We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the Beach and Near the Town too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seaside Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“On the Beach and Near the Town too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Every now and then you find a hidden gem, a place where you know you will have to come back. seaside Inn and Cottages is just that place. While not pretentious in any way, staying there was just a joy. The person who greeted us at the front desk was as friendly as can be and full of great recommendations. The location was great too.

Our room was everything you could want a beach motel to be and more. It was clean as a whistle, had an area to sit outside with glass sliding doors out to the patio, a refrigerator, places to sit in the room too and a comfortable bed. YES! We were so happy to get settled in. We were very happy.

The location is great. The hotel in on the beach, albeit set back by a big grassy lawn. The beach was very nice and sandy. People on the beach were friendly. It was a wonderful day for a walk on the beach. We walked to town too.

The next morning we went to breakfast. We did not know the room came with breakfast so it was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast was great with fresh baked muffins, homemade oatmeal, and lots of other things too. The selection was excellent and everything was tasty too.

We will go back and not just because we loved the place. The beach can be used by dogs before 9:00 AM and after 5:00 PM. Seaside Inn and Cottages permits dogs in the cottages. In the morning and in the evening the beach has lots of dogs playing. If you love animals it is a joy to watch. Next time we hope to bring our dogs on vacation too.

We love this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EttieneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    35
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
38
71
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

What can I say? First, we arrived at the Seaside from Pennsylvania and had to wait an hour after check in time to get the keys to our cottage. Why you ask? Well, the cleaners had been cleaning it for 5 hours. We knew why when we walked through the door. The overwhelming stench of cigarette smoke filled every room, even though all of the windows and doors were open. After complaining to the office about the smell, I was told that the previous tennants were "chain smokers" who rented the house for a month and a half. No where in the literature or the website does it say that smoking is permitted in all of the cottages! I expained to the office that I would not have rented a cottage if I had known that smoking was permitted. I was told that they have many returning renters and I received no other reasons why it was not mentioned in the literature or website. Clearly their returning customers happiness is more important than any new vacationers.
Because of the smell on the furniture, shades and carpet, we purchased Febreeze and had to put the extra sheets on the rundown furniture in order to sit on it. All of our clean clothing ended up smelling like an astray.
Next, we had to kill all of the moths and other critters which entered the house while it was being aerated. Furthermore, a tent would have been more comfortable that the beds in the cottage. Don't get me wrong, the proximity to the beach is great as well as the views, but for the price, the accomodations were unacceptable. The screen door
did not close and had mushrooms growing out of the broken areas. We were extremely disappointed with the Seaside and its management. We ended up leaving 3 days early. We will not return and nor will we recommend the Seaside to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vacationjunkie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
The Seaside Inn is a 22 Room Inn directly on Kennebunk Beach. We used to rent 10 housekeeping Cottages adjacent to the Inn. In 2008 the owners sold those 10 cottages which have been torn down and converted to luxury homes (some are available to rent). There are no more “stinky cottages”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

We like to take weekend getaways around New England. The weekend of May 15 brought us to the quaint town of Kennebunkport, ME. The town is a typical seaside community where the people are happy you are there.

We stayed at the Seaside Inn and Cottages. We always travel with our dog and the Inn looked charming and it was pet friendly. Only a two minute walk to the beach and very close to the lower village, we thought "this is the place". When we arrived we noticed the cottage was the size of a large shed. The write up said it was a 4 person capacity but believe me we were cramped with 2 adults and a large dog. We were disappointed that the "charming cottage" was run down and in desperate need of repair. The screen door had seen better days; the roof was missing quite a few of the shingles; the furniture in the living room was old and uncomfortable; the bathroom had peeling marlite on the walls and portions of the wall at the tub line had black mold. The one thing I couldn't get over was the smell. It smelled like mold and mildew. I would have excused the smell if the cottage was closed all winter but the Inn is open year round.

On check out day, we tried to tell the attendent about the cottage but only received a wave of the hand. I took this as "go away, I hear this all the time, I have your money and I don't care". When we visit the area in the future, we will not be returning to the SeaSide Inn and Cottages - EVER

Helpful?
4 Thank Lizzyp0858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
The Seaside Inn is a 22 Room Inn directly on Kennebunk Beach. We used to rent 10 housekeeping Cottages adjacent to the Inn. In 2009 the owners sold those 10 cottages which have been torn down and converted to luxury homes (some are available to rent). There are no more “small cottages”. They do not exist. Please do not judge our 22 room clean oceanfront Inn on these comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, NH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

We stayed at this inn two nights for a girls weekend away. This was our second stay and we again truly enjoyed ourselves. We had a first floor oceanfront room and it was steps from the beach. We sat out on the patio in the early evening, smelled the ocean air and could hear the waves rolling up towards the inn. We liked the breakfast and the pretty breakfast room all decorated in blue and white. It reminded me of a lovely little English tearoom! We were surprised at how close we were to everything we wanted to do. We could shop, dine and stroll the beach within a few minutes away. No details lacking here. They had refrigerators in the rooms and an extra sink and dressing area outside the main bathroom. The staff was pleasant and made you feel like you were all family to them. I would go back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amherst_NHLadybug26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

My husband & I recently spent a weekend at the Seaside Inn. We got a great rate with the special for 2 nights that included breakfast. It was a continental breakfast that had muffins,toast,cereal,oatmeal,fruit,juice & coffee. It was a great breakfast in a nice cozy room. We had an oceanview room on the 1st floor-my only recommendation is to request the 2nd floor. We could hear the people above us walk back & forth & use the water. Aside from that ,the people at the desk & the woman in the breakfast room were very friendly. Enjoyed our stay . It's in a nice location-quiet, but not far from town-a 3 min drive.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — would have preferred the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

Five reasons why we return every year for a week's stay at the Seaside Motor Inn:
Fantastic location- just steps away from a private beach
Friendly and attentive staff
Fabulous breakfasts
Furnished simply, but very clean, air-conditioned rooms
Friendships formed with other returning guests

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montrealtravellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

Horribly run-down cottages, unmowed grass, don't be fooled by the "sea side" view. Only one side of the entire area faces the beach. Compared to other slightly more pricy hotels in Kennebunkport, this place is a dump. NOT air-conditioned but this fact is unmentioned on their website. Temperature inside rises to an unsafe level. Ended up leaving to another place, paid the extra $50 a night but what a difference that made. Windows don't remain open (they fall back down). I am filing a complaint with the department of health.

  • Disliked — Run down, no AC, very hot inside
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rjamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
The Seaside Inn is a 22 Room Inn directly on Kennebunk Beach. We used to rent 10 housekeeping Cottages adjacent to the Inn. In 2009 the owners sold those 10 cottages which have been torn down and converted to luxury homes (some are available to rent). There are no more “run down cottages”. They do not exist. Please do not judge our 22 room clean oceanfront Inn on these comments! Please review comments on the “Seaside Inn” only when making your decisions. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.4 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Property: Seaside Inn
Address: 80 Beach Ave, Kennebunk Beach, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7632
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn directly on quiet section of Kennebunk Beach. The only Kennebunk Inn directly on the Beach! Walk to Kennebunkport’s Famous Dock Square shops, boutiques and restaurants. Sea kayaking, lobster boat tours, whale watching, fabulous sunrises and sunsets from your room! Surfing, wake boarding and kayaking right out your door. Ocean view Hot Tub. Bicycles. The Seaside Inn is open year round and includes breakfast daily in the 1850 Boat House. Great values with our special Off-Season Packages in our Oceanfront Inn. View live beach cam on our web site. 9th Generation Family Innkeepers since 1667. Kennebunkport’s premier beachfront address. A memorable location and experience directly on the beach. Maine Environmental Leader award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Kennebunk
Seaside Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing