We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "go to" family get-a-way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sally Mountain Cabins
Lindenhurst, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our "go to" family get-a-way”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We've stayed at Sally Mountain Cabins every other year for several years now. I used to stay nearby when I was a child and I wanted to share the lovely area with my own children. Corey is a wonderful host and the cabins are wonderful. Not luxurious but well equipped and cozy. Spotlessly clean. The lake is wonderful and the kids spend a week wet and dirty and love every minute of it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryEllenB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The cabins are clean and comfortable. All have a bathroom and kitchen to make staying a week or so, very family easy. The lake front, is for fishing and boating and swimming and especially for the nightly bon fire, should a group decide to light one. It's a small town with great small home cooking restaurants you walk to. Bring your pass ports as Quebec is 14 miles away and luch there is a real treat. Moose hunting every night is a rewarding adventure. The owner is the best and your stay there will be one you will do again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank TRAVELREVIEWER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I called to see if they had any rooms and the man told us Yeah come over. He left he keys in the cabin and didnt even bother us til the next day. So trusting and nice! We stayed for two nights and wish we stayed longer. The 'dreamlands' cabin was huge and had a big deck//porch that looks directly at the mountain and the lake. You are 15 steps from the water. Stunning views and so quiet and peaceful sipping coffee in the morning or your fav bevorage at night. We went there because the MOOSE population in this area is EPIC! I was skeptical that we would really see one but we saw 10 moose in a matter of 4 hours just driving on ONE road. The town had a few places to eat and a few stores to stock up on gear , gas, and goodies for our next destination. Honestly, we should have stapped hereand stayed as it was so relaxing. Oh free kayak usage and I noticed a nice dog on the properly ..so I image pets are ok.
The kitchen had all sort of cooking things/coffee pot and the price was great. Almost dont want to post this on Tripadvisor, this is one of those secret places that you want to keep for yourself. We are planning on returning this winter for snowmobiling and ice fishing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank CapeMayBeachBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Sally mountain cabins jackman Maine .. Several lake cabins on the lake with great views. Most have a direct view overlooking the lake. We stayed at dreamland cabin which was a few meters away from the water which was great sitting on the porch watching the world go by.

Windfall rafting offers great trips eg waterfall hiking and white water rafting which was terrific. It's a full on day and lunch is included. The town of jackman is a few miles from the Canadian border and is generally speaking a quiet small town which was part of the charm. There is a 9 hole golf course open to the public and a choice of seveal restaurants which include big mamas the four seasons and lastly our favourite the big wood steak house which had a cracking menu and all reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed in a house owned by Sally Mountain Cabins for one night prior to leaving on the Moose River Bow trip in Jackman, ME. They didn't have any of their normal cabin facilities available, but let us stay in a house they operate. The house was just right for our purposes. We arrived super late and the owners nicely left the cabin open for us despite not asking for a deposit or credit card number. The cabin was clean and well equipped if not a little rustic (don't expect a fancy hotel facilities). The next morning we went and settled up at the cabin rental office (only $35 per person/per night) and went our way. Sally Mountain Cabins is the perfect place to crash before heading out on a camping trip or if you want to have a little vacation in Jackman.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners and tell them your vacation plans for working out a rental agreement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PetiteLinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alna, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My friends and I were looking for an inexpensive getaway up north to spend the weekend and enjoy the outdoors. This place is great! The cabins are large, super clean, and have everything you could think of. I way over packed for our trip because the cabins have all utensils, toilet paper, soap, blankets, pillows, cable tv, microwave, and even coffee maker! and much more! The owners are great, very laid back and friendly. They even have some very affectionate cats roaming the grounds! There is no fee to bring your dog and they have canoe and kayak rentals for free! We had a great time, 2 minute walk from town and atv trails! What a great weekend!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaplePancakes29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We wanted to go to Jackman to see moose and we did. Six, in fact. Sally Mountain Cabins was in my guide book. I was apprehensive at first. It's really more of a lodging for a boys weekend for hunting and such. However, it definitely grew on us. It was clean and super inexpensive. Corey, the owner, was helpful and kind. The best was the free kayaks & canoes for the lake in the backyard. Oh, and did I mention the fire pit by the lake?

The only bummer was that our cabin, while huge, was full of bunkbeds. The bottom bunks were full-size beds, but it's a bit difficult working with bunk beds after the age of 10.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackman
0.3 mi away
Bishops Country Inn Motel
1.4 mi away
The Mountainview Resort
The Mountainview Resort
#3 of 10 in Jackman
48 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Inn by the River
Inn by the River
#1 of 1 in The Forks
122 reviews
12.5 mi away
Bulldog Camps
Bulldog Camps
#1 of 1 in Upper Enchanted Township
8 reviews
22.9 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sally Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sally Mountain Cabins

Property: Sally Mountain Cabins
Address: 9 Elm St, Jackman, ME 04945-5339
Region: United States > Maine > Jackman
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Jackman
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Sally Mountain Cabins Hotel Jackman
Sally Mountain Cabins Maine/Jackman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing