We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place !”
Review of Hounds Tooth Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hounds Tooth Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed here for a weekend to celebrate a 50th birthday. Our 2 saluki dogs always travel with us. The dogs were more than welcome which made our stay. Thanks so much !
Chris, Dave, Millie and Valur

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

We wanted to take a road trip up to maine with our hound mix dog Maddie and we found this place from trip advisor. Randee and Norman are wonderful hosts who are friendly and very attentive. They not only love people, they also love dogs, which makes them good people. They provide a comfortable place to stay and lots of treats and pepto for vomiting and diareha dogs who drink too salt water from the beach. Breakfast is very good. Randee is quite creative in the kitchen. We are hoping to make another trip up next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJpancakeeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Randee was the most wonderful innkeeper - her breakfasts were just unbelievable. She left loads of goodies to munch on during the day - couldn't have been better!
The property is beautifully decorated, comfortable and in keeping with the surroundings.
Don't miss this one!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My 2 westies and I stayed at this most wonderful inn recently, and we loved it!!! The innkeepers, Randi & Norman could not have been more accommodating to us. The inn is spotless, and the breakfast was delicious!! Perfect place to bring the pups!! Can't wait to return to the Hounds Tooth Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11LeslieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Me and my boyfriend (Germans) went on an East Coast trip in August and came to Hounds Tooth Inn by chance, after staying at another place in Kennebunkport first.

I must say, that I never felt more welcome in any place than I did with Norm and Randee! The place is so beautiful, extremely neat and clean and so well done - there's love in every detail and each room. The rooms themselves are not only really beautiful - they are huge. We felt as if we had our own apartment - and we didn't miss anything.

I guess, one of the nicest things about staying at the Hounds Tooth Inn is the gorgeous breakfast Randee prepares - and all the guests sit together at one table, enjoying the food (a lot of variety! - sweet and spicy, whatever you like, always warm, great coffee, fruit salad ... yummy!) and talk to each other. I never felt that home in a place before - although we just stayed there for four nights (two longer than we had planned originally).

We don't have a dog ourselves, but I can tell, that there is no sign nowhere in the house, from which you could guess that this in fact is a pet-friendly guest house. It is so clean and neat - actually cleaner than all the other Guest Houses and B&Bs where they allow no pets at all!

Last but not least, Randee & Norm are the perfect hosts, they provide you with anything you could possibly ask for and they now the places around and all the restaurants so well, you can trust them in every single recommendation.

So, all I can say is: THANK YOU SO MUCH - you & your place (includig the other great guests and their dogs) really were the best part of our whole trip!

Room Tip: Contact Randee & Norm for details - you also find the Hounds Tooth Inn on facebook (and it is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraLeithold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Having a 6month old puppy is wonderfully life-changing. Those of you reading this will know what I mean! For one thing, planning a special weekend getaway isn't as simple as "let's pack up and go!" But Hounds Tooth Inn—and its wonderful innkeepers Randi and Norman—make it possible.

Their B&B is a converted farmhouse, warm and welcoming. When we got there, she welcomed us all, paying special attention to Bacon, our travel-weary pup! Randi showed us all the dog-friendly areas of the inn (which is pretty much everywhere except the kitchen). We were even more thrilled to find that many places in Kennebunk and Kennebunkport were dog-friendly. She gave us the scoop on where to go, places to eat, dog-friendly beaches, etc.


Randi's breakfasts were simple, delicious, and plentiful. An excellent way to start the day! We explored to our hearts' content, no stress about how Bacon would be accepted. He felt it too, and was so happy. Most of the people staying at the inn while were there were repeat visitors, with high praises for Randi and Norm, and echoing that their dogs all loved it there as well.

(Oh, and for the record, they keep the inn SPOTLESS. No evidence (sight or smell) of any canine accidents; and all the guests were responsible for keeping their dogs well-behaved and the common areas very clean.)

The B&B is well-situated, 10-15 minutes to town; and minutes to highway access to get to Portland, Freeport, and other points north for those who want to explore farther afield.

Our favorite spot was Gooch Beach - for beautiful sunrise walks, and morning "socials" with other dogs getting their exercise. This time of the year (post-Labor Day) is perfect, too, as the summer crowds have all but gone and you get a calmer, easier experience throughout.

Dog-friendly restaurants we tried were: The Chowder House on Cape Porpoise and 50 Local (though we didn't bring Bacon for that dinner, I believe they are ok with dogs in the outdoor seating area in front).

Near the B&B is a dog park and a nature preserve. We heard good things about both, but did not get to visit there...next time for sure! And there WILL be a next time! Whether you are traveling with a canine companion or not, this is just a wonderful place to call home when in Maine. So happy we found the Hounds Tooth Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AEZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We chose the Hounds Tooth Inn as the venue for a weekend celebration of a family birthday and it proved to be a great choice. We were welcomed warmly...all of us, including our dog...and our special dietary requirements (gluten-free, dairy-free) were very well met. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean. The Inn's gardens were beautiful and so pleasant to sit in and relax. Easy drive to the beach and to Kennebunk/Kennebunkport waterfront. And our hosts had thought of everything to make our stay a success, including maps, brochures for local attractions, restaurant menus, etc. Great place...highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
304 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.8 mi away
The Lodge at Kennebunk
The Lodge at Kennebunk
#6 of 8 in Kennebunk
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hounds Tooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hounds Tooth Inn

Address: 82 Summer St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6616
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hounds Tooth Inn is a non-smoking, pet friendly, four guest room Bed and Breakfast located in the picturesque town of Kennebunk, Maine. Situated across from a 12 acre Land Trust, near the beach, the port and downtown Kennebunk, this converted farmhouse and barn on an acre of beautiful land offers comfortable and homey lodging year-round. For a wonderfully relaxing experience that has the feel of the simpler, sweeter past, plan to stay at the Hounds Tooth Inn where your hosts thoroughly enjoy making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hounds Tooth Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing