We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Place to Return to Again & Again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Island Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sewall House Yoga Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Island Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“A Place to Return to Again & Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The first time I arrived at Sewall House was in the evening. I arrived at dinner time with my hosts and guests around the table having a delicious vegetarian family style meal. I felt immediately embraced by the house and the company. I felt at home. I loved that the house was furnished with the Sewall family's original furnishings and memorabilia. My room had a 4 poster bed with a rocking chair and a quilt with birds embroidered on it. In the morning coffee was ready and I got to sit on the porch sipping it before the 8:00 am yoga. I had a week of yoga 2x's a day, 3 delish meals a day, boating and swimming in beautiful lakes and backwoods swimming holes, hiking through flower laden fields with Mt Katadin in the distance and splashed over rocks through rivers with tumbling waterfalls. I was in heaven on earth!!! I also liked that there wasn't a set regimen and guests could make their own plans and schedules although everyone usually showed up at the breakfast & dinner table. I also really enjoyed the other guests who found their way to Sewall House and came from many places and backgrounds. Donna and Kent provide a welcoming and supportive atmosphere and are great fun too! Donna is an amazing yoga teacher, Kent is a talented masseuse and the food is both enjoyable and satisfying. Add the pristine beauty of of nature in the Lake Country of Inner Maine and it's a place you'll find you want to return to again & again. I have 5 times!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
69
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I love my annual long-weekend getaways at Sewall House because they offer a different experience every time. This year, my fifth, I enjoyed summer fun on the lake with Donna, Kent and their extended family and guests. Sharing experiences with others seems counter-intutitive on a yoga retreat, but it is the unexpected conversations and listening to others that leads to learning more about yourself. Donna and Kent always make me feel like part of the family. Exceptional food, yoga, and massages! I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I searched the internet for three days before I found this rare gem! I needed a place that I could book on short notice within a specific time frame and that was within driving distance from Toronto. Granted it was a 13 hour drive, I felt this time was a part of my healing journey and it was well worth it to find EVERYTHING I was looking for: a warm, caring and safe environment to look inwards, two daily yoga sessions catering to all levels and optional meditation sessions, located in an area of natural beauty with lakes, trees as far as the eye can see, cleansing fresh air, nurturing healthy and tasty food and good, restorative nights of sleep. It was a tall order, but I found it and more at Sewall House!!
I was grateful for the 1-800 number and that Donna was there to answer my call when I dialed from a loud and busy city street. As a New York City resident, Donna understood the escape I was seeking to balance out the city life that I love. The moment we spoke on the phone, I knew this was the place I wanted to be and I was so right!
Sewell House has a long history of taking people in and caring for their needs. I was really lucky to be a part of this long tradition and to have Donna, who is the most amazing down-to-earth person and accomplished yoga teacher, and Asha, a vibrant, positive and talented young lady who was doing her teacher training with Donna and working as a chef there for the season, to spend time with and learn from. Because I arrived in between other guests' stays, I was spoiled with one-on-one instruction with Donna and even got to sit in on a few teacher training discussions along with Asha about the sutras and their applications to life. Asha was happy to spend some of her free time with me showing me around on a day trip to Bar Harbour (a most spectacularly beautiful place on this Earth), go star gazing (I forgot they were all there in the sky!), sauna sittings, go swimming, run through the woods.. you name it she was game and her energetic positivity was contagious. And Donna took us out on the lake on two glorious sunny days. I loved doing kundalini yoga on loon's ledge, a flat bed of rocks poking out from the calm waters, giving us the sense we were floating. It was truly goddess week!!
I had sought out a place where I could have the quiet and privacy I needed to reflect and feel, but found that I was so comfortable in Donna's and Asha's company, that instead of resorting to alone time, I came out of my shell and was compelled to be in their company. This is saying a lot for me! I also, for the first time in 20 years, took my mask off! I went my whole stay without any makeup on and it felt so good to be seen and accepted for who I am in the company of two naturally beautiful women, in and out.
Donna has so much knowledge and wisdom to share, and yogi Bhajan's voice flows through her. I am amazed at how Donna has managed to live in one of the easiest places in the world to lose oneself in the daily routine of "making it" or in the cultural desire for the accumulation of material goods, yet remain unaffected, perhaps even more resolved to live from the heart. Donna lives with integrity, focusing on the important and truly meaningful things in life. There is so much truth in the simplicity she exemplifies and inspires us with. It is Donna's faith in the yogic way of life to nurture the soul and the planet that keeps this unique gem of a retreat going, and I'm sure her good karma is doing its' fair bit! Having had such a tremendously moving and positive experience here, I want to share it with everyone. I honestly believe everyone and anyone can find what they're looking for here. I want to bring everyone I care about so they can experience the gift that Donna and Kent have offered to the world. I will always treasure my time at Sewall House in my heart, which was given what it needed so it could heal. I will also continue to practice what Donna taught me, having taken a part of her with me. I have two of her kundalini cds to guide me through life and keep me grounded and connected, when I'm back in the routine of my life in a fast paced city.
The last day that I was there, Donna's husband Kent had arrived, and treated me to a fusion of Thai yoga, Swedish, deep tissue, and reiki massage to release the tensions of an old spine injury I had suffered 4 years ago. Though weekly chiropractic over the years helped keep the pain at bay, I had plateaued in my healing and the pain started to intensify again as I reconnected with my body. Kent is a gifted massage therapist, who intuitively knows what the body is saying. After our session, for the first time in 4 years, I could actually move my neck in the normal range of motion. I felt opened up and on my drive home was able to check my blind spot with ease! Something I won't ever take for granted again! I fully trusted Kent to work his magic and I'm so grateful I was able to experience his gift before I left.
I was in good hands at Sewell house. I am grateful that it exists and that I found it. I want to thank Donna and Kent for all their hard work and devotion to their purpose of helping people to live peacefully and in good health and spirit. I hope Sewall House will always be there and that you find your way to it as well.
Peace be with you on your life journey. Namaste.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I was a bit nervous when I first booked this trip because I was going solo. But within minutes of meeting Donna and then arriving at Sewall House, any nervousness dissolved. Donna and Kent are so warm and friendly and are ideal B&B hosts. They truly care about their guests! Donna is an amazing yoga teacher with the ability to reach out to students on all levels and connect with them. Kent's massages are equally amazing. And I loved Asha's meals as well. I feel lucky to have to discovered Sewall House in this beautiful area of Maine. It was a great adventure that I hope to repeat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Staying at Sewall House felt like I was staying with family. From the time I arrived, I immediately felt at home. During the 5 days I stayed, I was the only guest to book that week and I was worried that this would lead to boredom. Fortunately Donna, Kent, and their beautiful chef Asha kept me company during the time we were not practicing yoga. The food was healthy and delicious. The air was pure and clean. It was my first time practicing yoga and I learned so much from Donna. Being the only guest afforded me plenty of time to pick Donna's brain and learn to practice yoga at my own pace. She even allowed me to record myself on my iphone during the sessions so that I can continue my practice at home. Outside of yoga class, I took a bike ride, spent the night at their cabin by the lake as well as kayaking, swimming, and canoeing. Overall this was a wonderful trip and I will likely make a return trip sometime in the future. Thanks Donna, Kent, and Asha for showing me a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Be_Prime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I don't normally write reviews and this is actually my first one on Trip Advisor. I cannot speak more highly of Donna and The Sewall House. A long journey from Boston was well worth the visit this past weekend. It is incredibly quiet both inside the house and out. The accommodations are lovely, clean and comfortable. I feel clean inside my body - I have been eating delicious home cooked vegetarian food, completely nourishing and satisfying. There is a beautiful sauna that you can use after Yoga or when the studio is not in use. As a Yoga practitioner and Teacher, I learned an incredible amount from Donna. She is vivacious, full of life, knowledgable, patient, kind, genuine and so accessible. Completely heart-centered, her classes, her wisdom and home are a rare treat in a modern world. I could say more, but instead I will recommend that you simply visit and spend a few days there. Meet Donna. She is a lighthouse of grace and wisdom.

Room Tip: I stayed with a friend. We selected the room downstairs next to the dining room as it has its own ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGHippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaineAmrita, Owner at Sewall House Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you so much for this kind review..Sewall House thanks you from the bottom of our hearts! We hope you visit again:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

I went with a group of seven, arranged by my yoga teacher. He'd been there several times and wanted to share the bliss! It's a magical place in a gorgeous setting with the kindest hosts you could imagine. Donna and Kent pull out all the stops when it comes to making their guests feel at home. Donna is an amazing yoga teacher and so generous with her knowledge and time. Also enjoyed the meditation sessions and Kent's live music and singing. The home is warm and inviting. The rooms are decorated with love and the beds are very comfortable. Kent is an amazing massage therapist and fabulous chef. Meals were served family style in a lovely dining room where we had a lot of laughs and got to know each other. Delicious gluten-free and vegan meals were provided for those w/special diets. Such a cozy, homey environment, we all left feeling refreshed, happy, well-fed, and touched by our hosts' kindness and generosity. There's plenty to do nearby, including canoeing/kayaking on the lake, hiking and there's even a golf course. It's tranquil and a great antidote to the everyday grind. We all loved it and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty_W33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Island Falls
22.6 mi away
Shiretown Motor Inn
Shiretown Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Houlton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
22.6 mi away
Ivey's Motor Lodge
Ivey's Motor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Houlton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Bradford House B&B
The Bradford House B&B
#1 of 1 in Patten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sewall House Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sewall House Yoga Retreat

Property: Sewall House Yoga Retreat
Address: 1027 Crystal Rd, Box 254, Island Falls, ME 04747-4357
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Island Falls
Amenities:
Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Island Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May through October is the ongoing season- Small personalized Yoga retreat/sauna/massage/healthy meals in an historic Bed and Breakfast in a small (Maine) New England Town, near lakes, hikes,waterfalls, an Amish community nearby, relax, renew. Since 1997- As featured in Instyle, Travel and Leisure, Yoga Journal and Shape. Over 30 years experience in the healing arts, all levels welcome. Owned and operated by veteran yoga instructor Donna Sewall Davidge (Amrita), teaching yoga and meditation since 1985, varied styles including Hatha, Kundalini, Ashtanga. Iyengar, Dharmayoga and vinyasa, some restorative and yoga nidra) Davidge's great grandfather William Sewall was nature guide to a young Theodore Roosevelt here, who healed from asthma and forged a lifelong friendship with his nature guide at Sewall House. Chosen top ten by Gayot worldwide two consecutive years. Come beat the crowds as we design your individualized retreat with you. Ms Davidge also holds a Masters in Nutrition and offers healthy delicious educational meals with guest chefs. Enjoy the natural beauty of northern Maine in this historic B and B reminiscent of a simpler time with all modern amenities. Wifi included. Massage and some outings (bikes/kayaks/hikes) are small additional fees. Sewall House is a great place to do yoga as you step away from the stresses of the challenges and changes of day to day life in modern times. Private rooms only - no dorms or sharing other than double occupancy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing