We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Inn”
Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seaside Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just spent a long weekend at this downhome inn by the sea. While not completely disappointed, we found the Inn lacking in many aspects. The rooms though spotless, are dated and need some TLC. The breakfast was a fairly standard continental breakfast---cereals, hard-boiled eggs, fruit and toast with excellent fresh muffins. Although the staff was helpful and accommodating, we had a real problem with our shower---sporadic or eventually nonexistent hot water. We let them know on Saturday morning (our second morning), but saw no improve-
ment the remainder of our stay.

The front desk did offer to change our room, but only on the day we were leaving.
In spite of the off season pricing and spectacular ocean views, we cannot recommend this lodging.

Room Tip: Best rooms are 2nd floor Oceanside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasidekennebunk, Manager at Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

We are so sorry for the issue with the hot water. We did make several calls to local plumbers to come and fix the issue. We finally were able to have a plumber change a water pump Sunday morning. We try to fix every issue as fast as we can get a contractor to respond. We hope you will give us another chance and stay in one of our updated second floor rooms. Please accept our apology again for the water but be assured it wasn't ignored we fixed it as soon as a plumber responded. Let us know what we can do to convince us to try The Seaside again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

We love staying at Seaside Inn! As others have said, it is comfortable, extremely clean, and spectacular because of the ocean view and the proximity to a gorgeous beach. The breakfasts are special, with homemade, hot items in a lovely dining room. We especially like going off-season, taking advantage of special pricing. We plan to go back again and again.

Room Tip: It is worth a bit extra to stay on the second floor with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKelly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent one delightful night while in town for an event. Where do I start? It is rare to find such a friendly, family owned, charming place to stay. The Inn has an incredible history but the friendly staff make it great. We were in a 2nd floor terrace view room and found the bed comfortable and the room spotlessly clean. The extra large luggage racks were a nice touch and the wireless was strong and fast.

There is no coffee in the rooms but delicious fresh coffee is available in the lobby from 7:30am to 10:00pm. Breakfast was delicious. The hottub on the second floor deck was also much appreciated. We will definitely return

Room Tip: Pick a 2nd floor room if you are planning to use the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denise_and_Dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just got back from a too short wkend and loved it. Great location w the ocean 100 yards from your sliding glass door. Spend the extra bucks for oceanside rooms...its worth it. Half mile to downtown village. All in all the best location and overall hotel experience iv had in coastal Maine. Friendly staff and many "regular guests" it appeared (which is always a good sign!). Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rollingonfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. Hopefully in the future you can stay for a longer vacation. We hope you become one of our many regular guests.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I called this Inn directly for a last minute reservation. I was very happy to get Bud on the phone. He was able to give us a rate which was too hard to refuse.We spent two lovely nights at this Inn. My husband and I had never been to Maine.The inn was right on the beachfront as depicted. The room was very spacious and exceptionally clean. We had two queen beds, a seating area, a very large closet with ironing board and iron. There was a small refrigerator as well.There is a washer and dryer available for a small fee. I am a die-hard coffee drinker. To my delight they have a continuous supply of coffee available near the front desk from 7:30am-8pm! In the morning from 8-10am they offer a continental breakfast (included). There are fresh baked muffins (still warm)! They offer cereal,hot oatmeal and fresh fruit as well.There is a hot tub on the second floor deck (we did not get a chance to use it) and it appeared to be clean. There are deck chairs and tables on the far end of the building. (This area is also the designated smoking area). The weather was very warm so it was a nice trip to the ocean. Water was absolutely freezing which is what I expected. It was a very relaxing few days. I would definitely recommend this Inn. There is also a lot of history with this Inn. Be sure to read their historical facts.

Room Tip: Stayed on the "garden side" of the hotel, which was very nice. Be sure to ask for ocean si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank longoverdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you so much for choosing The Seaside Inn for your first visit to Maine. We are so happy that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My sister and her husband chose this hotel as a place for friends and family to stay for their wedding this past August. We booked many rooms, and stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is great, clean rooms, great grounds and amenities. But it was the staff that really made it a wonderful stay! They were beyond accommodating to us, by keeping their outdoor bar open late, and being just amazing to such a large group of us. I highly recommend staying here if you are ever in the Kennebunkport, ME area. A++++ Thank you!!!

Room Tip: They all looked good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SassDeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Seaside Inn is a delight in the off season. Ocean views and sitting in the hot tub while the snow is falling. I can't think of any other place where this can happen. Service and hospitality does not take a vacation in the off season and the staff makes you feel at home. We return every year in November and February.

Room Tip: Second floor Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Our entire staff would like to thank you for your kind words. We really do look forward to all of our guests returning each year. You are right about the view from the hot tub. During a winter storm it is the best place to sit and watch the surf. We look forward to welcoming you back in November.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.5 mi away
Franciscan Guest House
Franciscan Guest House
#8 of 8 in Kennebunk
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
309 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#6 of 14 in Kennebunk
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Address: 80 Beach Ave, Kennebunk Beach, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7632
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: £64 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn directly on quiet section of Kennebunk Beach. The only Kennebunk Inn directly on the Beach! Walk to Kennebunkport’s Famous Dock Square shops, boutiques and restaurants. Sea kayaking, lobster boat tours, whale watching, fabulous sunrises and sunsets from your room! Surfing, wake boarding and kayaking right out your door. Ocean view Hot Tub. Bicycles. The Seaside Inn is open year round and includes breakfast daily in the 1850 Boat House. Great values with our special Off-Season Packages in our Oceanfront Inn. View live beach cam on our web site. 9th Generation Family Innkeepers since 1667. Kennebunkport’s premier beachfront address. A memorable location and experience directly on the beach. Maine Environmental Leader award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Kennebunk
Seaside Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing