We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected surprise”

Islesford Dock Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Islesford
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We caught a late afternoon ferry to Islesford in order to explore the island. After a quick walking tour we happened upon the Dock. We weren't really ready for dinner so we had a seat at the bar and decided to have some appetizers. Wow! The scallop cerviche was amazing as were the mussels. It was a busy afternoon and the dinner crowd was beginning to filter in so aside from what we ate we were able to see a number of the entrees. They all looked delicious and as many of our fellow diners were also fellow passengers on the return ferry I was able to learn that the meals were uniformly delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdhden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    2
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We took the ferry out to a couple of islands and stopped at the Islesford Dock restaurant for lunch. The staff were clearly overwhelmed since there was a large crowd. We waited for an hour for a table which was totally fine given the lunch rush. But then after we ordered, we waited for another full hour before a single morsel of food arrived. There was nothing offered to alleviate the hunger of our young son, and not a single person stopped by to apologize or offer us even bread. We kept flagging down our server and asking where our food was. At this point, we had no choice but to wait for the food to arrive. When it did arrive, it was nothing special. One of our group got a tiny piece of lobster (although it was quite fresh), and my chowder was fine but not any better than I would have gotten on the mainland. Didn't order dessert since the last ferry was about to leave. The meal was also quite expensive. Save the aggravation and money and take your own picnic lunch to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Corny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forty Fort, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“RUDE!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Took the Sea Princess cruise to Little Cranberry Island, and my wife and I
wanted a snack from this place. We noticed that the door was open and people were inside. As we prepared to enter, a man I assume was the owner told us "We are closed. We've been closed since August 31st." If you imagine a snotty tone you are spot on.

We were okay with the place being closed-that's an owner's choice. But don't be a rude [--] to people who have no reason to know the closing date. By the way, to be fair-they were hosting an art workshop-that's why the people were in the restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
401 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Fun place but watch out for the mosquitoes!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a fun place. What could be better than pulling into the dock and walking up to this perfectly situation dockside restaurant. The food is quite good and the prices fair. Everyone was happy. There's a bar and the place is full of huge paintings by Henry Isaacs, a treat in itself. There's only one downside, which we won't dock the restaurant for (no pun intended), however will mention as a precaution – if you leave at the wrong time (7:s0ish) you will be swarmed by mosquitoes! This seems to be a problem with Little Cranberry Isle, in general, as experienced in three annual visits. Nonetheless, we recommend the restaurant. It's worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skgbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
191 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location plus terrific food”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Though we live in Bar Harbor, we had never ventured to The Dock for dinner as it involves a bit of planning if you don't own a boat to bring you there. With guests from France visiting, we wanted to show them a special Maine event and The Dock did not disappoint. We arranged private transport with John Dwelling's boat, arriving just before a glorious sunset, and took a short walk around the island. We knew beforehand that the island mosquitos were plentiful and came equipped with spray. Returning a bit before our reservation (highly recommended for dinner), we enjoyed the art gallery and cocktails at the bar. If you like ginger, try their Moscow Mule!

Dinner was awesome with a wonderful server, Gretchen, who was delightful & efficient though obviously very busy with a full dining room. Gretchen had a sense of humor, knew the food, and was patient with our slow decision-making. The green salad were fresh and mine had local blue cheese and candied walnuts. Others loved their local mussels as an appetizer. Two of us had a hearty plate of wide pasta with pork ragout...taking extras home for lunch. Two ordered the crab cakes which they loved. Overall, the meal, setting, service, and dining room were a perfect 10 (and I can be picky).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilybdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Islesford Dock Restaurant also viewed

Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
Great Cranberry Island, Cranberry Isles
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Islesford Dock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing