We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warmest most welcoming hosts ever!!!”
Review of Hounds Tooth Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hounds Tooth Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“warmest most welcoming hosts ever!!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We stayed at the Hounds Tooth last September and the owners were so wonderful. They greated us late at night and gave us a tour right away. They are VERY doggie friendly and provide for your pet as if they were their own. The family style dining for breakfast was fun and the food exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
78
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We love the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area, frequenting it regularly, and make a point of staying at the Hounds Tooth Inn B & B when we're in the area... in fact, the Hounds Tooth, and the warm hospitality of its proprietors, Randee and Norm Perkins, are one of the reasons we have such a fondness for the area.

The 4-room inn has an intimate, cozy and charming feel and Randee and Norm always make us feel right at home. The rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable, the breakfasts are sumptuous, portions being plentiful, and Randee has a knack for sparking good table conversation amongst the diverse collection of guests.

We find the Hounds Tooth to be not only tolerant of, but very welcoming towards our dog, Dewey, who's treated like an honored guest and his relaxed manner when we're there tells us he also enjoys time spent with the Perkins's.

Additionally, for those unfamiliar with the area, Randee and Norm are able to make helpful suggestions about where to go, eat, etc... depending on what guests' particular interests are.

Finally, the Hounds Tooth is just minutes from the beaches, restaurants, etc... We would heartily recommend it to interested parties wanting to visit Kennebunk/Kennebunkport.

Darlene and Al

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAD2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, NH
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Every visit to the Hounds Tooth Inn is wonderful. We have always been very comfortable in our room, and appreciate the cleanliness. Randee and Norm are the best hosts we have encountered at any B&B. At breakfast, not only is the food very good, but the friendly atmosphere is a pleasure. The inn has lovely furnishings and is very well maintained. Our dogs love visiting and the garden area around the dog corral is perfect for relaxing while the dogs play.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibby59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed at the Hounds Tooth Inn based on the reviews from Trip Advisor and were not disappointed.
Randee and Norm made our stay more than comfortable as well as letting us know where we could go with our dog (beaches, restaurants, and a bar). They also suggested a great place that dog sat so we could have a few hours to ourselves.
We were all rested and relaxed by the time we headed home. Our dog slept for two days after our return. A tired dog is a happy dog :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killingly CT
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We recently stayed at The Hounds Tooth Inn in Kennebunk, Maine with our "girls" during the Christmas Prelude Celebration. For people who like to vacation with their dogs, this is the place! Not only was host Randee most welcoming and gracious, she knows the area and where to send you. The inn in immaculate, the breakfasts outstanding, rooms lovely, and Kennebunkport has to be the most welcoming town for pooches- with leash free beaches, welcoming shop owners and restaurants, and poop bags and disposals everywhere! We will definately be back.
Lee and Jim from killingly CT, traveling with Joy and Abbey

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2pwcorgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed in the Kings Court room with our 2 dogs a scottie and westie. (Simon and Matilda). The room was spacious and comfrotable and VERY clean. The Inn Keepers were very friendly and knowledgable about all the places to visit that are dog friendly. They made us feel at home and you can tell they truly love dogs and everything about them.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrierizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boones Mill, Virginia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

This was such a find and was so glad that we took the advice of fellow trip advisors. My husband and I stayed here the first part of September and we loved it. We were attracted to this B & B because they were dog friendly and that is was rated #1 as far as B & B's in the area. Although we did not travel with dogs we were looking forward to meeting the dogs that were lodging with us, (in the other rooms that is:))

Norm and Randee were great, accommodated us as far as being vegetarians. They didn't just leave off the meat but, provided meatless patties to go along with the breakfast. We stayed in the room Queens Chamber's. Very nice and very clean. Not a smell of dog anywhere!

They also know the area well and suggested several sites to see and places to eat. They recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner in which we took them up on and was so glad we did.
The only complaint we would have is that the air conditioner in the room was pointing right at your face when you were sleeping. Otherwise, no complaints at all.

All around a great place to stay and very accommodating. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drpoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
2.6 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
3.5 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.4 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.9 mi away
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
#10 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hounds Tooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hounds Tooth Inn

Property: Hounds Tooth Inn
Address: 82 Summer St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6616
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hounds Tooth Inn is a non-smoking, pet friendly, four guest room Bed and Breakfast located in the picturesque town of Kennebunk, Maine. Situated across from a 12 acre Land Trust, near the beach, the port and downtown Kennebunk, this converted farmhouse and barn on an acre of beautiful land offers comfortable and homey lodging year-round. For a wonderfully relaxing experience that has the feel of the simpler, sweeter past, plan to stay at the Hounds Tooth Inn where your hosts thoroughly enjoy making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hounds Tooth Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing