For $70 including all taxes this place fit the bill for me. Stayed in a small room in one of the cabin rooms. Had a small porch out front, free WI-FI and a pool. The view across the street of the harbor is beautiful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeets37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2009

This family-owned and run hotel is located on a gently sloping hill overlooking the water. They welcomed our dog and even had a dog walk in the back. It is primarily cottages, and as we had a dog we stayed in a 1/2 cottage near the apple orchard/dog walk. The cottage was very clean, and we had 1 double bed, 1 single bed, and a nice sized bathroom. There was NO smell at all! The decor was older, but we cared much more about cleanliness, service and reasonable price, and this hotel delivered. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lem10ven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

This place was very nice. It was great to have a cottage versus a hotel/motel. We felt as though we had more privacy and were not disturbed by neighbors on the other side of the wall. There was a private beach across the street that is owned by the The Colony and also a restaurant within walking distance. It is close enough to town to spend the day shopping, yet far enough away to enjoy the quiet. The entrance to Acadia NP is on the way into town so there is a lot of scenic driving.

The pool was beautiful, though the days were a bit chilly for swimming.

We went with two teenage girls and had a separate bedroom for them and one for my husband and myself. That arrangement worked out very well. There was a microwave and small refrigerator. There were dressers and plenty of closet space for extended stays.

The only complaint my husand and I had was the fact that WiFi is advertised on the sign and we were told upon inquiring that our cottage was too far from the office to reach the signal. We found that a bit frustrating and misleading. And aside from the outdated decor (including a rotary phone!) the place was clean and we would definately go again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seehorse72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. Our rooms were cleaned everyday. It was a basic room with all the basic amenities including microwave and referigerator. No complaints. We had to spend few nights and it was good. We were outdoors most of the time and all we need is a clean and comfortable room to sleep at night. I would recommend this to everyone. Prices are very reasonable and so close to Acadia and Bar harbor downtown. Highly recomended for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

As a resident of the Bar Harbor area, I knew that the Colony would be the ONLY place I would want my guests to stay when I got married this June.

The view is nothing short of breath-taking and when the piper comes on Saturdays, there is not a more perfect spot on this entire earth. The rooms are very clean and Jean and her sons were welcoming and accommodating. My guests were so happy with their stay and they loved being able to walk the grounds and meander from cabin to cabin, visiting with family and friends.

Thank you, Jean, for making this the most wonderful and amazing weekend of my life. You have given our families memories that will last a lifetime!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

We were kept awake all night by drunk people right next door, (same cabin) and nobody ever came to throw them out. The phone was working but I tried to reach the owners but no response. I sincerely hate this place. I don't recommand this place to anyone. Furthermore, it was wet and smelled really bad inside these cabins. Please don't go there.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ko570a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We chose this motel because it was close to the water and because it was a few minutes drive to Bar Harbor.

We rented 1/2 a cottage that had a double bed, two chairs, TV with cable. Price was very reasonable compared to other motels in the area; however, it reflects the fact that this establishment is old and needs updating (furniture & linens expecially). Bathroom was very clean.

Staff was very nice and had good recommendations when we asked about restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blueeyetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulls Cove
2.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
448 reviews
1.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.5 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony on Frenchman's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Address: # 20 Rr3, Hulls Cove, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor > Hulls Cove
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Price Range: £77 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Colony on Frenchman's Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Colony on Frenchman's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony On Frenchman`s Bay Hotel Hulls Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing