We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seaside Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I married here by Ken and it was wonderful! Everyone was helpful and courteous, rooms were clean and so lovely. Stunning views of the beach. Picture perfect way to wake up in the morning. Very quaint and captured the county inn feel of Maine. Breakfast was homemade and delicious. We are making a tradition of staying here every year on our anniversary. Couldn't be happier!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabkiefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much and it is great to see your for your anniversary. The comments and seeing our guests return each year means so much to the entire staff. We will see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    36
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
74
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a second floor room. (If you have an elderly person in your group, be aware that the inn has no elevator.) The beds were supportive; the best we had slept on during our two week trip! The room was spacious with two beds, a small table and two chairs, and a semi-private balcony. The AC worked well. For nights that do not require AC, a ceiling fan allows for air movement and slight cooling. As a nice touch, the balconies each have a towel rack for beach towels. For guests staying long term, the closet is large. Two bureaus provide lots of drawer space. The layout is excellent with a bar sink, extra mirror, and additional counter space just outside the efficient bath room. We really liked this arrangement as it allowed one person to use the restroom while another could attend to grooming needs. A mini-fridge is provided. The room was clean, a top priority for us. Our room had a terrace view overlooking the small garden in front of the office. We found the view charming. To get a sea view, we just walked down the hall to the beautiful 2nd floor deck.

Other amenities include tea and coffee throughout the day and a laundry room. Whether your stay is lengthy or, like us, you have been on the road a while, being able to run a load of laundry is a nice surprise in a hotel. A comforting beverage after a day of travel is also an appreciated luxury.

The gentleman who checked us in was welcoming. He gave us an excellent suggestion for dinner that evening, providing directions and a map.

The continental breakfast the next morning was nearly a full breakfast. Warm homemade muffins accompanied cereal selections as well as toast and other breads. Hard-boiled eggs provided protein for folks like me who need a full breakfast. The oatmeal was the best I have tasted outside of Ireland! A variety of teas, coffee, and juices rounded out the menu. The staff was accommodating; I saw another visitor provided with hot water for his personal coffee press.

The hot tub on the second floor deck is immaculately clean! The deck, as mentioned, looks out over the ocean. What a great way to end - or start - a day. The beach is just yards way via a private access path. A beach shower is available just before you return to the hotel. A large grassy lawn is an excellent place for pets or children to play. Several tables allow parents to chat while watching their children or as a place to gather outside. The edges of the property are adorned with small gardens that were in full bloom during our stay.

The only reasons this hotel did not earn a 5 star rating were the toilet issue (we had a backup which was attended to immediately) and the fact that the email confirmation for our stay never arrived to my in-box. I did call the office to verify our stay 2 weeks before and again a day before we arrived. The office staff was very nice about my calls. I wish I could give a 4.5 rating!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TryingoutTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
I am sorry I havent responded sooner. The summer has just gone full swing so fast this year. We are very happy you enjoyed The Seaside. We are here to help in way we can to make your stay better. We do apologize that the email confirmation did not make it to your inbox. If that ever happens please call right away and we will resend right then while you are on the phone.

We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Seaside has been our Kennebunk Beach tradition for decades. In fact we have seen the owners' family get larger and larger. We should not praise this place too much because we may not be able to get the rooms we like the next time.

A bit old style, yes, but charming and a few steps from the beach. The rooms are in the process of being redecorated but we do not mind the clean and old look of the not redecorated ones. The rooms are comfortable, the wireless is working well, there is a large luggage rack that is very convenient and we like the separate sink and fridge area. Chairs on the porch to read and have Happy Hour and be protected from the wind: what else do you need?

A basic good breakfast is served with, some morning, surper good stuffed French toasts and good home made muffins.

A reliable and pleasant inn especially off season when you feel you own the beach in this quiet spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
The whole Seaside family enjoys seeing our guests return and we look forward to seeing who is arriving each day. We always do our best to find a room for our returning guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joelton, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Let me first say that this place is located in a spectacular part of Kennebunk, just yards from the beach. The beach itself and the houses located on it and near it are just beautiful. There is ample opportunity to take a stroll on the beach or on the sidewalks located along the beach. We loved having it so accessible to us. As for the Inn, I have to say that we really just had an "average" experience there. I was not made aware when I called to make a reservation that the 1st floor rooms were not as updated as the 2nd floor rooms. When I asked the female employee on the phone what the difference was between the rooms I was told that "you have to stand up to see the ocean on the 1st floor but can see it while sitting down on the 2nd". There was never any mention of newer/updated rooms on the 2nd floor. I say this only to point out that the 1st floor rooms, while they were very clean, are definitely very dated. We also had some trouble with the toilet not wanting to flush very easily (had to flush 2 to 3 times some of the time). The beds weren't that comfortable (a big deal for me since I was 5 months pregnant at the time we visited). The first employee who greeted us upon our arrival was extremely friendly and very welcoming. The cleaning staff was also very nice. However, perhaps what bothered us the most was an encounter my husband had with the overnight front desk employee. On our first night at the Inn my husband left our room to try to find the vending machine to get us some bottled water. The information in our room just said the vending machine was "on the first floor" but didn't give any specifics. He looked everywhere inside and couldn't find it. He then went to the front desk to ask the employee there to point him in the right direction to the vending machine. The employee (an older female employee with dark hair---we didn't ever know what her name was) corrected my husband that it was a "drink machine" (not a "vending" machine), and gave him directions to the machine. Unfortunately, the directions she gave him were incorrect (apparently she said to turn "right" down the hallway but should have said "left"). My husband had to go back a second time to ask her for directions, at which time she was extremely unfriendly, acted like he was bothering her, and made him feel like she thought he was stupid for not being able to find it. (Just FYI--the drink machine is actually located outside the building---have to go out the door to get to it.) We aren't sure if the employee even realized how she came across, but it just wasn't the type of customer service that either of us is used to getting at a family-owned and run inn. The breakfast was ok--mainly standard continental breakfast fare (boiled eggs, cereal, toast, oatmeal). They did have hot muffins both mornings we were there, and these were good. If we hadn't had the unfortunate encounter with the night front desk clerk, I think we would have left with a better opinion.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are updated and have a better ocean view. If I had it to do over again I would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Seaside Inn is a quiet beautiful place to get away from it all. The view from the balcony of the 2nd floor rooms is amazing. You can walk the beach or soak in the sun from your balcony. The breakfast always includes some special homemade item. This morning it was stuffed French toast! We try to go before the summer rates kick in. If you are looking for a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, the Seaside Inn is the place for you.

Room Tip: Definitely second floor ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramjam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
I was just going through my folder and saw that I hadnt responded to your email yet. I am sorry. I would like to thank you for your visit and am glad you enjoyed the location. When you call again be sure to ask for me, Ken, and I would be happy to explain all the different options we have for you.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just spent a long weekend at this downhome inn by the sea. While not completely disappointed, we found the Inn lacking in many aspects. The rooms though spotless, are dated and need some TLC. The breakfast was a fairly standard continental breakfast---cereals, hard-boiled eggs, fruit and toast with excellent fresh muffins. Although the staff was helpful and accommodating, we had a real problem with our shower---sporadic or eventually nonexistent hot water. We let them know on Saturday morning (our second morning), but saw no improve-
ment the remainder of our stay.

The front desk did offer to change our room, but only on the day we were leaving.
In spite of the off season pricing and spectacular ocean views, we cannot recommend this lodging.

Room Tip: Best rooms are 2nd floor Oceanside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasidekennebunk, Manager at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We are so sorry for the issue with the hot water. We did make several calls to local plumbers to come and fix the issue. We finally were able to have a plumber change a water pump Sunday morning. We try to fix every issue as fast as we can get a contractor to respond. We hope you will give us another chance and stay in one of our updated second floor rooms. Please accept our apology again for the water but be assured it wasn't ignored we fixed it as soon as a plumber responded. Let us know what we can do to convince us to try The Seaside again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We love staying at Seaside Inn! As others have said, it is comfortable, extremely clean, and spectacular because of the ocean view and the proximity to a gorgeous beach. The breakfasts are special, with homemade, hot items in a lovely dining room. We especially like going off-season, taking advantage of special pricing. We plan to go back again and again.

Room Tip: It is worth a bit extra to stay on the second floor with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKelly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#5 of 8 in Kennebunk
271 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
505 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Property: Seaside Inn
Address: 80 Beach Ave, Kennebunk Beach, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7632
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn directly on quiet section of Kennebunk Beach. The only Kennebunk Inn directly on the Beach! Walk to Kennebunkport’s Famous Dock Square shops, boutiques and restaurants. Sea kayaking, lobster boat tours, whale watching, fabulous sunrises and sunsets from your room! Surfing, wake boarding and kayaking right out your door. Ocean view Hot Tub. Bicycles. The Seaside Inn is open year round and includes breakfast daily in the 1850 Boat House. Great values with our special Off-Season Packages in our Oceanfront Inn. View live beach cam on our web site. 9th Generation Family Innkeepers since 1667. Kennebunkport’s premier beachfront address. A memorable location and experience directly on the beach. Maine Environmental Leader award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Kennebunk
Seaside Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing