We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant accomodations - very clean and dog friendly.”
Review of Hounds Tooth Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hounds Tooth Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Very warm and friendly atmosphere at the Hounds Tooth Inn. We were looking for a dog friendly B & B and we found it. The Inn is impeccably clean and spotless. We were greeted and were given a tour of the grounds. There's even a fenced in area for your dog to play with other dog guests. Lots of yummy dog treats on hand for furry friends too. I can't say enough about the place - just the perfect spot to relax while visiting the Kennebunkport area.

Room Tip: Nice suite - Lord's Lair for 3 people or more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2011

We have been staying at the Hounds Tooth Inn for several years as an overnight stop on our way to and from Acadia National Park. The best part of staying is that our dog is welcome and is treated very well but you wouldn't be able to tell dogs have been there. We are conscientious dog owners and don’t like to stay in second class accommodations because we have a dog. The Hounds Tooth Inn is first rate- not just among dog friendly hotels. Randee's breakfasts are the best!

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceramic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed for only a night but they treated us as good friends. The breakfast was fantastic, the spaces very clean (which is hard to find anywhere that pets are allowed), with a rustic charm. We will definetly return next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenHConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My husband and I just returned from our 8th stay at Hounds Tooth Inn, where we stay with our 2 golden retrievers. We first stayed there in 2008 and have been going back 2-3 times a year since, for our R&R. We are so impressed with the Hounds Tooth Inn! Some places look good in their ads, then turn out to be only fair in real life. Not this place!! It far exceeded our expectations! As soon as we arrive, we instantly are relaxed and comfortable, and immediately unwind. Our suite, King's Court, is phenomenal! It is large, clean, well-kept, and tastefully decorated. It has a lot of character. The inn is extremely dog friendly. The innkeeper, Randee, and her husband, Norm, are very personable, and go way above and beyond to make sure our stay is the best it can be, and to make us comfortable. They treat us as good friends. Randee fixes gourmet breakfasts that are far from run of the mill fare! They are delicious and nutritious! Randee is quite a cook! There is a very well stocked kitchen just for the guests' use. Each evening there is a home-baked goodie awaiting us in the kitchen, brownies or cake. During one stay, our dog got sick all over the rug in our room. We felt terrible about the mess. Randee insisted it was nothing to be concerned about, that she would clean it with no problem, and she seemed sincerely much more concerned about our dog than about the mess we had left her. She gave us medicine to soothe our dog's tummy, and insisted on preparing baked potatoes for our dog, which she knew would help settle his stomach. On another occasion, after coming home to Massachusetts, we realized we had left out dog lead at the Kennebunk Dog Park. Norm went and got it for us. He was coming to the town next to ours on business, and made arrangements for us to retrieve it while he was in the area. We considered having a ceremony by the ocean in Kennebunk to renew our wedding vows. Randee did research for us, finding someone who could do it, and even finding sample readings for us. Those are just a few examples of the way Randee and Norm go way above the call of duty. Randee and Norm seem to remember everything we ever say about our family, work, health, or travels, and each time we go to the inn, they ask all about how everything is going with us. They are very comfortable conversationalists. We have taken to going to the inn to celebrate Valentine's Day and our anniversary in June, to celebrate our special times together. We love the area, the ocean, but no matter where this inn was, it would be worth seeking out as a destination in and of itself.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marysthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We stayed at the Hounds Tooth last September and the owners were so wonderful. They greated us late at night and gave us a tour right away. They are VERY doggie friendly and provide for your pet as if they were their own. The family style dining for breakfast was fun and the food exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We love the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area, frequenting it regularly, and make a point of staying at the Hounds Tooth Inn B & B when we're in the area... in fact, the Hounds Tooth, and the warm hospitality of its proprietors, Randee and Norm Perkins, are one of the reasons we have such a fondness for the area.

The 4-room inn has an intimate, cozy and charming feel and Randee and Norm always make us feel right at home. The rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable, the breakfasts are sumptuous, portions being plentiful, and Randee has a knack for sparking good table conversation amongst the diverse collection of guests.

We find the Hounds Tooth to be not only tolerant of, but very welcoming towards our dog, Dewey, who's treated like an honored guest and his relaxed manner when we're there tells us he also enjoys time spent with the Perkins's.

Additionally, for those unfamiliar with the area, Randee and Norm are able to make helpful suggestions about where to go, eat, etc... depending on what guests' particular interests are.

Finally, the Hounds Tooth is just minutes from the beaches, restaurants, etc... We would heartily recommend it to interested parties wanting to visit Kennebunk/Kennebunkport.

Darlene and Al

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAD2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Every visit to the Hounds Tooth Inn is wonderful. We have always been very comfortable in our room, and appreciate the cleanliness. Randee and Norm are the best hosts we have encountered at any B&B. At breakfast, not only is the food very good, but the friendly atmosphere is a pleasure. The inn has lovely furnishings and is very well maintained. Our dogs love visiting and the garden area around the dog corral is perfect for relaxing while the dogs play.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibby59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kennebunk hotels
1.4 mi away
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.8 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages
2.8 mi away
Franciscan Guest House
Franciscan Guest House
#8 of 8 in Kennebunk
157 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lodge at Kennebunk
The Lodge at Kennebunk
#6 of 8 in Kennebunk
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hounds Tooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hounds Tooth Inn

Address: 82 Summer St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6616
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hounds Tooth Inn is a non-smoking, pet friendly, four guest room Bed and Breakfast located in the picturesque town of Kennebunk, Maine. Situated across from a 12 acre Land Trust, near the beach, the port and downtown Kennebunk, this converted farmhouse and barn on an acre of beautiful land offers comfortable and homey lodging year-round. For a wonderfully relaxing experience that has the feel of the simpler, sweeter past, plan to stay at the Hounds Tooth Inn where your hosts thoroughly enjoy making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hounds Tooth Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing