We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return to Doggie Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hounds Tooth Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hounds Tooth Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Return to Doggie Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We returned to the Hounds Tooth Inn this summer three years after our initial visit, and we were treated like family. Randee and Norm are the best hosts ever, and they truly love dogs. Our dog Monday was in heaven there, and we were very happy to be back. The Kennebunkport beach is ideal for dogs with their off-leash hours in the morning and evening, and Randee makes the best breakfasts this side of paradise. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haddow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
78
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a great time we had at the Inn with our pooch. Every things is well thought out and the Innkeeper is a wealth of info and resourses. The room was big and comfortable. So close to Kennebunkport too. This Inn is especially good if your dog is social and wants to meet need friends. The breakfast was very good and the hostess was very accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evadninorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Hounds Tooth Inn, Randee is fabulous and makes you feel right at home. We were greeted with big smiles and wagging tails. The rooms were charming and very clean and the breakfast she makes is absolutely tremendous. She also gave us a great variety of pet friendly restaurants to go to and a wonderful dog sitter for the day without the pup! I would recommend her inn for anyone who is traveling through Kennebunk with or without pets!

Thank you Randee for such a special trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This place is very special due to an exceptional personal service. The breakfast is outstanding. Everything is freshly prepared and tasts really good. We got numerous tips of what to visit and where to go for dinner or lunch. The rooms are nicely decorated, spacy and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belonyo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This Inn is very beautiful and nicer than it appears on the website pictures. The inn keeper was very friendly, kind and helpful. the place is very clean and just a great place to stay.The breakfast is outstanding. Rooms are very comfortable and beautiful.

Room Tip: They are all fine and very tastefully decorated. Very comfortable beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We've been to the Hounds Tooth Inn several times with our Border Collie, Scout, and have had amazing times. Randee and Norm are the perfect hosts for both people and dogs. :-)
John is vegetarian and Randee goes out of her way to make wonderful veggie breakfasts for him.
I echo all the other reviews as to how caring and welcoming they are to four-legged friends!
We now have two Border Collies and decided to travel without them this summer - but didn't even think about NOT coming here because we were without dogs.
Wonderful, warm, friendly and relaxing - already looking forward to the next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BronxGiovanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at Hound's Tooth Inn after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, and it was just as described and more! Randee and Norm were so welcoming and took such great care of us and our dog. Randee knew all the good places for us to visit - the pet friendly restaurants, stores, hiking spots, beaches... we followed her recommendations and had such a great time. And the breakfast was amazing - healthy food never tasted better! We just got home and are already planning for future vacations at their inn. I would give it 6 stars if I could!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
2.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#2 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hounds Tooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hounds Tooth Inn

Property: Hounds Tooth Inn
Address: 82 Summer St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6616
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hounds Tooth Inn is a non-smoking, pet friendly, four guest room Bed and Breakfast located in the picturesque town of Kennebunk, Maine. Situated across from a 12 acre Land Trust, near the beach, the port and downtown Kennebunk, this converted farmhouse and barn on an acre of beautiful land offers comfortable and homey lodging year-round. For a wonderfully relaxing experience that has the feel of the simpler, sweeter past, plan to stay at the Hounds Tooth Inn where your hosts thoroughly enjoy making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hounds Tooth Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing