We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

We've stayed here a number of times and have met people who have been coming here for 30 years or more. Everyone here is very friendly and helpful and the cottages are very clean and well appointed. Our dog appreciated the dog walk area in the apple orchard, there are often deer to be seen there. There is an interesting historical marker up the hill past the maintenance shed. Saturdays are a special treat when Dave comes and plays his bagpipes on the grounds and down on the beach. Where else would you get all this? (And at quite the reasonable price too)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank perrocaliente49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    59
    21
    9
    19
See reviews for
65
64
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tremblant
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

We loved the Colony. The staff was very friendly and the service was great. They even provided us with a picnic table and music for our lobster dinner. The pool area was terrific. The decor is minimal but everything we needed was there . No frills. The view of the ocean was wonderful and we took our morning coffee down to the shore each morning. We will definately return. Wonderful value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendasboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

I was just looking for a nice clean place to sleep after a long day of driving. For $70 including all taxes this place fit the bill for me. Stayed in a small room in one of the cabin rooms. Had a small porch out front, free WI-FI and a pool. The view across the street of the harbor is beautiful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeets37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

This family-owned and run hotel is located on a gently sloping hill overlooking the water. They welcomed our dog and even had a dog walk in the back. It is primarily cottages, and as we had a dog we stayed in a 1/2 cottage near the apple orchard/dog walk. The cottage was very clean, and we had 1 double bed, 1 single bed, and a nice sized bathroom. There was NO smell at all! The decor was older, but we cared much more about cleanliness, service and reasonable price, and this hotel delivered. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lem10ven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staatsburg, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

This place was very nice. It was great to have a cottage versus a hotel/motel. We felt as though we had more privacy and were not disturbed by neighbors on the other side of the wall. There was a private beach across the street that is owned by the The Colony and also a restaurant within walking distance. It is close enough to town to spend the day shopping, yet far enough away to enjoy the quiet. The entrance to Acadia NP is on the way into town so there is a lot of scenic driving.

The pool was beautiful, though the days were a bit chilly for swimming.

We went with two teenage girls and had a separate bedroom for them and one for my husband and myself. That arrangement worked out very well. There was a microwave and small refrigerator. There were dressers and plenty of closet space for extended stays.

The only complaint my husand and I had was the fact that WiFi is advertised on the sign and we were told upon inquiring that our cottage was too far from the office to reach the signal. We found that a bit frustrating and misleading. And aside from the outdated decor (including a rotary phone!) the place was clean and we would definately go again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seehorse72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. Our rooms were cleaned everyday. It was a basic room with all the basic amenities including microwave and referigerator. No complaints. We had to spend few nights and it was good. We were outdoors most of the time and all we need is a clean and comfortable room to sleep at night. I would recommend this to everyone. Prices are very reasonable and so close to Acadia and Bar harbor downtown. Highly recomended for the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

As a resident of the Bar Harbor area, I knew that the Colony would be the ONLY place I would want my guests to stay when I got married this June.

The view is nothing short of breath-taking and when the piper comes on Saturdays, there is not a more perfect spot on this entire earth. The rooms are very clean and Jean and her sons were welcoming and accommodating. My guests were so happy with their stay and they loved being able to walk the grounds and meander from cabin to cabin, visiting with family and friends.

Thank you, Jean, for making this the most wonderful and amazing weekend of my life. You have given our families memories that will last a lifetime!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulls Cove
1.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
1.9 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.5 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony on Frenchman's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Property: The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Address: # 20 rr3, Hulls Cove, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor > Hulls Cove
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Colony on Frenchman's Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your The Colony on Frenchman's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony On Frenchman`s Bay Hotel Hulls Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing