We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice indeed.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bishops Country Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bishops Country Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Jackman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
637 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,004 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Better a late review than never!
Yes we enjoyed our brief overnight stay here. And thank goodness we arrived when we did as the heavens looked nasty and we were on our motorcycle.

We biked through the border quite late and so we asked for a nice place to stay nearby. The boys on the border steered us to Jackman.

A really warm and friendly welcome from the girl on reception (he hubby works in Border Patrol).

The outside is very attractive, very well maintained and gives a great sense of arrival.

Our room was as expected so, no surprises here!

Breakfast could for sure be better and indeed it was disappointing. Having the electricity knocked out by the storm which felled a large tree over the main line didn't help at all. The breakfast and the breakfast room, in my humble opinion, needs a look at.

The storm arrived overnight and the next morning we had to set off in heavy rain...not pleasant but that's biking!

This is a good place to stop over. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlennL558, Manager at Bishops Country Inn Motel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello our biking friend,
Thank you for staying with us on your way through. We are glad that you found the outside to be attractive and that you had a friendly reception. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast. We had put out ample food however sometimes the guest forget that the food is meant to be eaten in the breakfast room and not taken out. When our front desk girl noticed this she did refill however we think it might have been after you left. We are proud of our breakfast room it is larger than most motels with hundreds of rooms and newly renovated. We receive a lot of compliments on our room and breakfast and hope you can experience that on another visit. We are glad that you found it a good place to stop over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
37
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The motel was on the right driving into Jackman from New haven. The gentleman was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was on the ground floor, it was very clean and a good size. The beds were very comfortable. We were told how to ring him after 9pm if we had any issues, as he did not stay on site. Breakfast was included and this was one of the better breakfast we have had. There was a breakfast room in the lower level of the motel. Wifi was reasonable. I would have no hesitation in recommending this motel to other travellers.

Room Tip: Back from the street so little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Havijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlennL558, General Manager at Bishops Country Inn Motel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Our staff will be extremely happy to hear that you found us helpful and friendly. We do not have night time front desk personal so we are glad that you thought it helpful when you were explained how to reach us after hours. We are always available 24/7 for any issues that may arise. We thank you for your kind words and hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The rooms are very clean and comfortable, The location for hunters is excellent. Saw quite a few moose in the area. Bring your maps and/or GPS. There's alot of countryside to get lost in. The staff is very friendly as well, going out of their way to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmpd2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlennL558, Owner at Bishops Country Inn Motel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad that you found the accomodations clean and comfortable. Many hunters enjoy our location and local knowledge of where the moose can be seen. I will pass your kind words to the staff. We look forward to having you again as our guest in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had now idea what we were getting into in this little town, and were so pleased to find the Bishops Country Inn Motel.

The room wasn't new, but was clean, large and comfortable.
The free breakfast was good, but the best part was Denise and Glenn, the owners. They were really friendly and helpful and made us feel like old friends.

We tried to get a moose-viewing tour from a local guide, but they weren't offering any on the day we were there, but the owners told us just to CAREFULLY drive north of the motel at dusk, and we might see one. Sure enough, a huge bull moose ambled across the road in front of us. What a thrill!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanandlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlennL558, Owner at Bishops Country Inn Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear valued guest: Thank you for choosing Bishops Country Inn Motel. We are glad that we met your expectations. We are truly blessed with a great staff that all pull together as a team. We really try to get to know our guest and listen to their needs. We are glad that our recommendation ended up with you finding that Majestic Moose! Hope to see you again if you are ever in our neck of the woods. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was my second stay at Bishops and I was very pleased with my stay as I was a year ago. Glen and Heidi are great innkeepers and super friendly, the rooms are spacious and the WI-FI works when your cell phone doesn't (at least my carrier).

Jackman is on the old Canada Scenic Byway and an historical area of the country. The Fall colors were inviting. There is breakfast in the morning, with juice, egg and sausage and cereal as well as coffee, enough to get you on your way. There are other alternatives in Jackman but I am sold on Bishops.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlennL558, Owner at Bishops Country Inn Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Welcome back Mark, We are thrilled that you decided to stay with us again. It is always a pleasure to welcome back our guest! We have upgraded our wi-fi to the fastest available in the area and are glad that you noticed. Verizon and US Cellular work well but all others do not. If you need to touch base with a loved one we will gladly let you use the phone at the front desk. The last week in September and the first week of October are usually peak fall foliage and we are glad that you experienced this. Route 201 is a U.S. designated National Scenic byway and is also know as "Moose alley" Thanks for your continued business and friendship and hope you will make this an annual event. Sincerley,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Recently I had the pleasure of spending four relaxing days in beautiful Jackman, Maine. During that time I chose to stay at the Bishops Country Inn Motel which was totally the right choice. As a frequent traveler between the USA and Canada I have stayed in many different types of hotels. Including all of the major chains and other local independent properties. Every once in a while I find a real jewel of a great place to stay and the Bishops Motel definitely qualifies as that. This property is one of the very best I have ever stayed in. Every aspect of it is flawless from check in to check out and all points in between. I highly recommend this family owned motel to everyone who is travelling through this region and is in need of an exceptional place to spend the night. Also worth mentioning is the Bishops Store which is located right across the street from the hotel. This store has gas, groceries, beer, wine, liquor and a great little restaurant that serves up quite a tasty variety of menu selections from breakfast through dinner. All are available for dining in or taking out. Your choice. Their food is excellent. In my opinion a good value too. Should your travels take you up or down USA Scenic Highway 201 between Maine and the Canadian Province of French Quebec, you will never regret spending a night or two in the Bishops Country Inn Motel!! The next time I am in this area I will be back to stay with them again. Once you stay here you will look forward to coming back to stay with them again too!!

Room Tip: This is a small motel with only 20 rooms or so. I always prefer one downstairs. That makes it much m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlennL558, Owner at Bishops Country Inn Motel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear valued Guest,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad that you were able to relax and reboot! Our entire staff is committed to making sure that we go the extra mile. I will make sure to let the store owner across the street know that you also enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to seeing you again when you need a get-away! Sincerely ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Rooms are large, comfortable, and CLEAN. The motel is thirteen years old and it seemed to us that we were the first occupants. An outstanding feature was that the lighting in the room was so good we could actually read there. Rooms and baths suitable for handicapped visitors are available.

Although on a busy highway to Canada, the room , first floor and road facing, was quiet...no highway noise at all. Right across the highway is a convenience store selling gasoline and anything else you'd ever need.

The quality and value offered are evidence that the owners are on deck and care very much about what they are doing. The motel staff obviously enjoy working there and a five minute conversation with the owners will show you why. We live over one hundred miles from Jackman and can't wait to return to stay at Bishops Motel.

Room Tip: Rooms and baths suitable for handicapped visitors are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlennL558, Owner at Bishops Country Inn Motel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It was a pleasure talking with you on your recent stay with us. Yes our motel is 15 years old and you are right we constantly look at how we can upgrade our facility to keep it above average. We do have two handicap rooms completely set up for folks in a wheelchair. We encourage all travelers regardless of their limitations to stay with us. Many of our guest have mentioned our convenient location and we are glad that you found what you needed at the store "Bishops-Store" directly across the street. We are glad you got a good nights rest and that you were comfortable. We care about all our guest and appreciate your business. We look forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackman
1.5 mi away
The Mountainview Resort
The Mountainview Resort
#3 of 10 in Jackman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
10.7 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
24.8 mi away
Inn by the River
Inn by the River
#1 of 1 in The Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
13.1 mi away
Bulldog Camps
Bulldog Camps
#1 of 1 in Upper Enchanted Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sky Lodge Cabins
Sky Lodge Cabins
#2 of 4 in Jackman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishops Country Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishops Country Inn Motel

Property: Bishops Country Inn Motel
Address: 461 Main St, Jackman, ME 04945-5206
Region: United States > Maine > Jackman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jackman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering queen and King beds, deluxe continental breakfast, 100% non smoking facility, business friendly with free dependable fast Wi-Fi. Large well furnished clean rooms with comfortable bedding. Competitively priced and service orientated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bishops Country Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishops Country Inn Motel Maine/Jackman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing