We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful, welcoming place to stay. We love it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hounds Tooth Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hounds Tooth Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A wonderful, welcoming place to stay. We love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We recently stayed at The Hounds Tooth Inn in the King's Court room and liked it so much that we came back a month later. From the moment we arrived, Randee and Norm made us feel so welcome. On our first visit we brought our Bichon. Randee and Norm met us at our car with big smiles and brought us around to the fenced-in yard so our dog could check it out. There are also lovely gardens around the property. Dogs are allowed in any part of the house except the kitchen. As others have mentioned, you would never know any animals have ever stayed here. The Hounds Tooth Inn is one of the cleanest places we've ever stayed. Randee uses products that don't leave a scent, as well. The atmosphere was very relaxed and low-key. Randee makes sure to know what her guests like and dislike and tailors the yummy breakfasts to suit each person staying with them. Our room was very comfortable and homey, and our college-age son, who was with us on our second trip, was very comfortable on the extra bed. Even he commented on how relaxing and pleasant the atmosphere is at Hounds Tooth. Randee also tailored her local suggestions based on what our family was looking for, whether it was somewhere to visit or a place to eat. And she suggested an excellent local boarding facility for our dog. We would definitely stay here again and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: We love the roominess of the King's Court and appreciate the first floor location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeAndOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
78
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matawan, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend on our way to Bar Harbor and we loved it. Randee and Norm are wonderful and made us feel very welcome. Randee's breakfasts were phenomenal. We didn't bring our dog, but we can't wait to visit again with him.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peekskill, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Beautiful (and clean!) accommodations, wonderful breakfast fare and close to many areas of interest in Southern Maine. Our lab, Doughie, just adored the place and so did we. Thanks to Randee and Norm for providing a delightful venue for folks traveling with their canine companions. Looking forward to visiting the Hounds Tooth Inn again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

The trip from Manhattan to Kennebunk was well worth it. Steve, Sunny puppy and I had the chance to experience a welcoming vacation without having to worry about anything so we could simply relax and enjoy our stay. We were greeted outside and shown through the main areas of the B&B right away. There were treats for the dog and extra bowls if needed too. There was coffee and tea of many varieties available. The room was HUGE with a fireplace and separate seating area. Clean and decorated in a homey way. The backyard has a fenced off area for the dogs, thought I often took the sidewalk across the street up Summer Street to enjoy seeing the beautiful homes. The car ride to Kennebunkport and the beach was about 10 minutes which allowed for plenty more time to spend walking along the shops and the coast. The beach was great for Sunny to run free and chase her first seagull. I was provided with ample suggestions of places to go while waiting for my delicious and nutritious morning breakfasts. I will let is be a surprise, but it was not your average muffin or cereal choice. All in all, a terrific place to stay. I'm sure we will be back again. Thanks for the kind hospitality that is so often lost in the hotel setting. Wanda~

Room Tip: I'm sure any room would be great. Though the larger room on the main floor was ours and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooperstown, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Randi and Norm are great people with the best B&B in New England, anywhere for that matter. I highly recommend The Hounds Tooth Inn. I look forward to seeing you again.

Charlie, Karen, Noah and Jake

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We took a spur of the moment trip up to kennebunk in may of 2011 with our 6 month puppy Cabot. We were extremely lucky to have found the houndstooth inn with a vacant room for the weekend. With it's close proximity to seasonal dog friendly beaches, dog parks, and the village, it made for a relaxing weekend and a great atmosphere.

The owners are true dog lovers and we didn't felt more at home, us or Cabot. The owners supplied us with a lot of information about local eateries, shops, and parks; all of which were pet friendly. The rates were well priced and included wonderful breakfasts that kept us going well into the afternoon. We are so glad we stayed at the houndstooth inn and hope we are lucky enough to get a room again this year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

It is hard to put a review into words to really capture the amazing experience the Hounds tooth Inn has to offer. My husband and I traveled from Long Island to stay at Randee and Norm's Beautiful bed and breakfast during President's week. We arrived Thursday afternoon and left Saturday morning. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. I was thrilled to have found a b&b that allowed dogs, for we have a year old Aussie, who enjoyed herself as much as we did! Randee greeted us upon our arrival and gave us the tour of the grounds, the farmhouse, and gave us recommendations on where to eat and travel during our stay. The Inn is conveniently centrally located between great dog beaches and dog friendly ports so we were able to get some great grub and local beer as well as walk Blue in town. Since we were there during Maine's off season we were lucky to have a quieter visit. Randee is a fantastic host and cook! She had granola and yogurt ready int the fridge with cucumber cottage cheese with lemon pepper seasoned cucumber to use as crackers. The coffee is unbelievable and there is a wide array of tea for tea drinkers. Our first breakfast was a scrumptious vegetable eggs and cheese skillet sprinkled with turkey ham. Our last breakfast was a delicious French toast souffle with cranberries, oranges, apples and drizzled with blueberry syrup. On the side, Randee prepared spicy sausage patties. Her breakfasts surpassed many of the acclaimed breakfast establishments we like to eat at on the Island. The king's Court, where we happily resided, was immaculate, beautifully decorated and well lit, with an electric stove, a small sink and fridge, private and large full bathroom and luxurious king sized bed. Randee and Norm are so personable and friendly and we truly enjoyed our morning chats at breakfast! They are well known in the surrounding towns of Kennebunkport and Cape porpoise as many locals we ran into were singing their praises. We were sad to leave but will be more than happy to return.!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frautumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
2.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#2 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hounds Tooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hounds Tooth Inn

Property: Hounds Tooth Inn
Address: 82 Summer St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6616
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hounds Tooth Inn is a non-smoking, pet friendly, four guest room Bed and Breakfast located in the picturesque town of Kennebunk, Maine. Situated across from a 12 acre Land Trust, near the beach, the port and downtown Kennebunk, this converted farmhouse and barn on an acre of beautiful land offers comfortable and homey lodging year-round. For a wonderfully relaxing experience that has the feel of the simpler, sweeter past, plan to stay at the Hounds Tooth Inn where your hosts thoroughly enjoy making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hounds Tooth Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing