We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven”
Review of Hounds Tooth Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hounds Tooth Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Randee and Norm are the best hosts you could ask for. The B&B is homey,warm and welcoming. I love how Randee takes special interest in your dogs and treats them as if they were her own. The food is fantastic and they are more than happy to make specials requests and orders happen. I highly recommend this B&B...it is my second time out there in a year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

The trip to the Hound's Tooth was our first vacation with our dog Porter. We were initially nervous so only scheduled one night. There was no need to be nervous! From the time we got there, it was clear that Porter was most welcome. She was comfortable and happy which meant the people could have fun! The Inn is beautiful and is located near lots of places to explore. Our room was well appointed and large enough for us to feel at home. Randee and Norm are wonderful innkeepers and the breakfasts were delicious. Many of the local attractions are dog friendly and there is great shopping for the canines at Scalawags in Kennebunkport and Planet Dog in Portland.

Our trip was so great that we extended it by an extra night!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LabCompanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Our experience exceeded our expectations. The owners have thought of every detail for both the people and the dogs and maintain a friendly atmosphere that keeps a lovely atmosphere of graciousness and ease. Our room and the entire inn is immaculate. Our bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was exceptionally delicious. Although I am not generally a fan of "family style" breakfasts, the owners know how to create an atmosphere that is just an easy balance of congeniality and respectful of people's time. They know all the ins and outs of pet friendly places in the area. The location is away from clogged Kennebunkport but close enough to everything. We were very skeptical about traveling with our dog (this was a first) and were concerned about cleanliness and whether it would just be a zoo. It was a delightful, easy, charming, friendly experience and, again, white glove test clean. Our experience far exceeded our expectations and we had a wonderful time.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank 4Hummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Very warm and friendly atmosphere at the Hounds Tooth Inn. We were looking for a dog friendly B & B and we found it. The Inn is impeccably clean and spotless. We were greeted and were given a tour of the grounds. There's even a fenced in area for your dog to play with other dog guests. Lots of yummy dog treats on hand for furry friends too. I can't say enough about the place - just the perfect spot to relax while visiting the Kennebunkport area.

Room Tip: Nice suite - Lord's Lair for 3 people or more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We have been staying at the Hounds Tooth Inn for several years as an overnight stop on our way to and from Acadia National Park. The best part of staying is that our dog is welcome and is treated very well but you wouldn't be able to tell dogs have been there. We are conscientious dog owners and don’t like to stay in second class accommodations because we have a dog. The Hounds Tooth Inn is first rate- not just among dog friendly hotels. Randee's breakfasts are the best!

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceramic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed for only a night but they treated us as good friends. The breakfast was fantastic, the spaces very clean (which is hard to find anywhere that pets are allowed), with a rustic charm. We will definetly return next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenHConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My husband and I just returned from our 8th stay at Hounds Tooth Inn, where we stay with our 2 golden retrievers. We first stayed there in 2008 and have been going back 2-3 times a year since, for our R&R. We are so impressed with the Hounds Tooth Inn! Some places look good in their ads, then turn out to be only fair in real life. Not this place!! It far exceeded our expectations! As soon as we arrive, we instantly are relaxed and comfortable, and immediately unwind. Our suite, King's Court, is phenomenal! It is large, clean, well-kept, and tastefully decorated. It has a lot of character. The inn is extremely dog friendly. The innkeeper, Randee, and her husband, Norm, are very personable, and go way above and beyond to make sure our stay is the best it can be, and to make us comfortable. They treat us as good friends. Randee fixes gourmet breakfasts that are far from run of the mill fare! They are delicious and nutritious! Randee is quite a cook! There is a very well stocked kitchen just for the guests' use. Each evening there is a home-baked goodie awaiting us in the kitchen, brownies or cake. During one stay, our dog got sick all over the rug in our room. We felt terrible about the mess. Randee insisted it was nothing to be concerned about, that she would clean it with no problem, and she seemed sincerely much more concerned about our dog than about the mess we had left her. She gave us medicine to soothe our dog's tummy, and insisted on preparing baked potatoes for our dog, which she knew would help settle his stomach. On another occasion, after coming home to Massachusetts, we realized we had left out dog lead at the Kennebunk Dog Park. Norm went and got it for us. He was coming to the town next to ours on business, and made arrangements for us to retrieve it while he was in the area. We considered having a ceremony by the ocean in Kennebunk to renew our wedding vows. Randee did research for us, finding someone who could do it, and even finding sample readings for us. Those are just a few examples of the way Randee and Norm go way above the call of duty. Randee and Norm seem to remember everything we ever say about our family, work, health, or travels, and each time we go to the inn, they ask all about how everything is going with us. They are very comfortable conversationalists. We have taken to going to the inn to celebrate Valentine's Day and our anniversary in June, to celebrate our special times together. We love the area, the ocean, but no matter where this inn was, it would be worth seeking out as a destination in and of itself.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marysthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kennebunk hotels
1.4 mi away
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Franciscan Guest House
Franciscan Guest House
#8 of 8 in Kennebunk
156 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
2.9 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#6 of 14 in Kennebunk
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hounds Tooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hounds Tooth Inn

Address: 82 Summer St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6616
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hounds Tooth Inn is a non-smoking, pet friendly, four guest room Bed and Breakfast located in the picturesque town of Kennebunk, Maine. Situated across from a 12 acre Land Trust, near the beach, the port and downtown Kennebunk, this converted farmhouse and barn on an acre of beautiful land offers comfortable and homey lodging year-round. For a wonderfully relaxing experience that has the feel of the simpler, sweeter past, plan to stay at the Hounds Tooth Inn where your hosts thoroughly enjoy making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hounds Tooth Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing