We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret on the ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seaside Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, NH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best kept secret on the ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

We stayed at this inn two nights for a girls weekend away. This was our second stay and we again truly enjoyed ourselves. We had a first floor oceanfront room and it was steps from the beach. We sat out on the patio in the early evening, smelled the ocean air and could hear the waves rolling up towards the inn. We liked the breakfast and the pretty breakfast room all decorated in blue and white. It reminded me of a lovely little English tearoom! We were surprised at how close we were to everything we wanted to do. We could shop, dine and stroll the beach within a few minutes away. No details lacking here. They had refrigerators in the rooms and an extra sink and dressing area outside the main bathroom. The staff was pleasant and made you feel like you were all family to them. I would go back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amherst_NHLadybug26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    35
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
38
71
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

My husband & I recently spent a weekend at the Seaside Inn. We got a great rate with the special for 2 nights that included breakfast. It was a continental breakfast that had muffins,toast,cereal,oatmeal,fruit,juice & coffee. It was a great breakfast in a nice cozy room. We had an oceanview room on the 1st floor-my only recommendation is to request the 2nd floor. We could hear the people above us walk back & forth & use the water. Aside from that ,the people at the desk & the woman in the breakfast room were very friendly. Enjoyed our stay . It's in a nice location-quiet, but not far from town-a 3 min drive.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — would have preferred the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

Five reasons why we return every year for a week's stay at the Seaside Motor Inn:
Fantastic location- just steps away from a private beach
Friendly and attentive staff
Fabulous breakfasts
Furnished simply, but very clean, air-conditioned rooms
Friendships formed with other returning guests

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montrealtravellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

Horribly run-down cottages, unmowed grass, don't be fooled by the "sea side" view. Only one side of the entire area faces the beach. Compared to other slightly more pricy hotels in Kennebunkport, this place is a dump. NOT air-conditioned but this fact is unmentioned on their website. Temperature inside rises to an unsafe level. Ended up leaving to another place, paid the extra $50 a night but what a difference that made. Windows don't remain open (they fall back down). I am filing a complaint with the department of health.

  • Disliked — Run down, no AC, very hot inside
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rjamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
The Seaside Inn is a 22 Room Inn directly on Kennebunk Beach. We used to rent 10 housekeeping Cottages adjacent to the Inn. In 2009 the owners sold those 10 cottages which have been torn down and converted to luxury homes (some are available to rent). There are no more “run down cottages”. They do not exist. Please do not judge our 22 room clean oceanfront Inn on these comments! Please review comments on the “Seaside Inn” only when making your decisions. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

We just returned from a six night stay at the Seaside Inn. The staff and owners were very pleasant and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was more than we'd expected, and as I'd read in several other reviews, the rooms were quite clean and comfortable. Can't beat the location - beach right in front of you. My husband, young adult and teen daughters all gave the inn a big thumbs up and plan to return next summer if our schedules allow.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franklintracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2008

What a wonderful surprise. This place is right on the beach and you can hear the surf at night as you are going to sleep. Very convenient to town and the bech.
Clean and simple accomodations that did not disappoint. We had a wonderful vacation and would definitely return.

  • Liked — location, internet access
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

All I have to say is that this place is BEAUTIFUL!!!! Located on Kennebunk Beach and so close to Kennebunkport; everything about it was wonderful! We were lucky enough to snag the LAST ocean view room when we called and we were SO LUCKY!!!! (And the price was such a GREAT deal for what we got!) Not only did we have a view, but was also had our own patio with chairs so we could enjoy it! I have to admit, I liked that fact that we were on the first floor and not the second because we were able to have access to the beach just by simply walking out of our back slider. There was also a private walk way to the beach and plenty of benches and lawn chairs in their HUGE yard to enjoy the warm weather that we were so fortunate to have! The room was very large and very, very neat! Their complimentary breakfast was delicious! The staff was so friendly (but it seems like everyone in Kennebunk is!) We are ABSOLUTELY going back as soon as we can!!!! This place is a definite for lookers!!!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing......everything was perfect!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKB1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.4 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Property: Seaside Inn
Address: 80 Beach Ave, Kennebunk Beach, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7632
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn directly on quiet section of Kennebunk Beach. The only Kennebunk Inn directly on the Beach! Walk to Kennebunkport’s Famous Dock Square shops, boutiques and restaurants. Sea kayaking, lobster boat tours, whale watching, fabulous sunrises and sunsets from your room! Surfing, wake boarding and kayaking right out your door. Ocean view Hot Tub. Bicycles. The Seaside Inn is open year round and includes breakfast daily in the 1850 Boat House. Great values with our special Off-Season Packages in our Oceanfront Inn. View live beach cam on our web site. 9th Generation Family Innkeepers since 1667. Kennebunkport’s premier beachfront address. A memorable location and experience directly on the beach. Maine Environmental Leader award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Kennebunk
Seaside Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing