We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“With or without dogs you dont want to miss this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hounds Tooth Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hounds Tooth Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Thetford, Vermont, United States
1 review
“With or without dogs you dont want to miss this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Our 2 (not perfect) dogs were made as welcome as we were - and you dont sacrifice cleanliness, decor or comfort in an Inn that accepts pets. Randee is the ideal hostess: a wonderful (breakfast) cook who provides recommendations from food to second hand shops to beaches, but also gives you your independence and 24/7 access to her lovely kitchen stocked with tea, cocoa, and snacks. The two times we've stayed, there was even cake left in the fridge for us! The Inn is a lovely restored farm house in a residential area of spectacular homes, and easy distance to 4 fabulous beaches for a variety of tastes. We are planning our next stay already!

Room Tip: All the (4) rooms are lovely but vary in size and amenities, so read the details carefully. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
78
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

If you are traveling in Maine and have a pet, you are truly missing out if you do not stay here. Randy & Norm are two of the nicest people you can ever meet and have an absolutely wonderful bed & breakfast. It's spotless clean and Randy will cook you the most delicious & healthy breakfasts. The Houndstooth Inn is the best bed & breakfast we ever stayed at and will be going back again this year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkichikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

We traveled back to Randee and Norm's beautiful Inn to celebrate our "babymoon". We were due in December and lucky for us, were able to travel in October when the leaves were changing at their peak. It was a beautiful drive up and even more beautiful in Maine!

As we remembered from our stay in February, the Inn was amazing, both for humans and dogs, and the hospitality was warm and inviting.

Randee informed us of many events and Fall festivals in the area. We went to the Kennebunk fall harvest festival- definitely one of the best I've ever been to! Try the Apple Flappen- so delicious!

The breakfasts that Randee prepared were delicious- even better than we remembered!

We hope to travel back up in the future with our newest addition, as Randee and Norm's wonderful Inn has become a trip we so look forward to!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frautumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

What a wonderful place to discover! Randee and Norm will welcome you as if you were family. Truly decicated and all the little details are taken care of. The food, the location, the rooms and of course the hosts are wonderful. Our dog Saucy also enjoyed her stay she got treats and lots of love from Randee.
We will return next year for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Whether you travel with a pet or not, don't miss this B&B. The owners, Randee and Norm are perfect hosts. We had a wonderful room that we shared with our Golden Retriever. We enjoyed a gourmet breakfast every morning before leaving for a day of sightseeing. We were provided with restaurant menus, area map and Randee's insights on the best things to see and do. Our dog enjoyed the enclosed play area. The Hounds Tooth Inn is located in a very pet friendly town as well as being close to other popular towns.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was our first vacation with our dog, Reese, in a hotel/B&B. And we were unsure how it was going be traveling with her. Randee put us at ease immediately. She said Kennebunkport was a pet friendly town. She gave us a map of Kennebunkport and surrounding areas and showed us all the best places to walk with her and all pet friendly restaurants. We even were able to take her into some shops. She was given so many treats and got stopped a lot on the streets. I felt like we were traveling with the Queen!
We ate the best seafood dinner on the pier at Cape Porpoise while the sun was setting. Reese got a warm welcome from the young waitress and a bowl of water. We even relaxed the next night at a wine bar outside under the stars. Reese was content with the fire roaring nearby and listening to reggae music.
I would definitely recommend Randee and Norm's inn and warm hospitality to anyone. (Even if you don't stay there with your pet...but if you do, she spoils not just the pets but their owners too. I liked getting the scoop on things from a local. I am glad we didn't stay at a big hotel and lose out on personable service.)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New Hampshire, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

The reason we selected the "Hounds Tooth Inn" was because our West Highland White Terrier, Maggie, could stay in the room with us. The room was exceptionally clean. The location is not far from dog friendly eating places and beaches. The king size bed was super comfortable. Breakfasts are individually taylored to dietary needs, and there is always too much to choose from. Great place - great stay.

Jeanie, Karl & Maggie Maser

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
2.6 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
3.5 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.4 mi away
Port Inn Kennebunk
Port Inn Kennebunk
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.9 mi away
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
#10 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hounds Tooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hounds Tooth Inn

Property: Hounds Tooth Inn
Address: 82 Summer St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6616
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hounds Tooth Inn is a non-smoking, pet friendly, four guest room Bed and Breakfast located in the picturesque town of Kennebunk, Maine. Situated across from a 12 acre Land Trust, near the beach, the port and downtown Kennebunk, this converted farmhouse and barn on an acre of beautiful land offers comfortable and homey lodging year-round. For a wonderfully relaxing experience that has the feel of the simpler, sweeter past, plan to stay at the Hounds Tooth Inn where your hosts thoroughly enjoy making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hounds Tooth Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing